Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 26.3 mm (the equivalent of a 58 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/500 of a second. Aperture: f/5.6. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with the Snapseed app with the Drama filter.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Wow! That’s amazing. It took my breath away.

  2. rangewriter says:

    That is a fascinating cloud formation…or perhaps contrails going crazy? Nice shot. You use that drama filter a lot, don’t you. 😉

  3. YellowCable says:

    That is a cool color patterns in the sky. I think you had good fun with this picture.

  4. Vicki says:

    Stunning image and lovely soft colour. Now that’s an image I’d like to hang on my wall (and I don’t say that often). Love the simplicity of the composition.

  5. This is beautiful! It is breathtaking.

  6. sheketechad says:

    At least now I know I am not the only one who sees the X’s in the sky…0_0
    Well shot, too 🙂

  7. Matroos Beek says:

    What an impressive air. I see a great pattern of a flying bird. Wonderful to muse upon. Sincerely.

  8. viveka says:

    This is magic …. the view .. the colors … and the cloud formation. There is drama in the image … and there in calmness plus the beauty.

  9. paula graham says:

    A sign from above…will we listen is the question. Well seen, Otto.

  10. Nicely spied and captured.

  11. Sue says:

    Oh, what fun! Contrail as typhoon….

  12. shoreacres says:

    X marks the spot, indeed. And the title? How about “Cloud Crossing”?

  13. seabluelee says:

    This is one of the most amazing skies I’ve ever seen! I’m glad you were there to capture and share it.

  14. I love your Instagram series, Otto! You’ve opened up new worl for me, too, as I’ve learned about apps from your posts. Being able to create “art” on the sidelines of baseball games between innings has brought me a lot of joy. 🙂 This particular image feels very transcendent with the composition of a small earth and a massive, dramatic sky. Gorgeous!

  15. Alli Farkas says:

    Hmmm…am I the only one who sees sails in the sky? Just seemed appropriate over all that water.

  16. It looks like a sign from God 🙂

  17. Lisa Gordon says:

    I truly love the wonderful layers of color in this, Otto!

  18. I look at this phenomenal photograph and wonder how man thinks he rules over nature. The contrast of that tiny boat floating in a large body of water, framed by those majestic mountains, and then the clouds above?!! Need I say more?? 😉

  19. Dale says:

    Truly a beautiful shot, Otto! I’ll not bore you by repeating what the others have said 😉

  20. Elaine- says:

    wow, looks like the angel of death stomping down the stairway to heaven 🙂

  21. Such an arresting image. Awesome sky.

  22. I’m no fan of Intagram photography, Otto, but I gotta admit this is pretty darn good. 🙂

  23. The Hook says:

    What an amazing capture, Otto.
    You have a rare and wonderful gift, buddy.

  24. Heartafire says:

    I love what you have done with this photograph Otto, the results are amazing. I really love the mix of soft and hard hues. It’s very intriguing and lovely.

  25. Love it … X marks the spot!

  26. I like your article, very inspiring and thank you for your post

  27. Debra says:

    The textures and layers in this photo are simply amazing, Otto. I’m amazed at how you’ve captured the far distance and still brought the sky so prominently forward. It’s a wonderful photo!

  28. Phil Vaughn says:

    “Awesome” is a word that I don’t use often, but it certainly applies to your photo!

  29. Pingback: Out of the Blue | Otto Von Munchow – Liviz

Leave a Reply

