A Dog’s Life

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

© Meg Greene Malvasi

For her personal photo project during the eWorkshop «Finding Your Photographic Voice» Meg Greene Malvasi decided to go ahead and do a photographic study on the dog Hubble. As she wrote in the description of the project, Hubble has been a hard dog to break through to as he suffers from PTSD, after clearly having been abused in his early life. Meg found Hubble in a ditch a little over two years ago. He was obviously ready to give up and die. Interestingly enough Meg photographing Hubble has helped him with his confidence. Meg decided to approach the project for the workshop along two paths. One was more of a documentary approach while the other was a more formal studio set-up kind of photography. The two approaches award the viewer more depth and more layers in understanding Hubble and in revealing his complex character. We see his playful character but also his innate shyness. We see him drawn between wanting to burst out of his shell and wanting to withdraw from the danger of the world surrounding him. Meg’s use of different styles and approaches show the many faces of Hubble. She captures his personality with a gentle expression and with absolute respect. Her decision to go with of black and white for the documentary photos and colour for the set-ups adds dimensions to the portrayal of Hubble. Meg uses framing and various techniques to tell the story of Hubble – and she does so beautifully, purposefully, playfully and gracefully. For more of Meg’s photography, please look up her blog Little Dogs Laughed.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photo Workshop, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to A Dog’s Life

  1. Wonderful collection of images to go with a touching story. Well done!

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m not even a “dog person” (as they say) and I find these images, and this pup, so appealing. They make me want to give him a bone, or take him for a walk.

    Now, I need to visit Meg’s blog to see if her blog title is rooted where I think it is: in one of my childhood favorites. “Hey, diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle, the cow jumped over the moon. The little dog laughed to see such sport, and the dish ran away with the spoon.”

  3. Mary says:

    I love those. I have been on her blog before, and enjoyed her photos.

  4. YellowCable says:

    Very very nice works of Meg. I love her composition and choices of color to bring the life to the pictures. She has achieved her goal of documentary as well as artistic representation. Hubble isn’t a dog to me.

  5. I know Meg’s work and have always enjoyed the humor and pathos of it. Her love and sensitivity toward her animals comes through her work.

  6. schuttzie says:

    What fantastic photos and a beautiful story/documentary~ Thank you, so much for sharing Meg’s work!

  7. loisajay says:

    This absolutely warms my heart. Such beautiful photos of this sweet baby.

  8. Angeline M says:

    Wonderful series. I especially like the last photo, black and white in the bathtub…perfect!

  9. Lovely photo gallery, and a heartwarming story too. 🙂

  10. paula graham says:

    Oh, very good. Well done Meg.

  11. in the first image, his posture suggests that he’s on his best behavior and is a little teased about the attention. the final one suggests that if he sits really still, there’s a doggy treat waiting. great portraits of trust!

  12. Dalo 2013 says:

    These are just awesome ~ the spirit of our canine friends are perfectly evident in these photos. They bring a smile to my face, very well done.

  13. themofman says:

    A fantastic and extremely emotive portrait series. I miss my old dog, Kootenay.

  14. I love these revealing photos of Hubble and his shy but frisky personality. How wonderful. 🙂

  15. Elaine- says:

    this is just what i needed today, i have severe PTSD too, and ironically it’s my dog that has kept me around so long…. this makes me want to cry, and hug Hubble

  16. My Heartsong says:

    I admire the subtle lighting and the characterof the dog.Very impressive.

  17. Photographing what you love makes for great shots, I especially like the tulip photo.

  18. Meg and Hubble are fortunate to have found each other. The images definitely tell the story. Separating the documentary from the set-up by using black & white versus colour was a brilliant choice and adds much to the voice of the images.

  19. Have been following Meg’s work since quite some time. And I love what I see on her blog. For me the most fascinating aspect is how she translates the amazing bond she shares with Jack Henry, Hubble and Ana into her photographs and how the trio seems to be more than willing to participate in her photographic process. Thank you Otto for sharing Meg’s work here. 🙂

  20. Meg has produced a fabulous portrait collection of Hubble – nice to see a happy ending 😉

  21. Ptck says:

    A nice manner to translate dog’s life !! which seems very pleasant to me – Extra this topic, a lot of humor

  22. rangewriter says:

    These are great! Kudos to Meg for bringing Hubble into her heart and her life. I love this photo essay. I find it interesting that all but one image are black & white. But oh, that one colorful image is such a great cover shot! I think you really described very well the personality that Meg coaxed from Hubble in this series.

  23. Be still my pooch-lovin’ heart. That first shot kills me. Fascinating project.

  24. seabluelee says:

    These are absolutely wonderful, and they do indeed tell a story. I love the first one – it’s such a tender image. And the last one, with that wonderful expression on Hubble’s face, made my laugh out loud. Thank you for sharing these, Otto.

  25. The story of how Meg helped Hubble is so sweet. My respect to Meg. I really like her photography as well – a wonderful collaboration art of a pet with his human 🙂 Thank you for sharing her work, I will follow her blog for sure!

  26. Wonderful portraits of Hubble. They are truly portraits and not just photos of a dog.

  27. I just love these photos! What a fantastic subject–Hubble! The backstory on this special dog really endears him to me, and as well, Meg has a good heart to take in such a needy rescue. Her sensitivity comes through in the way the shots are framed. This is a wonderful photo compilation! I really love each photo, but Hubble in the bathtub is a winner! 🙂

  28. Patrizia M. says:

    Molto bella questa serie di foto, amo molto le fotografie di animali e Meg è stata veramente bravissima. Complimenti a Meg e grazie per avercela fatta conoscere!
    Pat

  29. They always love. Nice.

  30. What absolutely fantastic photos! I so love the one of his snout! Wonderful that she rescued him!

Leave a Reply

