All Good Things Are Three – Or Bad

Et lappverk av brostein

Over the last couple of weeks I have challenged you, my readers, with a few photographic tasks. The response has been more than expected and I have been impressed by the creativity and visual approach to the two challenges I have thrown up in the air so far.

Thus, I would like to give you a different and last challenge – for now at least. Next week I will start to showcase the photos that have been submitted to the previous challenges. But first then, the new challenge:

This is a very special challenge in that I am not necessarily asking for you to post any photos here. Nevertheless I would love if you did, but as you soon will see the challenge is not about one way to approach or look for photography – as the two previous challenges. The thought behind the challenge today is that we who enjoy photographing, maybe some times take it too seriously. We want so much and we have so high expectations for the end result. I would think it’s quite common for all fields of creative work. The consequence of these high expectations might be stagnation and inhibition rather than brilliance. When we want too much our creative mind freezes fearing that we won’t be able to deliver as expected. We actually end up doing exactly contrary to what we want to do. If you decide to make a master piece, you surely will end up not being able to do so. Master pieces don’t come on order. On the contrary, they come when you least expect it, when you let go of all pretentions and expectations and just create from the bottom of your heart, freely and without inhibitions – with no second thoughts to the final result. If you allow yourself to fail, if you allow yourself to make mistakes, you will let down your guard, and then maybe – maybe – you will be able to create something truly original and personal.

So the challenge this week is to do exactly that. Give yourself an hour or half a day or whatever and go out and photograph ugly and erroneous photos. Don’t only try to let go of any expectations, but actually photograph with the intention of creating crap. You will surely shoot something quite different than you would usually do – and you might even find some shots that come out very strongly and captivating. Don’t expect this though, just go out there and do something you never ever do otherwise. However the result is going to be, the process itself will be enlightening.

Please, if you dare showcase some of these photos, I would love to have you post a link in a comment underneath as usual for these challenges. It would be fun to see what we all come up with of different approaches. Are you ready?

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Challenging Yourself, Creativity, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to All Good Things Are Three – Or Bad

  1. mukul chand says:

    Nice post and lovely picture. Do read and follow these blogs to go on a roller coaster ride of fun and more; http://www.enchantedforests.wordpress.com and http://www.travelwithmukul.wordpress.com

  2. loisajay says:

    ‘with the intention of photographing crap.’ why can’t all directions some with this much simplicity? Thank you, Otto.

  3. oneowner says:

    This is a challenge I’ve been meeting all my life! So far, I have 6 terabytes of crap.

  4. ninagrandiose says:

    A unique challenge!

  5. Vicki says:

    Being a perfectionist (who spoilt many a watercolour painting years ago by trying to perfect part of the artwork), I find many a photographic image is spoilt by trying too hard.

    Most of my good images are sheer luck (although as an artist and designer 40 years ago, there must be some aspects of my college education that contribute towards my photographic vision today).

    Your challenge is certainly an interesting one, Otto.

  6. Susan says:

    Ha! I do that every day🙂

  7. This seems like an easy challenge, but I can see that it’s actually a tricky one. I’m curious to see what comes of it!

  8. niasunset says:

    Dear Otto, I did something according to your challenge idea, but I am not sure did I make it right🙂 here is my try, Thank you, love, nia
    http://photographyofnia.com/2015/09/07/challenge-ugly-and-erroneous-photos/

  9. Patrizia M. says:

    Wow, a really tough challenge this ahahaha
    It is not easy to do   a horrible picture consciously
    This may be fine ?? I knew it would have been horrible as photo, but maybe I did not understand the challenge!

    Ciao, Pat

  10. I love your insight here about how our fear of failing causing us to actually fail. Like the the old saying, “You get what you expect”.

  11. A very interesting challenge, Otto! I think by trying to hard, we are doomed to fail. It’s good to encourage us to let go of our inhibitions.🙂

  12. Elaine- says:

    haha Otto, as you already know about me, this challenge is my standard operating procedure lol so i don’t think this one was aimed at me, since i live there and it is no longer a challenge haha

  13. Otto, the world is full of mundane and ordinary and hard-to-look-at objects and situations. Just being in the moment is the gift of creativity and seeing. There are times when it is surprising the beauty that comes from these moments.

  14. lorrain1 says:

    Nous avons le même thème, des blogs ressemblants…

    We have the same theme, resembling the blogs …

    see you later

  15. Mary says:

    I have two crap shots actually, this is one of them.

  16. Interesting challenge…
    robert

  17. Great fun! My ugly photos are so much more interesting and beautiful than my “beautiful” photographs! I mentioned your blog on my post today, Thanks
    Carla’s Blog
    carlasaunders.com

  18. Debra says:

    How funny…and fun! I actually took a few photos for the last challenge, but I’ve had so many technical problems with my computer as well as long Internet outages. I just lost my momentum! I really like the sound of this, Otto. It is such a different way to approach seeing through the lens!🙂

Leave a Reply

