The Stillness of Mother Nature

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

© Ingunn Nesset

This week I have started a new round of my eight weeks long eWorkshop «Finding Your Photographic Voice». I expect the participants to be out shooting their first lesson right around these times. By the end of the weekend – or so I hope, they will submit their first photos for my picture reviewing, and I surely look forward to see what they have been able to achieve.

What is more appropriate then, than to start showing the work of the participants of the previous eWorkshop? Over the next couple of weeks, I will display images from each of their personal photo projects that conclude the eWorkshop. First out is Ingunn Nesset. Her project was about the natural environment surrounding the place she is living. This forest and hilly landscape is the place she seeks out to find peace, tranquillity and to discharge from an otherwise hectic everyday life. In her images, we can feel her attraction to the lovely landscape and how she indeed feels at peace and fully set free when she immerses herself into Mother Nature. There is a low spoken and gentle quality to her photos, even when she captures fast runners passing by with their dogs. What I really loved about her project is how Ingunn used various techniques and styles to capture the essence of her retreat, be it long exposure time, shallow depth of field, close-ups or distant views, traditional framing or panoramic format – and still made it feel like a coherent body of work. The resulting little photo essay is warm, serene, soft and very personal.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Workshop, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to The Stillness of Mother Nature

  1. Candace says:

    Yes, her work seems very diverse. I especially like the first one and the raindrop one.

  2. For some strange reason the last shot is the one I prefer…It looks like liquid paint and photo mixed together. Beautiful work, Thank you for sharing this with us Otto

  3. YellowCable says:

    I like your summary of her works. They are cohesive and yet give different flavor from each one of them. Excellent works!

  4. G.L. Jackson says:

    Oh, oh, I love that second photo, with the focus off-centered. It looks like the lower signpost is jumping out of the picture at me.

  5. Angeline M says:

    I think the first photo is my favorite. The tree roots, the bench and bottom half of the trees look like a painting, but the lake behind looks like a photograph. Wonderful work.

  6. I can understand why she would find peace and tranquility in this place – it’s beautiful and she captured it really well.

  7. Elaine- says:

    I think he pictures have soooo much joy and freedom in them, makes me want to go outside and hug a tree, but it’s midnight

  8. Wish I could participate in this too. But I wish all those who do,
    a lot of fun and lots to learn 🙂
    My favourite is the second one, I like that it’s done in a “strange”
    way, I’ll try to copy that some times 😀
    And I also like that she captured the movement of the leafs,
    this picture is living. And I always like dew or rain drops on
    spider webs 🙂
    Have a fine day
    【ツ】Knipsa

  9. I enjoyed all of these, especially the signpost one.

  10. giselzitrone says:

    Liebe Grüße und einen schönen Samstag schöner Beitrag lieber Gruß und ein gutes Wochenende Gruß Gislinde

  11. lumar1298 says:

    I really like all them… There’s something special in each one…

  12. Pat says:

    i love the nature series -Beautiful movements effects

  13. themofman says:

    It’s a trip, an ongoing hike. She hasn’t just said that this is where she’s been or where she enjoys going she’s using photography to actively taking us on the journey; the adventure.

  14. suej says:

    Nature captured very sympathetically…

  15. Thanks for the introduction to her work.

  16. Andrew says:

    A lovely series. All the best with the workshop!

  17. Heather Cai says:

    I really love the tree roots spreading and stretching to any direction they like – so full of life and that life so strong and powerful. You have great eyes on looking something great! 🙂

  18. She seems to take on the space is photographing. You can feel her presence in her images.

  19. Dalo 2013 says:

    Beautiful series ~ a great sense of nature and the outdoors, the lighting and colors.

  20. Nice work and subject. Fine bilder!

  21. She has a personal vision and is able to share that with us. It will be interesting to see the evolution in her work.
    robert

  22. I particularly love the movement in the last one. Verra nice.

  23. Roland Theys says:

    Very diverse photo.

  24. Phillip says:

    Interesting and diverse. My favorite image is the second one. I just love the composition of the sign and the couple walking in the background. She gave a lot of thought about this shot and it shows.

  25. joshi daniel says:

    fresh and she has captured the mood of the place well 🙂

  26. I am really impressed by the way Ingunn captures movement in these photos. They are really compelling. She really has an interesting perspective and I enjoyed her work!

  27. I love the quality of Ingunn’s photos and the stories they tell. The light, the colors, the blurriness of action bring me right into the scene, making me feel like I am seeing exactly what she is seeing. Great job.

  28. Laurie says:

    Her photography is beautiful. I especially love the last one, it has a feel of life and warmth to it..

  29. Ingunn says:

    I am so sorry, I did not catch Otto bringing my photos to the world – thank you Otto! You are certainly a great teacher.
    Thanks so much to all of you for your beautiful comments on my pictures.
    I really appreciate!
    What I can say is that all comes from my heart – I am passionate when I use my camera. I think that is the most important when making photos. Besides it is basic to take your time needed. To look, to breath, to feel…

    With love,
    Ingunn

Leave a Reply

