Last Week’s Instagram

munchow_1822-060_e

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week (this photo is actually more than a week old, but I haven’t posted any new material the last week). It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 10.9 mm (the equivalent of a 24 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/60 of a second. Aperture: f/1.7. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with the Photoshop Express app.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Aquileana says:

    This is a great photograph dear Otto… Do you like Instagram filters?… I often change the saturation, temperature and light of my pics over there. But the standard filters: I don´t use them that much!!!! sending all my best wishes! 😀

  2. marymcavoy says:

    Beautiful photo which, to my eye, has an anthropological observation to it.

  3. Beautiful 👏! Where was this taken?

  4. Heartafire says:

    I don’t use Instagram Otto, so I am not savvy with how it works. I must look into it, I am out of the loop. This is a beautiful photograph, the lone man in the forefront with a beautiful view of the city. Though the city lights are on, there is still light, perhaps dawn or sundown, I don’t know. It’s really lovely and invokes peaceful and contemplation of a beautiful scene.

  5. YellowCable says:

    This picture is a bit scary and have feeling of mystery.

  6. Miriam says:

    A lovely photo Otto, it has mood and a touch of the eerie factor. I’m just starting to get into Instagram myself, it’s.been fun so far.

  7. Reblogged this on Floyd, Times Are Changin and commented:
    good deal right here.

  8. Very atmospheric photo Otto. I use Instagram mainly to stay in touch with family, especially my early teen granddaughters, easy way to send little messages and follow theirs.

  9. shoreacres says:

    The soft flow of color in the sky is beautiful: from blue, to pink, to lemon yellow. And what seems to be fog, or low cloud, softens the outline of the far mountains: quite a contrast to the sharper lights of the city. The figure seems to belong to the mountains and sky, rather than to the city: an equal to the trees on either side.

  10. Your person seems to have found a quiet and peaceful place from where he can enjoy the big city by night, full of lights! I very much like your atmosphere,Otto. Have a pleasant weekend and best regads Martina

  11. paula graham says:

    For me the lovely photo portrays so much symbolism…and yearning for how things once were.

  12. Dina says:

    I love this composition. The perfect silhouette on the very high mountain against the luminated BBB (beautiful Bergen below).
    Ha en god helg, Otto!

  13. sixpixx says:

    Interesting photo Otto. And, I like your Instagram feed. However, I was surprised to see that you don’t follow any other photographers. A shame for me as I like to see what photographers I admire are looking at. Is there any particular reason for that?

    • Yes, I actually don’t follow anyone anywhere. Simply because I don’t want my feeds to get clogged up. But I still look up fellow Instagramers or bloggers as often as I can, but then rather on my own schedule. That’s all. 🙂

  14. There is something about a good silhouette that always captures me. The golden tones in this one make it especially magical.

  15. It interests me to see how others see the shadow man, from serenity to threatening. Personally, I thought of him as part of, but apart, from the city below. Visually, I really like the light and color of the mountainous horizon.

  16. Debbie Smyth says:

    I’m just getting into Instagram myself – must do more!
    I love this silhouette shot ( another thing I’ve been playing with. There’s always so much to try out and improve on in photography) – a hint of mystery plus an expansive view

  17. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a wonderful silhouette, Otto!
    I love the lights of the city below.
    Happy Sunday to you!

  18. Inger says:

    That is a gorgeous view Otto! 🙂 Must be Bergen?

  19. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir eine gute neue Woche lieber Gruß Gislinde

  20. seabluelee says:

    What a wonderful overlook and scene, Otto! There’s a beautiful balance between the light in the sky and the lights of the city.

  21. I like your article ,very inspiring and thank you for your post

  22. Elaine- says:

    awesome view!! perfect time of day to be at the summit!!

  23. Chillbrook says:

    I love silhouettes, this one included. Very nice Otto!

Leave a Reply

