Happy Holidays

Now that we are getting very close to the end of 2023, how has the year been for you? Have you developed yourself creatively? Have you been able to keep yourself afloat in the economic downturn we have been through? How do you see the new year coming up?

I think most of us would agree that 2023 has been an interesting year, to say the least. It’s the first full year without a pandemic suffocating the whole world, if the aftermath is still noticeable. Unfortunately, we have seen an increase of war and violence this year. And unrest in many places in the world. But there has also been many, albeit smaller, highlights throughout the year.

For me 2023 has had its ups and downs. My photography business has been hard hit by the economic crisis. I have had to fight for every assignment. In hindsight, now that we are getting towards the end of the year, I can notice that in the end I was able to keep my business at the same level as last year. But, as I said, it’s been a struggle all the way up until now. In fact I made 30 percent of my business income the last two months. One part of the business that has been particularly challenging is the workshops and teaching. In times when the economy is tight, we all must make priorities, and whatever can be considered luxury will be the first to be discarded. Although I have had to cancel a few workshops this year, another year provides new opportunities and I remain optimistic.

Photographically, 2023 has been a good year for me. I feel I have been able to develop myself as a photographer. Throughout the year, I have completed some really good photo projects. One project was street portraits in Naples, a project I worked together with two other photographers, all from different countries. I also went to Bucharest for the first time and did a photo project there, with the whole intention of challenging myself and trying out new ways of photographing.

How has 2023 been for you? And how do you anticipate 2024 to be?

However you face the new year, I hope you will continue to move forward. I wish you all the best. A Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. And may peace prevail.


Photo Workshops and Tours Spring 2024
These are the photo workshops I and Blue Hour Photo Workshops plan for the coming spring.

“The Personal Expression”—a weekend in Bergen, Norway with focus on how to develop your personal, photographic expression. May 3rd to 5th 2024.

“On the Path of Cold War Memories”—a very special workshop exploring Berlin in a historic light. Go back in time to when there were two Germanies and two Berlins. May 12th to 17th 2024.

27 thoughts on “Happy Holidays

  1. Good to know that you’ve been able to keep the business afloat, Otto. I presume you don’t have the luxury of retiring yet, though a photographer need never fully retire. I muddle along, hon, doing my best with what I have and being grateful. Wishing you a healthy, happy 2024.

Leave a comment