See Beyond the Subject

If you believe there is beauty and interesting stuff around you, you will see it, more and more, as you open yourself up. You just need a willingness to explore and find what’s extraordinary in the ordinary things around you. Seeing beyond the subject is a good way to expand you vision. For more on this topic, look up the practical tip I wrote in the post See Beyond the Subject on Blue Hour Photo Workshop’s blog.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photo Techniques, Photography, Practical Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to See Beyond the Subject

  1. Mary says:

    I always try to see something different. It’s crazy what you end up with sometimes.

  2. Tiny says:

    It’s funny that I just wrote a similar observation about the birds on the beach 🙂 So true, and great advice on your Workshop Blog.

  3. Alli Farkas says:

    So often “judgement” gets in the way of our “seeing”. We decide ahead of time that something is not worth the effort. The same goes for life opportunities as well as photo opportunities. Training yourself, as well as your eye, to be open to what is around you not only boosts creativity but spurs that curiosity that keeps you from getting bored!

  4. Good advice for sure!

  5. rabirius says:

    Great abstract.

  6. Cecilia says:

    That’s exactly it, the willingness to explore! Thanks.

  7. Vicki says:

    Great advice Otto.
    (and I’m still trying to work out what those interesting curves are from in your image).

  8. YellowCable says:

    That is a great challenge to find beauty hidden in plain sight.

  9. loisajay says:

    “find what’s extraordinary in the ordinary things”–that is such a wonderful thing to find. Thank you, Otto.

  10. Chillbrook says:

    A very interesting image Otto. This is certainly something I should do more. I’m predominantly a landscape photographer as you know but I really do need to expand my vision beyond my rather single minded search for the perfect landscape. With so much to photograph around us, I’m sure I could be a lot busier than I am, always waiting for the perfect conditions for that perfect landscape. As ever Otto, you’ve provided food for though.
    I think I told you that I’d been fascinated with the reflections and shadows of the windows in my attic apartment as the light changes through the day. This is an ongoing project and I guess it qualifies for peeking beyond the subject but as I say, I should try harder. 🙂

    • You have found your voice, Adrian. And that is a good thing. At the same time expanding the vision is always good for any artist. I like your project as one to do exactly that. 🙂

  11. I agree that the more you look beyond the obvious, the more you see!

  12. Elaine- says:

    there was some famous photographer from way back when, and ALL of his pictures were taken within a mile walk of his home, which was a farm i believe…

  13. https://mariagatling.wordpress.com says:

    Oh I love this! I do enjoy discovering the beauty in object details…it can be such beautiful abstract art and the process is so much fun!

  14. theburningheart says:

    Sort like looking with the eyes of a child into a new thing, with curiosity, playfulness, and awe.

    Great post Otto! 🙂

  15. monica amberger says:

    Ett helt underbart sätt att upptäcka motiv. Kan ta ett tag att ställa om sig till vardagsseendet. Har upptäckt att jag använder mig av detta ibland även när jag inte har kameran med mig. Härligt!
    Bästa Hälsningar
    M 🙂

  16. Pingback: My Recent Taiwan Trip (photographing part 2) – 2017 Week 14 | HHC Blog

  17. Laurie says:

    Isn’t it amazing how beautiful a kitchen sink can be!

  18. themofman says:

    Repeating what I said on your Workshop blog:

    It is just like me to take a avid interest in things that other’s regard as to mundane, like a cloud in the sky or how a certain patch of the sky gradates from one shade of blue to another. It’s these humdrum aspects of the universe that I feel compelled to shoot in some way to convey how I feel when making observations of these things.

Leave a Reply

