Last Week’s Instagram

munchow_1825-028_e2

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 34 mm (the equivalent of a 75 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/125 of a second. Aperture: f/2.8. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with the Snapseed app with the Drama filter.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    stark beauty; winter; transience; a ‘fertile’ image to ponder upon.

  2. Elaine- says:

    lovely blues and concrete greys, same colour as in my picture today

  3. paula graham says:

    Just shows you, how little, but just right, how simple, but just enough is often more enduring than £10.000 spent on travel to foreign exotic parts of the globe.
    Wabi-Sabi is now my motto!

  4. Miriam says:

    Finding joy and beauty even in the ordinary. Love it.

  5. Mary says:

    Love the texture.

  6. Vinny Idol says:

    This is a beautiful photo. You can see the changing of the seasons in it.

  7. Greta DH says:

    Soft and tender and yet thorns and death. Almost warm eggplant color and icy blue. Full of contrasts but so beautiful.

  8. Heartafire says:

    The personification of winter, the crunch of dried leaves folding into themselves, awaiting regeneration, a beautiful photograph as always Otto, thank you. Holly

    • Thank you Holly. I do like winter, but when it looks like this, albeit beautifully so, I long for spring. 🙂

      • Heartafire says:

        We have had a warmer than usual winter, the flowers have continued to bloom with hardly any noticeable lapse, seasons seem to fade into the next. Have a beautiful day Otto, wishing you a speedy Spring. 🙂

  9. Leya says:

    Beautiful colour and texture. leaves are always beauties…in whatever stage they are.

  10. hmunro says:

    I love how the stem in the foreground of your image has a “ghost” behind it, running parallel through the whole image. It creates both depth and a sense of harmony. Just beautiful, Otto!

  11. Tiny says:

    The season for contemplation. Beautiful.

  12. So much interest in such a simple subject attests to you great skills, Otto.

  13. YellowCable says:

    I like to color tone.. The leaves and the background colors are so matching and event the cold light. The picture just give a feeling of a cold winter time.

  14. shoreacres says:

    I’ve an impulse to take one of those leaves and crush it — I can hear the crackle, and feel the cold shattering. Even though the leaves clearly belong to the same tree (or shrub, perhaps), the variety among them is interesting. No leaf curls in exactly the same way.

  15. Lisa Gordon says:

    I love this one, Otto!
    Have a great weekend.

  16. I like your article, very inspiring and thank you for your post

  17. seabluelee says:

    Nice subtle tones. I like the way the lighter, curled-up underside contrasts with the top side of the leaves. I admire their tenacity in clinging to the branch this far into winter. I feel a bit like that myself! 🙂

  18. likeitiz says:

    Pretty, in a desolate sort of way.

  19. There are days I feel like that leaf. But look there is still beauty to be captured there. I hope to feel like that too.

  20. monica amberger says:

    Mycket tilltalande Otto. Vilsamt men ändå livfullt i så vackra toner.
    M

  21. Instagram is an application I like because I post different pictures everyday

Leave a Reply

