Last Week’s Instagram

munchow_1799-082_e

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: The photo was taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX-100 with the lens set at 34 mm (the equivalent of a 75 mm for a full frame camera). Shutter speed: 1/100 of a second. Aperture: f/16. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and then processed with a Karen filter in the Pixlr-o-matic app and then with a Drama filter in Snapseed.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Elaine- says:

    wow!! very dramatic… thanks for telling about your processing 🙂 that could be a lovely CD cover or something to that effect!!

  2. paula graham says:

    Yea, I like it lots, but…You can take a photo with a brownie box and come up trumps (forgive the pun)!

  3. Heartafire says:

    I love the peaceful quietness of this scene. The man appears to be leaving a cafe (based on the low lighting behind the storefront window) in the early hours. Beautifully done this stirs the imagination.

  4. Vicki says:

    Yes, very dramatic indeed (as Elaine says).

  5. This picture is a story in itself. Already I have ideas about what the shady figure is doing and why. Great use of that low sun Otto.

  6. loisajay says:

    So much to notice in this photo, Otto. What I especially love is looking down the road and realizing the street goes on and on. Very pretty.

  7. TheHairy1 says:

    The picture really brings out the atmosphere of the moment and leaves you thinking about what the man is doing. Great shot!.

  8. I feel the man’s foot about to land. Nice!

  9. Has a vintage sensibility (except for the man viewing what appears to be his phone).

  10. YellowCable says:

    That is an awesome picture!

  11. Alli Farkas says:

    Curious as to what the photo looked like straight out of the camera. Maybe on some posts you can show “before and after”? I think most folks would find the transformation fascinating.

  12. Lisa Gordon says:

    I LOVE the mood here, Otto!

  13. I love the light and the contrast it creates in the details. Beautiful!

  14. Whenever I see a solitary person, I think of loneliness but in this case, I am thinking he has a purpose. It may be in his stride. Love it.

  15. This makes me want to walk along that street sipping a tea. What a lovely day that person has in store for them. Full of possibility.

  16. seabluelee says:

    This was definitely my favorite of your Instagrams this week. It was interesting to read about your processing. I like the idea of your sometimes showing the “before and after” versions. I have a hard time deciding how (or if) I should process a photo – I most often end up leaving it “normal” with just a bit of tweaking in Snapseed. I enjoy seeing your creativity.

  17. Dina says:

    This is great Otto. Just the right light, composition and a story within.
    I very much appreciate the fact that you share your way of processing. If you’d also showed the photos as a “before and after”, It’d be perfect! 🙂

  18. Tiny says:

    Lots of drama and mood in this great shot!

  19. A really wonderful image, Otto. 🙂

  20. shoreacres says:

    I was intrigued by the sun, the person, and the trees forming a sort of procession down the middle of the image, with the impersonal city buildings on either side. If I were to title it, I probably would choose “River of Life.”

  21. Matt Moore says:

    Thanks for visiting my music site. It is nice get feedback from creative people. These are awesome photos. I am honored that you visited.

  22. niasunset says:

    I loved the shadows and silhouettes, amazing photograph. Thank you dear Otto, Love, nia

  23. louise237 says:

    I wandered through your blog and it was a plesant journey… Am impressed by your photography and creativity… Congratulations… You have now another follower. Best wishes!

  24. navradar says:

    Really like this shot, the walker and his shadow make it for me.

  25. Miriam says:

    Stunning photo Otto, really tells a story. Love it.

  26. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous photograph Otto! 🙂

  27. Stunning Otto! Beautiful setting and love the drama to this setting. Have a wonderful Christmas (if you celebrate) and if not all the best in the coming year.

  28. Pingback: Changing Side | Otto Von Munchow – Liviz

  29. Aquileana says:

    Excellent shot, der Otto… Love the sephia tones… Plus the photograph seems taken from a movie! 😉 Wishing you the best for the new year ahead! 😀

  30. Inger says:

    Flott! Perfekt kombinasjon mellom lys og skygge som gir liv til bildet.

  31. Phil Vaughn says:

    Lovely tones and including the person crossing the street adds a “story point” for the photo.

  32. Debbie Smyth says:

    Now this ir right up my street 😉
    I love shots like this and I am now going to have to try out the filters you mention

Leave a Reply

