Last Week’s Instagram

munchow_1813-219_e

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: This photo was captured with a Canon Eos 5D with a 24-105 mm lens set at 55 mm, 1/200 second and f/5.0. It was processed in Lightroom and then transferred to my cell phone.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous Otto! A beautiful photograph!🙂

  2. Heartafire says:

    I love this photograph Otto. A light piercing the darkness, my interpretation. Thank you for sharing this!

  3. This image brings to mind a quote from one of Canada’s most beloved sons whom we lost yesterday…
    “There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”
    -Leonard Cohen

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    Such beautiful light, Otto, and it looks like such a wonderfully peaceful place.
    Have a great weekend.

  5. YellowCable says:

    Wow, awesome picture! That is the perfect capture of rays of light through the forest of trees.

  6. I love this one Otto. The tree just blocking out the sun for a wonderful setting/atmosphere.

  7. shoreacres says:

    The trees are lovely: so straight and tall. The sunlight glimmering through them is dramatic. But best of all is that bent elbow of a limb on the far right. With the little foliage fringe on top, it could be an elf’s arm, holding an umbrella. Or, it could be a stovepipe from a hidden, woodsy home. Who knows what’s stoking the fire down there, far away under the ground?

  8. Debra says:

    I’m repeating what’s been said, but the light is really gorgeous. I really like the way you captured a swath of the forest itself, rather than focusing on particular trees. Individually they are very beautiful, but in combination there’s a real sense of age and strength. It is a beautiful photo.

  9. My favorite kind of place. I love the way the light filters through.

  10. Vicki says:

    I agree with Linda H. (above).
    I love this kind of filtered light and the way the sun appears as a star burst. Its not as easy to capture as it looks – I’ve only managed about 3-4 times.

  11. This is a great example , in compositional terms, of repetition with variety with that upturned trunk . love the rays of light.

  12. bluebrightly says:

    This one looks like it may have been taken around here, too – whether it was or not, great work as always – I like the way those rays are sometimes in front of the tree trunks, and sometimes behind them –

  13. Tiny says:

    Beautiful! I find this photo is delicate despite the heavy tree trunks.

  14. Elaine- says:

    those smaller branches look like the sprouted out and thought better of going outward and decided to run for the sun🙂 neat shot… i didn’t know you had a 5D!

  15. Aquileana says:

    Such a mystical photograph, dear Otto…. I love how the light spreads through the branches… wishing you a great day, my friend… Aquileana😀

  16. Pingback: Wood in Cityscape | Otto Von Munchow – Liviz

  17. Jane Lurie says:

    Wow! Fabulous light and silhouettes of the trees, Otto. Reminds me of the Presidio here in SF on a foggy morning.

Leave a Reply

