Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 27,2 mm (the equivalent of a 60 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/100 of a second. Aperture: f/13. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with the Snapseed app with the Drama filter.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. loisajay says:

    Lovely, Otto. I like that you cannot tell if this is a B&W photo or color. It could go either way.

  2. Dale says:

    Having just been dumped with 70 cm of snow… this one is particularly de rigueur!
    Lovely

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Now this is an image I’d love to have on my wall Otto! Superb! 🙂

  4. Beautiful! I’m starting to play with Snapseed again myself.

  5. Great shot Otto, I like the diagonal ?wire going through it.

  6. Lovely photo Otto, although it makes me feel cold just looking at it! I find snow beautiful to look at but a menace to walk or drive in. No snow (yet!) for us this winter!

  7. Natural black & white, love it. Stark, wintry, beaut!

  8. shoreacres says:

    Snow doesn’t discriminate, does it? It decorates twigs and wires in precisely the same way — although the clear spot in the wire suggests it still has a lesson or two to learn from the twigs about how to hold on to its snow.

  9. Tish Farrell says:

    I like the way you can see this image both in 2D as texture, and 3D if you remember it is a photograph. It’s also reminding me of a Jackson Pollock creation. And then there’s the subtle contrast and added whiteness provided by nearer branches on the right of the image. And just to stop it being too soothing, that provocative line bisecting the whole. V. pleasing, Otto. Cool, in fact!

  10. paula graham says:

    So well seen and composed and Exposed!

  11. Lisa Gordon says:

    This looks like my area this week!
    We had SO much snow.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Otto.

  12. Nice photo Otto. At our place,now start blooming flowers.

  13. Cecilia says:

    What a great snapshot of nature! I love the natural black and white! Great, thanks.

  14. The opposing lines make a strong statement.And where the snow is missing on the wire-well seen!

  15. Heartafire says:

    Beautiful photograph Otto.

  16. snow is the ultimate sculptor…

  17. Elaine- says:

    ooooh i love love hoar frost!! when i was a little girl i wondered how the snow got underneath 🙂 beautiful picture, Otto!

  18. navradar says:

    I’m not into smartphones, so Instagram and others are not part of my workflow, but I do appreciate some of the stuff you do with them.

Leave a Reply

