Retreating into the Mountains

Munchow_1710-178_E

Munchow_1710-261_E

Munchow_1710-202_E

Munchow_1710-330_E

Munchow_1710-133_E

Munchow_1710-325_E

Munchow_1710-110_E

Last week I got back from a ten days trip exploring different mountain areas and the countryside in the north-western-most States of USA, that is Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Montana. This was not a photo trip as such but a holiday with my love one. However, being a passionate photographer I don’t stop photographing. Here are but a few photos from the trip. At the same time I want to thank you my blog reader for the patience over the last couple of weeks. I have simply been complete off any communication with the world. I appreciate all the comments you have posted while I have been away, and I will get back to you all. Furthermore I hope you have enjoyed the summer or the season wherever you may be.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Retreating into the Mountains

  1. mike mills says:

    A great series Otto! your love of the wilderness really comes out through with these images. I particularly like the high tech shiny almost science-fiction like tent against the rugged background.

  2. Dina says:

    Every one needs a retreat now and then, including quality time offline. Glad you had a good time and obviously good weather as well. Very nice presentation of the images, the framing is 👍.
    Ha en fin ny uke, Otto!

  3. The chipmunk is incredible.

  4. Vicki says:

    Great photos Otto.
    Looks like the very best sort of holiday – away from any sort of technology and enjoying Nature at her very best.
    (love the squirrel).

  5. Really fantastic photos and the first one almost looks like the clouds are moving. Yes, everyone deserves a break and if you can completely disconnect, all the more better!

  6. jmnowak says:

    Wish I’d been there with you! Cute…umm…chipmunk, gopher ? Its spectacular scenery that truly feeds the soul. Thank you! 🙂

  7. Antonia says:

    Beautiful scenery and a cute squirrel! 🙂

  8. Chillbrook says:

    A wonderful break by the looks of things Otto! I’m glad you enjoyed your time away! 🙂

  9. Sue says:

    Good to see you had a great time, Otto….and I love that chipmunk!

  10. paula graham says:

    Wow, back to nature big time…very good for the soul. Lovely photos too.

  11. The ultimate in holiday snaps! They give a real sense of enjoyment and wonderment with nature. Who wants to lie on a beach?

  12. Lynda says:

    That’s great you disconnected for a bit – I think we all need to do a bit more of that. And what breathtaking scenery!

  13. Mary says:

    Beautiful shots of a beautiful part of the country.

  14. Thank you for sharing this sampling of photos from your retreat. You make a mini-retreat possible for the rest of us~most appreciated and very beautiful.

  15. I’m glad you were able to visit our beautiful corner of this world. Wonderful photos.

  16. Barbara says:

    It’s been way too long since I took a trip into the mountains. Thanks for sharing yours through your photos! I’m glad you were able to take a break.

  17. walker says:

    The smell of that sparkling fresh air is tangible even here ;). Great mood and gorgeous pics as always.
    Ciao Otto,

  18. Thank you for posting pictures of your vacation! It looks like you found some beautiful views! As a permanent resident of Washington State I really love these photos – they feel like home. I especially like the wildflowers. It reminds me so much of summer hiking with my family as a kid. Amazing!

  19. shoreacres says:

    Welcome back, Otto. Clearly, you had a wonderful time away. It’s important for us all — not just the being away, but learning that we can go away, come back, and find we’re not forgotten!

    There’s something for everyone in your selection here, as the comments show. I’m especially fond of the alpine meadow, and the chipmunk, although I do think if I had to pick only one, it would be the third-from-last, with the leaning trees, the clouds, and the tiny purple asters. Looking at it, I can smell the mountain air.

  20. Patrizia M. says:

    Bentornato Otto e grazie per queste bellissime foto che ci mostrano i luoghi che hai visitato, veramente splendidi. Dolcissima la foto dello scoiattolo 🙂
    Saluti, Patrizia

  21. themofman says:

    Beautiful first peak. I miss that side of this continent just for the wilderness.

  22. loisajay says:

    Aw,Otto–you’re a sweetie. That’s good you cut off communication. We need to just stop and enjoy the quiet sometimes. We are a noisy bunch sometimes! 🙂

  23. Terri Gold says:

    so glad you took a break
    we have to breathe in to breathe out…

    wonderful mountains and air
    invigorating
    I can tell
    I am off to Africa
    for the rest of the summer
    send good wishes
    I enjoy your images and words
    always
    thanks
    terri

  24. YellowCable says:

    A beautiful set!!!

  25. Quite wonderful impressions from your trip. Even being on a vacation it’s almost impossible to stay away from the camera. My mind works constantly in images, so I understand what you are saying.

  26. Dalo 2013 says:

    Fantastic shots and a great look into what must have been a great retreat into the wild. Nice to kick back and enjoy the scenery and family, but always nice to draw out the camera now and then ~ and you’ve got some amazing captures Otto. Well done and hope you are still dreaming of the Pacific Northwest!

  27. Looks like a nice trip. I’ve been on a mountain trip to Dovre this summer and now I’m sea fishing near Bodø (both places are in Norway, for those blog readers who aren’t familiar with Norwegian geography).

  28. Beautiful. I hope your vacation was refreshing!

  29. Wonderful photo gallery, Otto. What a great mountain trip you had. 🙂

  30. monica amberger says:

    Välkommen åter Otto, superfin bildserie från din/er trip. Mycket njutbart att få ta del av. Tusen tack.
    Allt gott.
    Monica

  31. Elaine- says:

    soooooo many beautiful photos, but i love animals sooo much that i fell in love with the last one 🙂 little sweetie would probably bite me, but i get that too lolol

  32. winelover988 says:

    I love the photos

  33. thirdeyemom says:

    Gorgeous! I need to get out there too!

  34. Amazing nature! Yes, I can imagine that you will never stop taking pictures even on holiday – especially with this beautiful nature and landscape 🙂 Trust you had a wonderful holiday with your love one 🙂

  35. PC PHOTO says:

    Your choice of high peaks and thin air is the best medicine for a soul to renew oneself!

  36. Louis says:

    A fine selection with variety and communicating very effectively a sense of place.

  37. Beautiful shots! I was up there painting Mt. Hood:)

  38. Wonderful photographs, Otto. I love the last one!

  39. Candace says:

    Gorgeous, looks so relaxing. It’s a beautiful country!

  40. Truels says:

    I am glad, that you also take time to retreat, wander in the wilderness, using energy on love – and switch off the network-connection.
    Looks like you had a great experience.

  41. Ptck says:

    Great experience to live in harmony with nature !!

Leave a Reply

