Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 32,6 mm (the equivalent of a 72 mm lens for a fullformat camera). The photo was transferred to my cell phone and processed with the Snapseed app with various adjustments.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. ksbeth says:

    very nice, otto. it gives the viewer of feel of the textures and depth of the scene.

  2. shoreacres says:

    It’s a modern version of a canoe, some cliffs, and a bird.

  3. mz&cho says:

    Beautiful! I see land, air and sea emerging together capturing alluring images from all three perspectives. They can stand as one photo each in its own right.

  4. Klausbernd says:

    You are standing out of the crowd, Otto. It’s a captivating image that makes you stop and wonder. Have a great weekend!
    The Fab Four of Cley

  5. Sue says:

    It could tell any number of stories, Otto!

  6. Wonderful vantage point.

  7. This photo feels like you have taken shots from different eras and merged them together. The modern skyline contrasts with what I think is a seaplane and the simpler form of transport, the canoe. The elements blend so well together – it’s a really lovely shot. It’s me in that canoe….or that’s how it feels at least. By the way, my Bergen trip had to be postponed but it is happening the week after next. I can’t wait. I’m bringing all my rainwear as the forecast looks cool and damp!

    • Thanks for the lovely comment about the photo. As to Bergen, unfortunately, it seems like there will be a lot of weather the coming week, that is to say a lot of rain. I still hope you will enjoy the visit. 🙂

  8. I love the light in this.

  9. Deb Breton says:

    I went right to sea, land and air – captured all so succinctly!

  10. paula graham says:

    Looks like a native in that kayak , amazed by what is looking up ahead!

  11. Leya says:

    Modern nostalgia. Great shot and light.

  12. YellowCable says:

    Great composition, I like how objects lead you eyes around the picture. From the paddle boat in the foreground to the buildings on the shore and then the little plane on the sky.

  13. Anna Spanos says:

    Beautiful photo as always, but made more potent for me this week as I just a few days ago went for my first sea kayaking trip. The light and texture of the water feels so visceral to me against that context.

  14. Heide says:

    What an intriguing image — it raises more questions for me than it answers! This one deserves to become a book cover, Otto. Just wonderful.

  15. Lisa Gordon says:

    Wonderful photograph, Otto.
    Great perspective.

  16. showtunessal says:

    Water, earth, and sky conquered by mere man. Such introspection in one picture. 💜

  17. Dale says:

    I love how you caught all this in one image. The eye is drawn around and around. Beautiful light.

  18. Beverly says:

    Land, sea and air…you captured it all in one beautiful shot!

  19. I just want to say, “Turn around, don’t go back to that concrete jungle!” It’s almost futuristic.

  20. I’m not a fan of Instagram photos, but this is pretty darn good! 🙂

  21. seabluelee says:

    This image looks like it was assembled from disparate parts…the kayaker, the city skyline, the small airplane in the clear blue sky. Knowing it’s an actual photograph makes it that much more fascinating. I love the composition!

  22. Dalo 2013 says:

    Beautiful shot Otto ~ reminds me so much of a city I use to roam the shores of 🙂
    The seaplane captures so much of what the Puget Sound is all about, great capture!

  23. Elaine- says:

    seems like such a contrast! i love this photo!

  24. emma cownie says:

    Beautiful photo – thanks for all the technical details at the end. Many photographers will post their settings but forget to say what camera they are using.

  25. themofman says:

    He looks like he’s going to confront a great barrier in his life.

Leave a Reply

