Last Week’s Instagram

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: This photo was captured with a Canon Eos 5D with a 24-105 mm lens set at 105 mm, 1/320 second and f/7.1. The photo was transferred to my cell phone and processed in Snapseed with the filter Drama and using a Snapseed frame.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. very dramatic! I guess they DO need a speedboat!🙂

  2. Ron Hillmar says:

    Great shot and a perfect fit for Instagram, definitely another medium for photos than full(er) sized blogs! Enjoy your weekend, Ron.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The Columbia River bar’s one of the most dangerous places in the world, and the Coasties do a fabulous job there. If this isn’t practice for that sort of duty, it’s still a great reminder of what they do for us, and a dramatic, well-composed photo.

  4. YellowCable says:

    That is cool capture. It gives feeling of the ships in motion with the wave and bad weather.

  5. This brings to mind the Canadian East Coast fishing trolleys. Especially, with the icebergs in the background. It looks cold, wild and exhilarating.

  6. paula graham says:

    Wow..exciting stuff, taken, of course, at just the decisive moment.

  7. lauramacky says:

    Wow that’s incredible!

  8. That’s what I call a story.

  9. Heartafire says:

    An awesome photograph, exciting! Very impressive shot Otto.

  10. loisajay says:

    What a great photo, Otto. It looks like the fins of huge fish out to get to those boats!

  11. Debra says:

    I’m glad I read the other comments because this was such a dramatic photo I really did want to know more about it! The action is on the seas, but I was completely taken with the sky! That is one powerful photo, Otto!

  12. rangewriter says:

    Love this! I thought Oregon coast also. But the processing gives it an old world feeling.

  13. I love this. It makes me think stories in my head and I keep seeing more in the image as the stories develop🙂

  14. drawandshoot says:

    So dramatic and a bit ominous. I like the processing for this image.

  15. bluebrightly says:

    You were in our neck of the woods! I’ve never seen boats like that out there – wonderful image! And the processing works so well – it’s nice to see your flexibility among different mediums.

  16. Like the synchronicity of the two boats charging into the huge waves-talk about stormy waters! And the dark skies match the mood well.

  17. Lisa Gordon says:

    Wonderful photograph, and beautiful edit, Otto!

  18. Julie Gomez says:

    I knew I recognized those waters. Fabulous capture, Otto!

  19. Love the drama and composition Otto

  20. Wow this is a very eye catching photograph. It has great power.

  21. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous image Otto!

  22. Superb image Otto. Perfect timing with both boats cresting the wave – the processing in Snapspeed looks great.

  23. Jane Lurie says:

    Thrilling photograph, Otto. Your post-process adds a great sense of drama.

Leave a Reply

