Last Week’s Instagram

Restene av fjøsveggen til Kobbeltveit bruk nummer 4

Once a week—or every so often—I will display one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. Except for the technical details beneath the pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

Facts about the photo: Taken with Canon EOS-5D and a 16-35 mm lens set at 28 mm. Exposure: A shutter speed of 1/200 second and an aperture of f/14. The image is actually two photos, processed and put together in Photoshop, and then further processed with the apps Pixlr-o-matic with the filter Bob and Camera Zoom FX adding a Heavy Vignette. Finally in Instagram the frame from the Inkwell was added.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Last Week’s Instagram

  1. Miriam says:

    Very creative and extremely moody.

  2. shoreacres says:

    Perhaps it was the combination of rock and human that brought it to mind, but my first thought was to title this one “Sisyphus Takes a Rest.” Instead of seeing a crumbling building and a fading man, I saw a fellow who’d been building, and finally decided it might be time to pause in the heat of the afternoon. We’re moving into summer heat here now, and my own schedule is shifting to accomodate full sun at midday, so that could have influenced my interpretation!

    • My idea was quite close to your interpretation, although not quite the same. But I always enjoy hearing what others get out of my work, and that’s why I usually don’t say what my intentions were. Thank you for your feedback, Linda.

  3. Love this photo…and yes, a tired man near a wall of stones has a strong impact on the viewer
    robert

  4. We all get a little tired from building our walls. The sheer exhaustion that the man seems to exude while resting can easily symbolize the struggle we have putting our stones in place. It makes me want to take him some water and say, “it’s high enough”.

  5. Very interesting picture!

  6. Mary says:

    Wow, very nice.

  7. Dymoon says:

    interesting merging with the other apps. at first glance, I felt rather distracted with it.. it took some adjusting .. but in reading your comments, it fell into place.. good creative thinking …

    • I believe that art or photography shouldn’t always be easy to read. Challenging the audience is good.🙂 I am happy it fell into place for you. Thank you for commenting.

  8. to me, it’s like a ghost with the crumbling building. something about building on the backs of previous generations….

  9. Heartafire says:

    Fascinating photograph, “ruins”, that is what immediately came to mind on seeing this. Rather than building rocks, I imagine this to be artifcact gradually disentegrating, the man symbolic. Well done!

  10. Draws one into the possible narratives, and engages the emotions.

  11. paula graham says:

    Gives us lots to wonder about; where is he, why is he crouched by the side of the wall, is he posing or did you stumble across him! I realise you ‘created’ this shot but even so…that is the effect it gives

  12. YellowCable says:

    Very interesting shot!

  13. Yes, really interesting. A departure from your usual style🙂

  14. Ptck says:

    A look older – connotation with stone – Have a Good week Otto

  15. themofman says:

    Tired old ghost.

  16. Chillbrook says:

    I love the creativity in this one Otto! A superb use of Photoshop!

  17. inesephoto says:

    Love the photo. I took a couple of double exposures while on holidays. Might post them in my next blog. Love this kind of images, always a surprise🙂

Leave a Reply

