Back from the Jungle

Munchow_1735-014_E2

Munchow_1735-081_E2

Munchow_1735-297_E2

Munchow_1735-402_E2

The jungle experience is over. A couple of days ago I came back from almost two weeks in the Peruvian rain forest – away from anything resembling modern, urban life. I was about to write civilisation, but I really don’t think the traditional life in balance with Mother Nature which is found in the Amazonian rain forest is less civilized than the life most of us regard as normal and even more advanced. On the contrary I would actually say. I found a way of living that was simple on an external level but so informed and intelligent on other levels.

What the indigenous know about the complex ecosystem in the jungle, what they know about plants that can cure and help in profound ways and how they are good for us nutritionally, in addition to their knowledge of animals and how to live in balance with the surroundings, is nothing less than impressive. I really enjoyed the taste of this life – almost felt as if I was at home. Yes, I did. Instead of electricity, internet or smart phones, I had to accept sharing my hut with a tarantula as big as my hand, allow for the fact that I could come across two yards long snakes on my path, but then also discover all kinds of beautiful and colourful butterflies and birds, enjoy the cacophony of the hundred different sounds of the jungle, enjoy living next to a river heated by volcanic activity and so hot that I could boil an egg simply by sticking it into the water flowing by. Best of all I could leave all stress and worries behind me and just live this balanced and informed life the indigenous taught me – or at least as much as I could learn in two weeks.

The pictures here are only a few of the first edit from the trip.

Now my travel continuous. Two days ago I returned to the country I have followed the development of for 25 years. For the two next weeks I will enjoy the warmth, colours and friendly people of Cuba. Naturally, I will get back with photos along the way in the next couple of my posts.

On a different note, I want to thank you for your patience with my blog silence the last couple of weeks I was disconnected from the world in the jungle. Naturally, without internet access, I have not been able to return your comments and visits to my blog, but I promise I will get back to you. Just give me a little time. Further more while here in Cuba, I will still have problems to respond, simply because internet access here generally is extremely slow and quite unpredictable. So, please have a little further patience with me. I will indeed get back to you all as soon as I have returned to Norway again.

Munchow_1735-047_E2

Munchow_1735-368_E2

Munchow_1735-497_E2

Munchow_1735-558_E2

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Back from the Jungle

  1. lauramacky says:

    Is that a shower in the last image? Welcome back by the way and great pictures. Looking forward to seeing more.

  2. Okay. You had me until tarantula and snake.😉 Love the images. Given your occupation, we do expect you to travel.😀 Welcome back to internet. Cheers!

  3. Dawn says:

    I love so many of these…but the last one says ‘jungle’ to me the most. Can not wait to see more, and to see the Cuba images. Wish I could have gone to Cuba! We ARE going to Norway, we think, next summer…husband has family there. So I am hoping to take some wonderful photos on that trip.

  4. These images are breathtaking and the way you describe your stay sounds absolutely soul refreshing. I’d say we could all take a page from your book and spend some time in this culture. Thank you for sharing your journey.

  5. Heartafire says:

    Such stunning photography of such an amazing region of the world. Thanks for sharing this with us!

  6. Joanne says:

    These captures are a wonderful teaser to what must have been the most extraordinary time of your life. Looking forward to reading and seeing more on your return to Norway. Safe travels!🙂

  7. Chillbrook says:

    Such a fabulous experience Otto. I am so envious! Enjoy your time in Cuba and all the best with the workshop. I’m looking forward to many more images from the jungle and from Cuba. Take care my friend!

  8. Great pictures. I wish they didn’t have so many snakes, but I guess they know how to live with them.

  9. paula graham says:

    What a superb opportunity that has been for you and now for us to see the resulting photos.

  10. Haylee says:

    Stunning and so interesting to hear snippets of this way of life. I think it would do people, who live in predominantly urban areas, the world of good to disconnect more often and take a leaf out your book. Looking forward to the Cuban images too!

  11. Your comments about civilization brought to mind a movie from Australia “The Walkabout” also a book. I found it to be a profound look at culture in the city and the culture in the aboriginee world with stunning photography. These photos show such beauty- and the way you write about them that shares your incredible journey.Thank you for that and I look forward to the photos and writings from Cuba.

  12. Fantastic photos, Otto. Those bananas are HUGE!🙂

  13. Amazing and gorgeous! I’ll look forward to seeing what else you capture(d) on your trips. Safe travels!

  14. These are wonderful photos and they remind me of my time in Peru. I went into the Peruvian Amazon basin at Manu National Park. Where were you for your trip?

  15. Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experiences and insights about your trip! I love the photos! They are so exotic. My favorites are the second one and the portrait of the young woman. Some of the scenes remind me of something out of a Jules Verne novel. Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures! Enjoy Cuba!

  16. I thoroughly enjoyed your set of images. Each tells a piece of your experience in a way that is telling about the trip, especially its physical environment.

  17. YellowCable says:

    Great images you are sharing here and love the story how your disconnecting of the non-nature world to the real nature world of equal among man and other living beings there.

  18. loisajay says:

    Safe travels, Otto. Your beautiful photos are well worth the wait.

  19. Thank you Otto, I hope your amazing travels and photography will continue at Cuba, can’t wait to see more of your work.

  20. Dalo 2013 says:

    These are such fantastic shots Otto ~ a view and feel of life. It is something special when you can return from such an adventure, and when entering your normal you feel the “culture shock” of the modern world. Yes indeed, what is the meaning of civilized. Wish you further safe travels and photographic adventures…

  21. Good to see you back, Otto. From your words I conclude that you had a really good and meaningful time – as I had decades back.

  22. Wonderful shots, Otto. Clearly, you had a terrific time in the midst of nature🙂 Welcome back!

  23. shoreacres says:

    There are so many things you mentioned that remind me of life in Liberia — including that bath fence in the last photo! Compared to some in the Liberian villages, I’d consider it very high class, indeed. My favorite photos are the second and the last: such enticing images!

    I’m glad to hear all is well, and I’ll look forward to your new images.

  24. thirdeyemom says:

    Sounds like an amazing trip! It makes me want to go somewhere exotic! Can’t wait to see more photos and hear more about it.

  25. elisa ruland says:

    Hi Otto. I imagine the transition from the Peruvian Rain Forest to Cuba must have been fascinating. Two different cultures, but the people similar in nature? Your photographs are fantastic, and I especially like the fourth one down of the young girl gazing peacefully at the camera. Lovely. Safe travels, and enjoy!

  26. Your photos are amazing. I’ve read about your experience in the jungle. It must have been an incredible adventure. I would love to do the same, one day. My favourite photo is the one of the woman standing in the shower in the jungle. great shot.

  27. Amanda says:

    That’s wonderful! Glad you got to experience jungle life. Even though I grew up in the Brazilian jungle until the age of 2, I still remember a lot! Gorgeous pictures my friend!

  28. Great photos, great experience you had! Enjoy the next one in Cuba!
    robert

  29. monica amberger says:

    Hej Otto, mycket intressant att få ta del av dina upplevelser i både text och bild. Du verkar ha haft en givande vistelse och tack för att du delar med dig. Uppskattas mycket. Önskar dig lycka till med work shopen på Cuba. Må gott!
    Bästa Hälsningar
    Monica

  30. themofman says:

    You make me miss “roughing it” in the forests and hills of north-central British Columbia.

  31. Your photographs and your description of your trip are beautiful. Thank you.

  32. It’s just marvellous, Otto, what you have said about the jungle and its inhabitants and their being in harmony with the surrounding and their expressive knowledge about plants and animals.We, the cultivated, sometimes are of the opinion that our stressful life is more important! enjoy your stay in sunny Cuba. Best regards Martina

    • You are quite right in that we feel more cultivated and more important just because we think of ourselves as more advanced. I can only feel respect for people who are able to live more in peace with everything. Thank you for your comment, Martina.

  33. Louis says:

    Thanks for the fascinating insight and reflection on your Peru trip. The combination of pictures and text create an interesting and informative post. Thanks Otto. Best wishes for Cuba.

  34. Sue says:

    Wonderful set of images telling a story…looks like you have had an amazing experience! Enjoy Cuba, and look forward to seeing plenty more great photographs.

  35. Cafe says:

    Beautiful! Wish I could be there. Edit — I WILL go visit one day! Thank you for sharing your photos and impressions. They are always both wonderful🙂

  36. likeitiz says:

    What vivid images of these places and the people. One day, I will go there…..

  37. Ptck says:

    A fantastic life experience and photos unusual – excellent Hdr

  38. mopana says:

    Very interesting post… beautiful photos… I think is amazing to travel like you🙂

  39. Leya says:

    Very expressive photos – and the jungle is…I went to Peru in the 80’s – before my camera days. A pity. But I enjoy yours immensely. More to come I hope?

  40. Truels says:

    Very fine photos.
    i’ll look forward to read and view more from your travel in the jungle in Peru

  41. Terri Gold says:

    Immersed in the images and your adventure- both wonderful…

Leave a Reply

