Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 31.5 mm (the equivalent of a 70 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/160 of a second. Aperture: f/4.5. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with the Snapseed app with the Drama filter.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. I absolutely love this image. It brings to mind our Canadian East Coast. I believe they would call this dramatic weather a “Nor Easter”.

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Beautiful light and drama in that image, and the rough frame seems to bring more light into it. I’m curious about how long it takes you to transfer the photo to your phone, process it, and post on Instagram (and simultaneously here, or?). I bet you do it quickly.

  3. Beautiful! Love the lighting. It makes me feel like the weather is clearing, and even if the storm comes back, we’ll weather the storm 🙂

  4. Heartafire says:

    A fabulous photograph Otto. I am fascinated by lighthouses and this certainly stirs my imagination. I would love to explore this house and beacon , thank you for providing a vicarious tour with this wonderful photo. !

  5. paula graham says:

    Stylish, you are such a pro to be able to create such a mood with so little.

  6. The foto is very artistic,i like the way you play with colours. It could have been also a nice idea not to use the cell phone app’s filter.Nice feed in general also.

  7. Tiny says:

    Love this picture, Otto. It has an ethereal quality.

  8. Vicki says:

    Love the drama in those dark clouds. A great contrast for the white building.

  9. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a beautiful little building, Otto, and that sky is magnificent!

  10. shoreacres says:

    So many lighthouses have been replaced by more modern technology, I’m wondering if this might be a historic lighthouse that’s been moved, or at least restored, and is out of service. There’s just something about it that reminds me of Texas lighthouses that now reside in parks. It’s a beautiful thing. I’ve always fantasized about being a lighthouse keeper, and this one would suit me just fine.

    • Like you, I have always been fascinated by lighthouses. Many years ago I worked for a maritime magazine for which I was lucky enough to be sent out to visit and photograph many of the lighthouses in Norway. This one I have depicted here, is standing within the borders of Seattle, and just after I took the photo, the light went on. So I believe it’s still operating.

  11. Roland says:

    A beautiful photo, the treatment is beautiful, thank you for your visit to me.

  12. This looks very much like a lighthouse in Maine.

  13. Pingback: Sky Watch | Otto Von Munchow – Liviz

  14. Amazing skies and subject – great image, Otto!

  15. Debra says:

    I’m fascinated with the gorgeous sky in your photo, Otto. The long view yet such clarity is so beautiful!

  16. seabluelee says:

    Wonderful sky! I love the contrast between the bright white lighthouse and the ominous-looking black clouds.

  17. sherri says:

    absolutely beautiful lighthouse and that sky !

  18. Chillbrook says:

    A very beautiful sky Otto! Lovely photograph! 🙂

  19. Miriam says:

    An absolutely stunning image Otto. That sky is so moody.

Leave a Reply

