This Week’s Instagram

Munchow_1698-050_E4

Once a week I will show one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. The pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to This Week’s Instagram

  1. I like it very much, it’s got a very nice structure.
    I’m just not quite sure what I’m looking at 😀
    Are these two statues?

    Have a great day
    Tinna ✐

  2. Sue says:

    Intriguing…a statue and it’s shadow?

  3. Ptck says:

    A creation very imaged! the photo disappears into another dimension reading

  4. Patrizia M. says:

    Molto affascinante, l’ombra sembra ridare vita alla staticità della persona-statua.
    Ciao, Pat

  5. lauramacky says:

    Random thoughts but it’s what popped in my head. “We” are more than just our shells….the inner self waits to be discovered and seen without fanfare, but just mere appreciation.

  6. shoreacres says:

    I wish I could pinpoint what it is about this photo that makes it vaguely disturbing for me. I think it’s a combination of things: the colors, the roughness of the statue, the discrepancies between the statue and its shadow. It calls to mind “official art” from certain times and places: the 1950s Soviet Union, for example. And, it calls to mind what is so true about so many officials, world-wide: that discrepancy between their public face and their private intentions.

    Actually, it brought to mind Nikolai Bulganin. Good grief. That’s a name I never expected to be thinking of today!

  7. YellowCable says:

    I like the “red” as the main color tone of the picture and the curvy bright spots on the statue and the around the shadow. Those are the effects that make the picture standout!

  8. ninagrandiose says:

    For me, there’s something mysterious here and also there’s a sense of foreboding as if something disturbing is about to happen, like in the movies.

  9. Modern Easter Island. 🙂

  10. My Heartsong says:

    Interesting…in some ways the shadow has more definition than the figure, makes me look a bit deeper.

  11. paula graham says:

    Just shows you what a ‘real’ artist can do with any medium. Most intrigueing

  12. I betcha that this one, in punchy, contrasty black-and-white (oops: monochrome, sorry!) would make for one mean print. Very, very interesting.

  13. It’s an intriguing photo, Otto. But it gives me a sense of foreboding and I’m not sure why. Perhaps I’ve seen too many old movies! 🙂

  14. Almost two entities, instead of shadow. Unless, the shadow is what I bring to two elements:) Interesting both ways.

  15. Your images are really making me think about using Instagram and the filters offered. I have an account but have rarely used it.

  16. This picture reminded me of the carvings on Easter Island.

  17. Looks very sci-fi. Cool effects.

  18. Gertie says:

    Hmm, är det något jag vill tillägga?…tror inte det och bilden behöver definitivt inga tillägg.
    Den berör mig djupt, den plockar fram minnen och känslor, den är 100%…bland det bästa du har visat!
    Instagram eller systemkamerabild…ja, du vet vad jag anser beträffande “sociala medier” och det kan vi lämna därhän:)
    Denna bild tar mig med storm och hur och med vilket verktyg den är tillkommen…det kvittar…jag bevarar den nära hjärtat…tusen tack!

  19. I like this one very much. It is so intriguing.

Leave a Reply

