This Week’s Instagram

Landlig idyll ved Oldenvatnet

Once a week I will show one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. The pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to This Week’s Instagram

  1. paula graham says:

    How very romantic! You just have to like it.

  2. A setting for a fairy story.

  3. RuneE says:

    K.Knudsen hvis han hadde hatt farger (eller fått bildene sine håndkolorert)

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Beautiful Otto!

  5. it’s beautiful!
    looks like a painting!

  6. Kari Anne says:

    Absolutely lovely Otto.

  7. LensScaper says:

    I saw this on Instagram earlier and liked it, but it’s so much better to see it ‘large’. Which App have you used to achieve this effect, Otto? It gives the image a timeless feel and adds to the atmosphere.

  8. monica amberger says:

    Superläckert och mycket inspirerande.
    M

  9. Vicki says:

    I know the house style is different, but there’s almost a hint of a chinese watercolour landscape about the photo composition style.
    Lovely scene.

  10. I just love the scene itself and how you made
    it vintage looking. Could be from your grandfather 🙂

    Have a great day
    Tinna ✐

  11. schuttzie says:

    Oh, yes, I agree with Vicki’s comment above! It does look like a Chinese watercolor….something you’d love to hang on your wall. Really nice, Otto!

  12. loisajay says:

    Scary, futuristic, haunting…..what a great photo, Otto.

  13. shoreacres says:

    It’s a remarkable juxtaposition. On the one hand, the buildings look as though they might have come straight from any American or European farmstead, while the landscape to the left recalls the work of Sesshu Toyo. Perhaps it’s the ink-and-wash effect that does it. You’ve certainly created a memorable image!

  14. Otto, your capture and processing remind me of a vintage image found on early postcards. It has a nostalgic feel in our world of where street photography abounds.

  15. Dan Traun says:

    Very nicely done.

  16. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful! What filter did you use? Love the grainy effect!

  17. Idyllically romantic! Where it’s this, otto?

  18. Sue says:

    Love it!! Truly atmospheric, with more than a touch of mystery….who lived there, what lives did they lead…..past tense because it has a very Vintage feel about it. I gather you used 3 apps to create it – I need to look at exploring creativity like this 🙂

  19. Looks like a pic from 150 years ago love it 🙂

  20. This is lovely – it could be straight out of grandmother’s photo album!

  21. A really stunning image that stirs the imagination. 🙂

  22. John says:

    Excellent Insty!!

  23. shelbydacy says:

    What is your instagram name?

  24. Ptck says:

    A heavy heavy atmosphere of this place !! but a well-aged picture

  25. Beautiful! It feels like a fairy tale houses in the middle of nowhere 🙂

  26. Something between a fairy tale and lord of the rings 🙂 I love the picture!

  27. Patrizia M. says:

    Beautiful, it looks back in time, almost a painting or even better   a world of fairy tales !!
    Ciao, Pat

  28. What a wonderful, olden time effect.

  29. My Heartsong says:

    I love how you can choose how to frame these, or at least i think there’s an app for that. Interesting “aged” feel to this.The house is very sharp, really stands out.

  30. YellowCable says:

    Very nice choice of texture for blending into the background especially near the mountain.

  31. Looks so much like a painting.. love it!

  32. Elaine- says:

    it must be wonderful to live in an old country that tells such lovely tales when we look in her direction

  33. This is like something out of a fairytale – magical!

  34. I agree that it looks more like a painting to me than a photograph. It is lovely.

  35. It’s absolutely beautiful. Looks like a postcard.

  36. Aquileana says:

    Excellent dear Otto!. Happy weekend… 🙂
    All the best to you!, Aquileana 😀

  37. Beautiful! It reminds me of an Asian painting.

  38. Paula says:

    I wonder where it was taken, though it could be anywhere… Somewhere in the Alps? This processing gives picture a nostalgic look. I have never used Instagram, but I can see that the results are really astonishing.

  39. Susan says:

    I love the vintage look of this…like finding an old postcard from long ago!

  40. Great use of a few apps, very creative indeed Otto!

  41. For me, Otto, this foto shows on the one side an idyllic surrounding into which the houses have been built and on the other side the danger of a sliding mountain.It shows all the ambivalence of life and it’s beautiful. Many thanks and a good day. Very best regards Martina

  42. how real can such a click be…I wonder! Well I am not into instagramming as yet so don’t quite know much abt what ‘it does’ to pictures that one clicks! been here after a long time. will have to check on all that I have missed out on. Hope you are doing well Otto! Regards!

  43. You sure did capture a sense of place~I want to be there!

  44. anitaozolins says:

    I like this very much! Great job! I might try and add an Instagram photo to my blog feed too. I love Instagram 🙂

  45. Su Leslie says:

    Wonderful, romantic treatment of the image. It feels like an illustration for a nineteenth century novel. 🙂

  46. themofman says:

    The hillside reminds me of old Chinese ink paintings that I’ve seen of the Songshan Mountains.

Leave a Reply

