An Olympic Weekend

Solen går ned i Stillhavet

Den frodige, tempererte regnskog ved Hoh

Klippekysten ved Ruby Beach

Den frodige, tempererte regnskog ved Hoh

Solen går ned i Stillhavet

Getting away from everyday’s routines is always a boost. I was able to spend the weekend along the Pacific coast of the Olympic peninsular, Washington state, USA. While the weather only a few miles inland was sunny, bright and summer-like, we had wet fog, chilly temperatures and even some rain out there on the coast. But it didn’t matter. We enjoy just being outside and feeling close to the elements, hiking, paddling and, yes, of course, photographing. And after all, when we are visiting a rain forest – albeit a temperate rain forest way up north – what could we expect? In addition, when every evening, we were blessed with some spectacular sunsets; who needs sun during daytime…

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to An Olympic Weekend

  1. Mary says:

    Those are all just gorgeous!

  2. It’s very important to get away from routine and catch your breath. You also caught some amazing sunsets! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lynda says:

    Stunning shots – especially the third. Sounds like a great trip!

  4. https://marygatling.wordpress.com says:

    That’s a beautiful part of the country! Great shots Otto!

  5. Great set of images…I love the colors in the sunset image.

  6. Lovely happy photos.

  7. Beautiful! Dreaming of being up there where it is cooler. It is 106 degrees down here in California right now!

  8. Tinna ✐ says:

    What a wonderful way to get away from everything 🙂
    Love those pictures with the mossy trees and the
    gorgeous sunsets 🙂
    In summer I prefer the sun in the evening – but in
    winter I would love to have it all day long 😀

    Have a great time!
    Tinna ✐

    PS: My photos are hidden under the drawing 😉

  9. Angeline M says:

    Getting away is always good, and reconnecting with nature makes it all the better. Beautiful photos!

  10. Beautiful photos, Otto. Thanks for the views from one of my all time favorite places. 🙂

  11. My Heartsong says:

    Like the perspective of the small figures in the large space in the sunset shots and the paler tints which are so pretty.. Those trees are amazing!Love the green-it FEELS wet!

  12. Dalo 2013 says:

    My envy of you right now is high ~ what a great set of photos, in what many consider to be one of the most magical places on Earth. Wonderful and enjoy ~

  13. You too? Enjoy the getaway. I have to say, all of these are spectacular. I especially like the first one. Dream-filled.

  14. That part of our West Coast is an apt location to appreciate slowing down and enjoying your family and nature. My favorite of your set is the individual walking the shoreline, which is almost monochromatic, giving it another layer of calm and peace.

  15. Louis says:

    These pictures are very different from those I normally associate with your day job! They convey a wonderful sense space, quiet and freedom from the demands of routine. I’m sure the experience is most therapeutic. You should do it more often Otto!!

  16. sheketechad says:

    An excellent showcase of one of our most beautiful treasures, the PNW. Excellent use of perspective and tonal qualities in that third shot! Looks like relaxing agreed with y’all 🙂

  17. Great shots, Otto!

  18. Andrew says:

    A really wonderful series of nature images, Otto.The two forest scenes have lovely greens, and the others have such an expansive look to them.

  19. shoreacres says:

    I’ve never been to the Pacific Northwest, but I always enjoy seeing photographs of the area. I especially like the way you’ve arranged your set: bracketing the middle photo of the lone individual with two photos of trees, and two of sun and water. It seems to convey a sense of nature embracing the people who’ve come to enjoy her gifts. Very nice.

  20. walker says:

    The pics are spectacular and I guess you’ve had a gorgeous break ;). Great!
    Take care,

  21. Ptck says:

    Beautiful trees in these forests

  22. Chillbrook says:

    fabulous images Otto and your sentiments on the weather are spot on!

  23. YellowCable says:

    Beautiful pictures..definitely breaking from the routine to meet the nature’s treasures like these would help. I just had one break from a normal grind this week. I am still feeling the effect and things around you look beautifully different. I hope it lasts.

  24. themofman says:

    Gorgeous shots. Spectacular boiling sunset.

    I want, so badly, to get down to the southern US to photograph cypresses or oaks with Spanish moss hanging from them. I know that it’s been done before but I want to do it my way.

  25. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a wonderful place to be, Otto.
    So glad that you enjoyed your time away.

  26. Ashwin Jr says:

    Well Sir, I just wish I had words for your artistry. Its just beyond all I know. You are an absolute charmer and I can very well understand the meticulous commitment that should go behind such a remarkable array of talent summed up in all these moments of precision that your lenses have brought to life. All those long hours waiting tirelessly and reckless wandering in the countryside, seaside, forests, streets, swamps and what not very well justifies the grandeur of your proud collection.

    GET ME AT:
    http://www.theheartvoice.wordpress.com

  27. All so wonderful Otto and it is so important to take those all important breaks to recharge the emotional and physical batteries.

  28. Debra says:

    You captured the beauty of the Pacific Northwest so perfectly, Otto. I just love those trees! Well, I love the sky and the ocean as well. Just beautiful. You chose a perfect place to visit accompanied by your camera! 🙂

  29. Who indeed? You’re in my favorite stomping grounds here, and I really like how you captured them. I’m relieved to hear there is still fog and rain out there…I’ve heard worrying weather stories of record heat and less fog that could really unravel the ecosystem.

    • Unfortunately I think the ecosystem has been destabilized in later years. Hopefully it will not be to late to make important changes. Thank you for the nice words of my take on your stomping ground.

  30. Patrizia M. says:

    Foto fantastiche che racchiudono tutta le bellezza del luogo dove hai trascorso le tue giornate in piena libertà.
    Ciao, Pat

Leave a Reply

