Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 24.5 mm (the equivalent of a 54 mm full frame lens). Shutter speed: 1/100 of a second. Aperture: f/2.8. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and processed first with the Pixlr-o-matic app and then with the Snapseed app with various adjustments and filters.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Excited to have found your awesome blog! I see the critique was open but I didn’t see where to add myself to the list. In the event you have any spare time, I would LOVE brutal (I’m not a feeligs get hurt type) critique (https://houstonphotojourney.com/portfolio/) or for that matter any of my photos period, I still am rather clueless and trying to learn on my own but it’s a sloooow process to any help is always appreciated!!!

  2. Amy says:

    With all busy power lines up there, buildings, and different lights, you still captured the aesthetic! Amazing, Otto! 🙂

  3. I love the retro/neon effect Otto. It evokes a certain nostalgia. Thank you for the wonderful photograph.

  4. paula graham says:

    Wow, that has a futuristic feel to it! Powerful, Amazing, well seen .

  5. As usual I am attracted to the overall colour but also like the diving figure .

  6. bluebrightly says:

    🙂 A very familiar sight, Otto – I used to visit someone who lives almost next door. You made the wires work! I love the processing, too.

  7. shoreacres says:

    They say some people enjoying seeing the world through rose-colored glasses. I’d say it’s just as effective to see it through rose-colored camera lenses!

  8. YellowCable says:

    Love your red color tone! For some reason, it feel cool and pleasant.

  9. I really like this photo. It’s full of interest and a bit of fun. It would be interesting (for me at least!) to also see the shot you started with, before you added InstaSeedyPixy (🙂) adjustments for comparison purposes.

  10. Vicki says:

    What amazing colour in the sky. I think the more time you spend on Photography, the more you see the extraordinary (in the ordinary).

  11. loisajay says:

    All pinks and purples–I love this, Otto. The sky and the neon ‘diver’ are beautiful.

  12. I enjoy your Instagram, Otto! 🙂

  13. I’m not an Instagram fan, Otto, but this is pretty nice. 🙂

  14. Elaine- says:

    whoa, that’s so beautiful, red everywhere, man and God working together to pain the world!

  15. Wow! The colours are majestic! It’s a wonderful background for your tiny neon person to be performing the high wire act amongst all the lines. It really does look like they are about to flip over one wire and grab another.

  16. Alli Farkas says:

    The neon diver is a bit of an historical icon. The Museum of Neon Art (http://www.neonmona.org/) in Glendale, California has one on the top of its building. That one was recreated from the original Virginia Court Motel Diver sign that was built in 1950 when a pool was installed at the motel in Meridian, Mississippi. You can read an interesting short summary of it here: http://www.weho.org/residents/arts-and-culture/visual-arts/art-on-the-outside/the-virginia-court-motel-diver
    You never mention where your photos are shot, but it would be interesting to know in this instance.

  17. seabluelee says:

    I love the pink sky and the glow on the building. I grew up in that city of neon, Las Vegas, Nevada, in the 50’s and 60’s, and the neon diving girl stirs nostalgic memories.

  18. Roland says:

    Perfect colors photo Otto!

Leave a Reply

