Five Years

Skumringen senker seg over den koloniale delen av Trinidad

Two days ago, I got a notice from WordPress, stating that I registered on WordPress.com five years ago. In other words, I have a little anniversary to celebrate. Those five years have just flown away. It wasn’t this blog you are reading here I started out with, but the one I co-edit with my friend and colleague Øystein Mikalsen, which is called Untold Stories. That blog is still running but more sporadically whenever we travel in order to make journalistic stories from around the world.

This blog here came about a little later, but has taken the main focus ever since the start. As I just wrote, time has gone by really fast. 384 posts later (with this blog only), it almost feels like I wrote my first post just a short time ago. As all other bloggers I started without really knowing what I was getting myself into. When I began In Flow I had an idea that I wanted to write about creativity and how to develop this creativity as a photographer (and as it turns out; often for artists in general). I was aware of the fact that I didn’t know much about how creativity works or what triggers it, but from some readings and some personal experiences. Therefore, my hope was to open a dialogue between the readers and me. I wanted us to discuss our way into finding out more about the mysterious mechanisms of creativity. Or, as I wrote in that first post: «Creativity is one of the main themes I want to explore in this blog – and I hope with the help of you. I believe everybody has creativity within him or her, but most of us lose contact with our creative well as we grow older and out of childhood.»

anniversary-2xThis is still where I stand today and still my goal for this blog. However, I think I know a little bit more, both about blogging and about creativity. It’s been a fantastic travel, not the least because of you, my dear readers, and all the response and input you have given me through these years. It has really been years of discussing our way to more knowledge, helping each other out and giving each other encouragement. I feel the blog has developed since the first feeble posts – not the least thanks to you. So here in celebrating this little anniversary, I think it’s appropriate to thank you most sincerely for this wonderful travel we have done together. You have been fantastic. I hope we still will have many more years ahead of us travelling together.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Five Years

  1. oneowner says:

    Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary. Here’s to 5 more years!

  2. Heartafire says:

    Congrats on the fifth anniversary of your blog!

  3. Bravo, brother of the world!

  4. So glad you made that decision five years ago. I have enjoyed reading your posts on creativity. You have opened my eyes to some new concepts and have validated some of my own thoughts. Congratulations on the anniversary Otto! ~Rita

  5. I and all your readers are so happy for you and for ourselves that we can enjoy and follow your most beautiful work of photography art. A big thank you for being there.

  6. Vicki says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary, Otto.

    I for one have been most appreciative of your words and encouragement. Yours posts on creative vision and how to connect with the subject have been most helpful.

  7. Lynda says:

    Congrats Otto! I’ve enjoyed reading along over the years – thank you for all the effort you put into each of your posts 😊.

  8. adelemiranda says:

    Its a beautiful image and congratulations on your anniversary too, something to celebrate🙂

  9. Chillbrook says:

    Congratulations Otto! Quite a milestone!

  10. Kari Anne says:

    Thank you for all your great articles. It is always both a pleasure and a learning experience to read them. 5 years! That is a long time to keep at! Well done.

  11. InfiniteZip says:

    Happy anniversary and here’s to another five plus😊 Thank you😊

  12. loisajay says:

    Congratulations to you, Otto. Thank you for all the wonderful tips that I so enjoy reading.

  13. paula graham says:

    Lovely photo of innocence and here is to the next 5 years!! xx

  14. jmnowak says:

    I enjoy your blog, Otto, for many reasons. Thank you! Congrats, and keep it up! :-))

  15. Well done Otto. Five years of posts, and every one a gem! Keep up the good work; I so enjoy your tips, advice and photos.

  16. Otto, As an artist I am most attune to your interpretations and definitions of creativity. You are right that your posts cross-over into all realms of creativity and not just how it affects the creative bent for photographers, but others as well. I so appreciate your inclusion. Your posts resonate a personal “let’s meet-up over lunch, have a sit-down and…chat”…..feel. Looking forward to more, please….
    Raye

  17. Mary says:

    Congrats on 5 years. I know I am very glad I found your blog. Your knowledge and insight into creativity has certainly helped me.

  18. Joanne says:

    Congratulations on 5 years – thank you so much for sharing your experiences!

  19. Anna Spanos says:

    Congratulations on five years! I so appreciate reading your posts, and especially appreciate that you haven’t abandoned longer form exploration in favor of the quick posts we bloggers are supposed to stick to – you know, the easier to digest, the higher the hits and all that great advice we get🙂. Thanks for all the attention you give this site, it’s become such a lovely resource.

    • I am really glad you say this, because I sometimes think I am doing the not so smart thing. But I have decided to write posts according to myself and not what creates likes and high numbers of hits. Thank you, Anna.

  20. Happy anniversary Otto!

  21. Carolyn Hill says:

    Reblogged this on Caught on the Flipside and commented:
    Congratulations Otto!

  22. Elina says:

    Thank you for an inspiring blog Otto, I always enjoy reading your thoughts on creativity! Your way of thinking and writing is wonderful!🙂

  23. Congratulations Otto!.. Happy fifth anniversary with WordPress.🙂

  24. drawandshoot says:

    Such a lovely image!
    Congratulations, Otto, all your wonderful work on this blog (images, writings, community building…) is outstanding.

  25. Alli Farkas says:

    I think you have, and will continue, to fulfill the promise of this blog. The enormity of reader participation is one very good indicator!

  26. Well done, Otto! You have a great blog.🙂

  27. seabluelee says:

    Congratulations, Otto! You began this blog about a month before I started mine. You were one of my first followers and I have been one of yours ever since. From the start I’ve been impressed with both your photography and your thoughts about creativity. You inspire me with both, as well as by your kindness and encouragement, and I hope to be following you here for a long time to come.

  28. Sue says:

    Congrats on 5 blogging years, here’s to many more, Otto. I thoroughly enjoy reading your posts

  29. ninagrandiose says:

    A 5 year anniversary in the blogging world is a milestone. What draws so many of us here is your generosity of spirit; evident not only in the content of your posts and you keep

  30. ninagrandiose says:

    oops…but also h0w you keep tabs on us and check out so many of your readers’ blogs. I applaud this spirit and it keeps bringing me back. Thanks!

  31. YellowCable says:

    Congratulations! Thank you for your thoughtful ideas and very useful tips on this blog.

  32. Congratulations Otto. I don’t always comment on your posts, but I always read them and think about what you have written. You always help me think about photography. Here’s to many more Otto posts! 🍸😊

  33. It was joy to discover you and your work. You share from experience, heart, knowledge and talent. Hope that you have another five years in you.

  34. leecleland says:

    A wonderful milestone, congratulations, Otto. I’m so pleased you started and that I found you. Your Blog makes me think about what I take and why.

  35. Congratulations Otto! Truly enjoy reading your blog posts, you always bring interesting and provoking topics for us to consider and keep wandering! Thank you so much🙂

  36. paula graham says:

    Love your photo, real study of innocence in childhood and on , on to the next 5 years of outstanding blogging, Otto.

  37. thirdeyemom says:

    Congratulations! I adore your blog and you always inspire me with your gorgeous photography and words. 😀

  38. Happy Blogiversary, Otto! I’ve found much food for thought and insight and inspiration here. I look forward to your future posts.

  39. restlessjo says:

    Awww, what a lovely thank you. 🙂 You make me wish I got here more often, but the visits I have made have often given me food for thought, and always encouragement. So thank you, Otto. It’s been a pleasure.

  40. Ptck says:

    Happy Birthday !! me is three years and one year on another platform, so 4

  41. Dina says:

    Happy anniversary, Otto! Well done!

  42. shoreacres says:

    Your blog is an absolute treasure, Otto. I love thinking about creativity — particularly, how to sharpen every sort of vision — and you’re very good at asking the kind of questions that stir my thoughts. It’s true that most of us didn’t have a clue how things would evolve when we started this blogging process, but I’d say it’s evolved very well for you — and, hence, for us! Here’s to the future, and more fun with the creative process.

  43. Congratulations Otto! It has always been a pleasure to read your posts🙂

  44. Dalo 2013 says:

    Impressive. From where you began to where you are now…very well done.

  45. themofman says:

    Happy anniversary In Flow!

  46. Louis says:

    Congratulations Otto. As you will be aware I am a regular reader of your posts – I invariably find them stimulating and thought-provoking. I have also bought several of the books you have recommended in passing. Keep up the good work. You are appreciated.

  47. Truels says:

    Congratulations with the first 5 years, I hope you will be blogging here for many more years!
    Reading your post here I became curious and checked how many years I have been here, to my surprise, I passed the five years in January this year🙂

  48. Patrizia M. says:

    Congratulations dear Otto, thank you for all you gifts with your advice and thank you for the opportunity to have an open dialogue with you!
    Greetings, Patrizia

  49. melissa says:

    Otto, what a beautiful post. I just popped in tonight to see what pictures you’ve been taking lately. And I see you’re off on a grand adventure! I hope you are having a fabulous time, disconnected from the internet and electricity. And I hope you are taking lots of pictures. You are right — they are a story in and of themselves. I miss blogging, and was so happy to drop by and read some of your thoughtful and inspiring posts. Congratulations on your blogging anniversary!

Leave a Reply

