This Week’s Instagram

Munchow_1700-021_E2

Once a week I will show one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. The pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to This Week’s Instagram

  1. shoreacres says:

    One of my favorite little pastimes is adding captions or titles to pieces I see online. They’re not always rational, but they’re a good first indicator of my response. This one? For me, it’s “The Receptive Woods.” And it’s a wonderful, evocative photo.

  2. A compelling and mysteriously engaging image…

  3. schuttzie says:

    Absolutely beautiful! It seems like the spirit essence of a person walking amidst nature and trying to not leave an imprint. Really thought provoking for me, Otto~

  4. Allison says:

    Gorgeous. I look forward to more of these – great idea! 🙂

  5. anitaozolins says:

    Love this image! And I love Instagram too! Check me out on Instagram @Ozolins813 Your image looks like a ghost which is just incredible. Thanks!! 🙂

  6. Patrizia M. says:

    Help, you’ve photographed a ghost 🙂
    Ciao, Pat

  7. paula graham says:

    Not sure what instagram is…ha, ha..but I like the photo a lot: firstly for the techniques behind the shot and for the meaning one cares to put into it. For me it could be somebody you are thinking about at that moment..suddenly personified be it not in a very substantial presence.

  8. Roland Theys says:

    Hello, ghosting, a great achievement!

  9. ninagrandiose says:

    Lovely capture….Treading Lightly is how I see it.

  10. Sue says:

    Ah, I have recently been trying to capture ghosts….. Neatly done

  11. I love this. I’ve often thought I’d like to suggest in my paintings is how people can be present in a landscape without ruining it. To me, this image suggests this. Or he’s a ghost…

  12. rangewriter says:

    Endangered. That’s what comes to my mind. And then I ponder, how the heck did he do that? 😉

    • A good interpretation, Linda. As for the technique, it’s actually quite simple. I just used a long shutter speed so that any movements, like from a passing person, would be rendered blurred. For this to work with sharp surroundings, it’s imperative to use a tripod, though.

  13. Angeline M says:

    Wonderful photo. I’m finding more and more great stuff on Instagram from some great photographers. I’m not sure how you achieved this image, but the intrigue is palpable.

  14. Lisa Gordon says:

    I absolutely love this one, Otto!

  15. YellowCable says:

    Mysterious and somewhat eerie. It looks like someone or unknown figure was trying to disappear into the wood.

  16. A great shot, Otto. It really draws me into the scene like I was walking right behind you.

  17. Elaine- says:

    very striking, like a ghost of the boy by the stream that walks during the day

  18. Suzanne says:

    I love this image.

  19. francine says:

    Hello, thank you for coming; it’s seems like a ghost, brrrr! have a nice day Francine

  20. Ohh Otto it looks like you’ve caught sight of a ghost there… mysterious! I do like it though!

  21. Aquileana says:

    Nice one dear Otto!.. You always post great shots. Have a wonderful weekend. Best to you. Aquileana ⭐

  22. Dina says:

    Nice work, Otto! I have to confessions to make. Number one, I was wondering how you did it. Now I have read the comments and I know more. Number two, I’m not sure how Instagram work. Like Twitter, only with pics (but then it would be Handy-Uploads, or not?)?
    Living abroad, I always look towards Norway, also on WordPress. There was a time when Visit Norway presented about 250 Instagrams daily and choked me and since then I have been neglecting the platform, but it’s never too late to change, is it … 😉
    God pinseferie!

    • I was really annoyed by Visit Norway’s over-kill of Instagrams here on wordpress. At least it’s not a problem any more. Instagram in many ways could be said to be photography’s equivalent to words’ Twitter, basically take a photo, upload it and whoever follows you will get the photo. I enjoy it very much. God pinseferie til dere og!

  23. Robin says:

    I love this image, Otto. You worked magic. 🙂

  24. The mysterious man from an empty forest…
    robert

  25. Ptck says:

    The leak, he hates the objective !! lol
    Beautiful realization in long break !! Good weekend otto

  26. I do enjoy the your take on an Instagram image. The work is still very much yours, but I am enjoying your unexpected tweaks.

  27. I’m new to photography and blogging.Im browsing though and your blog page is the first one to catch my eye. As I’m reading more and more, I’m completely enticed, not only by your photography, but by your receptiveness to other’s work as well and you willingness to give feedback. Very glad to have found your page.

  28. Great image – very atmospheric

Leave a Reply

