Last Week’s Instagram

munchow_1813-001_e3

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: This photo was captured with a Lumix Panasonic LX-100 with the lens set at 10.9 mm (the equivalent of a 24 mm for a full frame camera), 1/125 second and f/2.8. It was processed in Lightroom and then transferred to my cell phone. Only a frame from the Lo-Fi filter was added in Instagram.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Great capture Otto. Every photo tells a story.. or at least is should perhaps.🙂

  2. A story about traveling, beauty and fatigue…great!
    robert

  3. Heartafire says:

    Hi Otto, thank you for this great photograph. I am not sure just how this affects me, but I immediately went to the homeless, sleeping where ever one can find a safe place

  4. Beautiful picture. I love Instagram.

  5. monica amberger says:

    Mycket bra bild otto, blev än bättre när jag förstorade upp texten.🙂

  6. YellowCable says:

    I would also say great capture. The subject is quite interesting to see in such place and makes you wonder what the person actually was doing. He was watching or reading something from his smart phone!

  7. shoreacres says:

    More than a few people seem to consider their iGadget a life preserver. And yet, the space portrayed in your photo is noticeably devoid of anything resembling comfort or companionship: the very things that help to preserve and enrich life. Interesting. The inclusion of that little sign really makes the photo.

  8. Interesting. Doesn’t look comfortable but when you are travelling you will take comfort where you can get it. Gee, that’s how I watch Netflix when I am in bed watching the computer.Well thought out and composed .

  9. Elaine- says:

    i love catching people sleeping on ferries… great shot, Otto… but i hope he doesn’t roll off that seat!!

  10. seabluelee says:

    Oh, a ferry. I wondered what sort of conveyance he was on – it didn’t quite look like a bus or a train. Such an interesting photo, Otto!

  11. kutukamus says:

    I find it interesting how people generally find comfort sleeping this way.. I mean, how come do we rarely see (if ever) they do it the other way around (offering their feet to passers-by)?

  12. Alli Farkas says:

    I found myself wondering which entity went to sleep first–the guy or his phone?

  13. It’s an awesome photo and still has a profound feeling to it. I feel that images don’t need numbers as they should stand alone as art without trying to figure out someone else’s lighting situation. I use my iPhone when its all I have, yet I love returning back to my DSLR with so much more to offer in options. My recent mirrorless camera bought for light travel works really well too. Your images are always striking Otto.

  14. Helen Cherry says:

    Love it.. simple lines, colours and the mystery figure..

  15. bluebrightly says:

    The frame and processing are perfection here – you really know how to tie it all together!

  16. rangewriter says:

    This looks like a Puget Sound ferry.😉 ?

  17. Jane Lurie says:

    Excellent capture, Otto. Ferries…

  18. Alexandra says:

    brilliant candid…

Leave a Reply

