This Week’s Instagram

Breiflabben på Bryggen

Once a week I will show one of my photos captured and/or processed with Instagram over the last week. It’s a way for me to show photography that usually is quite different from my regular work. The pictures are displayed without any comments, hoping they will stand on their own. But I still very much appreciate any comments you may have.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to This Week’s Instagram

  1. oneowner says:

    I may have to look into opening an account! I like this.

  2. RuneE says:

    I have no experience with Instagram, but this photo stand very well on its own with the lines and pattern. . It makes me curious about what it is.

    • You probably know what it is. If I say the tree sculpture of a monkfish standing in the inner courtyard of Bryggen, Bergen?

      • RuneE says:

        In fact, I thought about that one, but didn’t recognize the background. I even have a photo of the artist (Alessandro Pavone) working on St. Sunniva sculpture nearby.

  3. I’ve thought about Instagram too. I like that you keep to one image per week. That’s a reasonable commitment. I also like that you give the image center stage without any comment to allow the viewer to immerse in your capture. What is the biggest advantage for you to be on Instagram? Thanks.

    • The biggest advantage is probably its inherent playfulness. It’s simply fun in a different and much easier way than my traditional approach to photography. And the result is always fun, too.

  4. An enigmatic photo…a pleasant experience…
    robert

  5. Vicki says:

    Interesting one.
    Looks like a covered object floating in mid-air (to me). I guess I don’t recognise the subject at all.

  6. ninagrandiose says:

    Not easy to identify but it does make for a fun photo…whatever it is… which I gather is a sculpture?

  7. A fish? No, surely it’s a giant frog? Or a gift-wrapped car? I love subjects that could tell a story!

  8. Amazing sculpture, Otto. it really could be anything one wished it to be. 🙂

  9. hah I had it down as a frog too til I read the comments, cool IG.

  10. Patrizia M. says:

    Che foto strana, mi fa pensare ad un mostricciattolo arrabbiato 🙂

  11. rangewriter says:

    I, too, thought it was a frog sculpture. Fun.

  12. YellowCable says:

    Very nice perspective shot of the object; rendering choice with the strong contrast nails it!

  13. Elaine- says:

    that looks like a sea monster that has lurched into the perimeter of the city and is looking for homeless people to eat…. just sayin’ 🙂

  14. Sue says:

    Curious! But I can see that it’s fun…

  15. alfedgar says:

    I see you´ve been to Bergen. “Vått og kaldt og breiflabb over alt”. 🙂


    Alf

  16. Very cool. It would be interesting to see a more prosaic shot of the sculpture to compare how you chose to view it, but your shot stands alone.

  17. Susan says:

    Looks like a grumpy fish to me! 🙂 Amazing how you work your magic with a phone as well…love the texture and detail!

  18. ~meredith says:

    How fun.
    Greetings to you, and cheer.
    Meredith

  19. Great photo, Otto. I wouldn’t have guessed a fish! I’ve never been on Instagram although I’ve thought about checking it out. 🙂

  20. My first thought was fabric. Then maybe a rock sculpture. Then even some multimedia deal with what appeared to be text lettering in the foreground. Definitely a conversation piece.

  21. What a fun shot. I saw a fish. I saw a frog facing away. I saw…. 😉

  22. shoreacres says:

    Oh, my. I see the fish now, and yes, it’s clearly a monk fish. But at first glance, I was certain it was a shelter constructed by an urban homeless person. The fish is ever so much better. Best of all? I’m past my first cataract surgery, and have a fresh new lens for near vision in one eye. As wonderful as your photos have been in the past, they’re even more enjoyable now!

  23. I recently prepared a monkfish, which was hard work, but this fish, Otto, this mouth I just couldn’ t manage to undo! I good time with Instagram !🐡

  24. I see that others also saw it as a frog! Once I saw the frog I had trouble seeing the monk fish, but do now. I think that you find such interesting ways to share your love of photography and you get more out of Instagram than most,. Instagram is a fun way to share with others, too. 🙂

  25. thirdeyemom says:

    Fantastic! I love Instagram but always forget to use it or try it. I have some posts but it isn’t well developed. What is your Instagram name? If I am not following you, I will subscribe!

  26. Who needs commentary when you have such captivating images, ones that make you stop and really look as they are always so good.

Leave a Reply

