Pursuing Passion

Munchow_1678-0297_E

«I would have loved to travel the way you do!» The statement came from a friend I met at the airport the other day. I had just returned from two weeks in Ethiopia – a trip from which you have been able to read daily posts on this blog as well as on Untold Stories, the blog I do together with my friend and colleague Øystein (and from which this photo was captured). Moreover, I was about to take off to go to Park City, Utah, USA, to cover Sundance Film Festival – and go skiing. My friend’s statement was an expression of both envy and awe.

It’s not the first time it happens. Many a time friends, acquaintances or random encounters pass on the sentiment. They think I am lucky, that I am fortunate to be able to travel the world. Usually statements like this make me both uncomfortable and annoyed. Yes, compared to the refugees in the camps of Ethiopia I have just visited; no doubt, I am extremely lucky. However, not the way they conceive of luck, those who usually express the sentiment. Mostly when I encounter statements of this kind I just smile and shrug my shoulder. Let it go. However, this time, inspired by the book The Element by Ken Robinson I have just read, I decided to speak my thoughts.

«No, you wouldn’t,» I told my friend. «You just love the idea. If you’d really loved to travel like I do, you would already be doing it.»

My friend got offended and curt. He was about to tell me all the reasons why he wouldn’t be able. And that, of course, was my point. I cut him short, and told him that he would never commit himself to the necessary sacrifices to be able to travel like me. «Would you give up your 150.000 dollars a year income? Would you leave your love ones behind for maybe 200 days a year? Would you love to sleep in a shed with no shower, no toilet, where the smell of sewer drapes like fog in the room? Would you be able to enjoy eating meagre rice porridge as the only food a whole day? Would you be willing to encounter poverty and distress almost physically as I do when I travel to places like Ethiopia?»

Of course not. No doubt, my friend loves to travel. And does so. However, he goes with his family on holidays to nice hotels in places where he will always be able to eat and drink well. That’s not the way I travel – most of the time. I love the simple and real life I seek out – and certainly wouldn’t be able to sustain myself on four or five star hotels or eat in luxury restaurants, but occasionally.

I don’t feel I am lucky to be able to travel the way I do. I have fought for it, I have carved it out for myself, I have been willing to sacrifice a steady income, I have never had any security. It’s not been the easy way. It’s been a fight – still is. But it’s the way I want it to be.

What I feel lucky about, is that I discerned my passion for photography, journalism and travel and had the guts to pursue it despite everybody saying it was a crazy and uncertain quest. Yes, it was, but I had the nerve and stubbornness – or maybe just the naivety – to go for my passion. In the before mentioned book, The Element, Ken Robinson writes about exactly this; pursuing one’s passion. Robinson’s point is that there is a powerful driving force inside every human being that, once unleashed, can make any vision, any dream, a reality. That is The Element. Robinson uses it as a term that describes the place where things we love to do and the things we are good at come together. According to him, The Element has two main features, and there are two conditions for being in it. The features are aptitude and passion. The conditions are attitude and opportunity. Or as he writes: I get it; I love it; I want it; Where is it? .

The thing is we all have something we are good at in us. We just need to find it in ourselves somehow. All those dreams and creative impulses we once had as children, are slowly by slowly removed by the society when we grow up. The conformity of the education system and the professional marketplace, doesn’t encourage us to find our own way. Nevertheless, somewhere deep inside us lives the dreams. When this aptitude is paired with passion, you have found your Element. Then you have to be willing to fight for your dream – and seek opportunities as they arise.

My friend I met at the airport and I got befriended at university when we both studied natural science. He pursued an academic career and a very successful one as such. As for myself, natural science was always easy for me. Without much work, I would understand physical equations, chemical laws or mathematical calculus. As a matter of fact I floated easily through my studies, still getting good grades. I could easily have become a professor in physics or mathematics – and having had a successful career as my friend. But the passion was lacking. When I realized it, I turned around and started to pursue my passions. And on that way it has been ever since, never looking back again.

I would love to hear about your dreams. How do you pursue them? And if not; what would it take for you to pursue them?

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Challenging Yourself, Photographic Reflections, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

114 Responses to Pursuing Passion

  1. Mary says:

    Amen!!! This is so us. We talk all the time about how people are “brought up” to think they need a 9-5 job, a mortgage, and a new car every year. We “jumped off the treadmill” to travel and live the life we do. We too get told how lucky we are, and people wish they could live the way we do. It all seems so fun and wonderful, and it is. But we also work for what we have, and money never comes easy when you are self employed. But, we would never trade this life in for a regular job and a house with a foundation. You just have to have a passion for the life you want, and find a way to make it work.

  2. Writing was a dream of mine. It didn’t become real until I decided to make it a priority and DO IT. It’s the reason I started my blog. I sacrifice sleep as I already have a full time job. I risk exposure and judgment every time I post, but every minute of lost sleep and every written word has been absolutely worth it. I may seem a little bold, but now I actually tell me I write. More risks and more writing to come :-).

  3. shoreacres says:

    If you have the time and inclination, you can read my story here. If not, I’ll offer this snipped from the post — a part of the epilogue to Sir Francis Chichester’s “Gipsy Moth Circles the World”: These are the words that set me off on my own journeys.

    “For 99.9% of humanity, dreams remain locked up in the secret compartments of the soul. Not for Chichester. For him, to dream is to determine, and to determine, to achieve. People will say, ‘Oh, yes, but he has been lucky. He has made money, he has found rich backers. He does not have to travel daily on the 8:15.’ But surely this is part of the achievement. No one HAS to travel daily on the 8:15.”

    That is the truth. It’s a shame so few believe it.

  4. YellowCable says:

    A very nice post! Thank you for sharing how you pursuing your passion..

  5. themofman says:

    Most people don’t really understand what it is to be an artist who deliberately, not accidentally out making bad choices, but purposely take himself or herself the just about the brink of hell in order to get their craft or whatever aspect of it right. Most people view the life of an artist as either purely luxurious or stupidly poverty stricken. Even most artists today are unwilling to make such sacrifices, as you put it, just once in their lifetimes never mind repeatedly.

    I have. I’m neither a starving artist or a lucky artist. I’m a dedicated, passionate, practical minded, risk taking artist. Although I don’t regret doing what I’ve done, especially after the fact that I survived it, I will say that it’s not easy and it’s definitely not for anyone. Unfortunately, I can’t convince others to keep their stupid assumptions about it to themselves.

    • Yes, I used the word sacrifices. But in a way, it’s not – it’s just who I am. But you are very right, it’s not accidentally nor lucky that we are where we are today. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Allan.

  6. I also think you are lucky but you chose this path as life is choice. This exchange has brought you adventure and satisfaction. Too bad you had to defend that. I love to travel as well and I love my hotels but there are many times I wish I knew how to travel to assist or aid or just GIVE and yes for this I would sacrifice creature comforts for the satisfaction of helping another human. After 58 years I am wise enough to look for happiness in new directions and wish I had done so 30 years ago. Happy travels.

  7. Helen C says:

    Hello, Otto, when did you find out your passion and dream? Is it possible some people don’t have a dream? Before elementary school, I was too young to have a dream. Then I was under a lot of pressure (from parents and teachers) to study hard so I could pass the exam and get into a good junior high school. After junior high, there was an exam for high school. After high school, there was an exam for college. After that, it seemed like I had past the dreaming time… Still have goals though. Helen

  8. There is always another side to something, as you pointed out to your friend. My dad used to say he wished he’d done this or that. I’d tell him to do it, and he would tell me it was too late. So I vowed to never believe it was never too late to start anything. My passions include writing and photography, but neither to the extent that I would sacrifice family time. I turned to real estate for practical reasons, but I’ve been surprised at how it has satisfied so many interests and passions I’ve had since childhood, and still allows me time to pursue photography and writing as hobbies. No, it’s never too late! I’m going to find that book and read it. Thanks, Otto!

    • I think you are proving the point. I am glad you found your vocation – even if it turned out to be something different than your first passion. Thanks for sharing your experience, Barbara.

  9. One friend in Costa Rica often says to me, ‘You are the most free person I know, and many times I envy you.” I usually chuckle to myself, as he probably spends in a month what I spend in a year, though his many assets tend to own him.

    I am lucky that I’ve lived that other life of plenty, and I definitely am much happier following my own voice and not what others would like for me to do. My biggest struggle was breaking away from a support system of conservative loved ones who might never understand the wanderlust of a free spirit. “If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you and make allowance for their doubting too..” (Kipling) — That was the crystallizing moment for me when I awakened in the night during a rainstorm with that line of clarity in my mind….

    You’re a good man, Otto, in the way that you find the human spirit in the salt-of-the earth people you photograph. You transport us to those locations and help us to see the good and to have empathy for those who have little. And after you’ve waded through your thousands of images, what do you do in your spare time? You mentor us!

    Thank you for all that you do, and for reaching down and sharing delicate glimpses into the man behind the camera and blog. Z

  10. iamwanderful says:

    totally agree with you! we choose how we want to live our life. keep inspiring!

  11. Geri says:

    Great post, Otto! It is what many people think but you put it in words very well. I have nothing to add. Totally agree with you 🙂

  12. trablog says:

    This is really inspiring to follow my dreams. I am now at a point where I am confused between my passion and others expectations. I know I sounded like the man you met at the airport. But I am going to do something about it and almost everything is ready. It is a leap of faith, don’t know how it will turn out to be. Again thank you for giving me the courage by sharing this 🙂

  13. treesshrubs says:

    A great post otto! I totally understand how you feel when people say “you’re so
    lucky”. Its not about luck ….it is about passion and choices and clarity about ones path in life…and being open to the universe and its possibilities. : ))trees

  14. suej says:

    Well done, Otto….it is not about luck, as you say! It is a choice you have made, and you are well aware of sacrifices etc…but good on you for following your dream! I have never had the commitment, not brave enough – but I know that! And now I no longer have the health!

  15. tonyalatorre says:

    I stayed home with my four children when they were young. I wanted a career but I believed their development and my presence in it was more important than my needs. However when they got older and I was in my early forties, I was able to realize my passion. My husband and I adopted a baby girl from Uganda and then started a nonprofit to open an orphanage in Uganda. My love for understanding the deep insides of a culture and really helping the destitute on this earth is realized every day. I am able to enjoy my passion for photography and writing with my blog as a means for communicating the work we do for the children in our home. I couldn’t have scripted a better scenario for my life and never would have dreamed in the early years of diapers and play dates that this is what I’d be doing. I love it. And as you say, I sacrifice a lot to be able to do it. But it’s worth it and I never regret it.

  16. I found my passion in my mid-fifties when I started creating art, realised I had great writing skills which I’d underestimated, and found I was a good teacher too, love communicating to people and seeing their eyes light up. People thought we were brave and mad (equal parts, I think) when we upped sticks from Australia where we’d lived for 40 years and moved here to North Cyprus when I was nearly 65 and my husband 76. But it felt right. Here in North Cyprus I’ve really found my passion – digital art incorporating photography of nature. I used to think I hadn’t done much with my life until I realised everything I’d experienced created the me now. And decided I wouldn’t change my life at all. I am who I am, and interestingly I’ve returned to the me of my youth when I loved nature, would spend hours walking in the Kent countryside, and am happy to recognise also I’m quite an introvert. I think it is so important to pursue your passion and not get drowned in debts, mortgages and so on which can be a rock around your neck. I realise it’s important to have a roof over your head but so many people got into huge debt for status. I tell so many people to live their passion right now because you really have no idea when you’re going to pop your clogs or get sick or whatever – just do it NOW! The world would such a much happier place. Loved your post, really spoke to my heart.

    • You have an excellent point. Even if we start to pursue our dreams late in life, whatever we have done before has been part of what we have become today. I love you story about finding your creative passion in your mid-fifties. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  17. I very single-mindedly followed my passions when I was young. As I got older, I really wanted more stability and I took a better paying job with less passion. Older yet, I’m thinking about my passions again and trying to figure out how I can have it all. I suppose everyone’s life is some tangle of conflicting motivations like this. When we’re lucky, we get to experience the lives we were put on the planet to live. In the meantime, I like traveling through your eyes 🙂

    • Yes, there is always a conflict between living the dreams and having some sort of stability in our lives, isn’t there. I hope you will be able to find more outlets for your passions again. Thanks for the comment, Linda.

  18. I do have a passion, but it’s hard to pursue with a huge lack of money.
    Before I could give it a start, I would need some serious material – which I can’t afford.
    I wouldn’t mind making a “poor” living from it as long as I could do my thing.
    Maybe in my next life …
    So I’m glad you had all the chances you needed to follow your passion and I’m also glad you have a family that supports you doing it.
    And I didn’t look at your travelling as travelling only. Beeing in different parts of the world with very short time in between means going from one jetlag to the other. And talking and writing about the bad things in the world also means that you have to look at it and live right in it during that time. I centainly don’t envy you for this. But I’m thankful for the job you’re doing, otherwise we wouldn’t know so much about what’s happening around the world.
    Thank you!

    • I hope you may start on pursuing your dreams – at least to some extent – even without the necessary funding for all you would like to have of materials. Start small and get going… Otherwise thanks for the wonderful support, Knipsa.

  19. Totally with you Otto. I admire you to follow your dreams that lead you to life satisfaction and help others through your photography. Well done and thank you for sharing your amazing works!

  20. This is exactly what I admire about you – you are willing to pay the steep price to be a voice for the voiceless. I had to step back from traveling like this for a time to take care of my people at home, but I hope I will have the courage and opportunity to try again in the future. Thank you for making the sacrifice so that the rest of us can see those faces that matter so much, and “hear” their voices.

  21. mariagatling says:

    Beautiful post! I especially like the personal insight it gives your readers about you. My passions to create have continually been unfolding and evolving alongside raising 4 children. I love how it enriches my life in so many ways and so I pursue them in steps….taking opportunities as they come, with flexibility and an open mind. Thank you for your inspiration.

  22. mescalime says:

    A very nice post indeed! Congradulation for being brave enough to follow your dreams. We all have to do it, in order to live a fulfilling life.

  23. lighthouse75 says:

    Otto, it’s weird the way something like this comes in (usually from you or from photographer Robert Rodriguez) just when I need that jolt. I’m going to print this out and really think about it, then write you a comment. And I think I’ll get the book you mentioned.

  24. Helen C says:

    Otto, I know this post is not about your job, but about passion and dream, but I am more and more worry about journalists’ safety, so I like to ask: do you feel safe?

    • Yes, I do – if you think about safety during travel at least. I don’t go to wars and I think I am pretty streetwise, so I hardly ever feel threatened. If you talk about journalism as a profession, it’s all up in the air at the moment. Will it find a way to survive the new technological and economical era? I don’t know, but I keep pushing towards new areas and arenas that have opened with this new era.

  25. Patrizia M. says:

    Non credo proprio che il tuo modo di viaggiare sia quello che molti pensano dei viaggi. Il tuo è un lavoro. ma è soprattutto una grande passione e ti porta a vedere anche situazioni molto tragiche, difficili e non è da tutti riuscirci. Vai sicuramente anche incontro a dei pericoli, cosa che non tutti vogliono o riescono a fare. Unica cosa, stai sempre molto attento, si sentono troppe notizie brutte che coinvolgono i giornalisti. Un abbraccio, Patrizia

    • Il giornalismo è purtroppo spesso alla ricerca di caos e distruzione. Ma cerco ancora di trovare la fede e l’ispirazione anche nella sofferenza umana. Grazie mille per le gentili parole, Patrizia.

  26. Elaine- says:

    well, if i were to say ‘you are blessed to travel’ i would mean what you are saying ‘you are blessed to live your dreams’ for me, travel has never made sense lol i think, for what? different trees? i don’t get it…. what were my dreams? who can say? there’s two kinds of freedom, as margaret atwood once said ‘freedom to’ and ‘freedom from’…

    when i was young, my dream was to never be the NIGHTMARE that was my mother, i planned on a career, being the best, working in the tallest skyscraper…. i was always top of my class, whether physics or computer science, but i graduated with computer science and then DID work at the top of the sky scraper i swore i would when i was 5 years old….. it was a sick building, i got sick and have spent the next 20 years trying to get well.

    the chronically ill do not dream the same way as someone with ability… the disability makes us dream of stuff like ‘no more suffering’…. or ‘a pretty place to live and rest in’…. or a hobby that doesn’t hurt.

    but in the end, the dreams are the same for anyone, ‘i want to do something that causes me joy’… ‘i want to know God’s thoughts… the rest are details’

    • For me travel is about meeting people, learning about their lives, experiencing new cultures, broadening my views and just some restless satisfaction of being on the road. I understand that dreams are different and the chronically ill of course dream other dreams than as someone with ability. But the important thing is to dream – and try to pursue that dream in however form and shape it comes in, Thank you for sharing your story and experience, Elaine.

  27. Chillbrook says:

    An excellent post Otto. Your story is inspirational. We should always follow our dreams, find that thing that will fulfill us. That thing that we’re good at. It’s knowing what that thing is that can be so difficult. Our society programs us as you highlighted Otto and many people believe that carving out a career, making money, is their dream only to find themselves very disillusioned and unfulfilled in their forties and fifties. I found my thing when I became ill with MS and the irony is, the MS limits the extent to which I can pursue it. In my own county where I first found that spark, there are miles and miles of coastline that I won’t, as things stand now, be able to photograph. The cliff paths do not permint the use of even offroad mobility scooters. That’s not to say I’m about to let my disablity get in the way. I am pursuing new avenues, projects and areas of photography and have no doubt that now I’ve found what I’m good at, I will do all I can to overcome any limitations. That is what pursuing our dreams and passions is all about isn’t it? Overcoming difficulties, discomforts even pain because this is what we love to do.

    • I am glad if my post can be of inspiration. But your story is even more inspirational. Even with MS you can pursue your dreams. Obviously there will be limitations – as you point out. But overcoming limitations is part of what fulfills the dream – and makes the process so exciting, whether it’s a physical disability, a mental disability, shortage of money, a tight family situation or whatever. I thank you for sharing so openly and candidly your story, Adrian. As I said it’s very inspirational to read.

  28. Your story is one of self-respect and perseverance to find your own path. It’s what being human is. I’m delighted to be able to learn about your journey in the past and now, especially through the combination of your images and words.

  29. sixpixx says:

    A great post – and such inspiring responses from your readers. Thank you.

  30. You are lucky, Otto. You are lucky because you do realize what your passion is. You are lucky because you have figured out what it will take to live by your passion and you are willing to make the sacrifices it takes to make your passion your reality. Most of us are not willing to make sacrifices for anything. We are just willing to make excuses. I envy you your passion for what you do. That passion is what allows you to live a full life worthy of you. Without passion all we do is go through the motions.

  31. lauramacky says:

    I meant to comment on this earlier but I was on my phone and too hard to type what I wanted. First, your post made me cry silly as that seems. I felt your passion and your focus intensely here. I really admire that a lot. I used to do everything everyone else wanted me to but something happened in my life that made me pick up a camera and while I’m in my infancy with everything, I feel that passion for the first time in my life. And while the result may not be traveling the world, the passion nonetheless is just as great as a fire that burns inside me. I love it! It makes my life so much more complete. 🙂 Thank you for sharing all this Otto.

    • I am really glad you found your passion and are able to pursue it. Of course it’s not about travelling, this Element that Robinson talks about, comes in different shades an different forms for each person. The important thing is to find it – whatever it is – and then go for it. Thanks for sharing your story, Laura.

  32. I think it’s all about having the courage to make a commitment and stick to it. The life you’ve chosen for yourself is not for most, and of course there’s travelling for pleasure and vacation, and the kind you do, to see and experience the stark reality of the places you go to. I don’t envy your ‘hotel’ accommodation, but I so admire the way you have chased your dreams and caught them. Some folk never manage to do this.

  33. Gertie says:

    Long time no see…men nu är jag här igen och som vanligt blir jag upprymd av dina ord och bilder.
    Upprymd, fundersam och så ler jag igenkännande.
    Jag reser mycket, inte på långa vägar så mycket som du och dessutom har även jag (som din vän) vant mig vid ett mer bekvämt resande, än det jag hade i min ungdom. Inga stampade jordgolv längre:)
    Men, kommentaren från din vän är mycket intressant och därtill dina reflektioner om olika sätt att resa. Det är så lätt att tycka, att vara lite avundsjuk på andras liv, men ack så svårt att sätta sig in i andras sätt att leva…och resa. Det handlar i mångt och mycket lika mycket om den inre resan, som den att rent fysiskt befinna sig på resande fot.
    Du verkar ha förmågan att kombinera dessa båda egenskaper och jag förstår att de minnen och upplevelser du får med dig i bagaget från dina resor i fattiga länder står i stark kontrast mot de i vår “civiliserade” värld.
    Att kunna se, förmedla och reflektera…det är en gåva, en gåva som berikar livet både för en själv och för ens omgivning…förhoppningsvis:)
    Tack för dina tankar och tack för allt du förmedlar via text och bild!
    Glädje och lycka finns överallt…så även sorg, bedrövelse…och inte minst avundsjuka.
    Önskar dig en fin helg “hemma” i väst!

    • Takk, Gertie. Det er alltid kjekt å få “besøk” av deg. Du berører et forhold som er veldig viktig i forlengelsen av det jeg skriver: Det er alltid vanskelig å sette seg inn i andres liv, følelser og situasjon. Det som ser ut som en dans på roser på utsiden, kan like vel være et eneste slit for den det gjelder. Vi skal i hvert fall ikke bedømme hverandre på overflaten. Men samtidig som du sier, finnes det glede og lykke overalt – også der livet er hardt, som i flyktningleirer. Faktum er at jeg opplever mer glede hos folk som har mindre enn hos oss som har alt – i hvert fall så lenge det ikke står om livet. Igjen takk for dine fine refleksjoner. Må du ha en fin helg selv, Gertie.

  34. Candace says:

    That’s very interesting, Otto. I think I might have said or still might say something similar to someone who travels like you do. But, you’re right, I don’t think I would make the sacrifices you have made to do so. I have a passion for photography, too, but I don’t think I have a passion for roughing it or leaving my home, my pets, my family so there are certain types of photos I may never take. I will admire those that you do, though. And I’ll try not to say what your friend said to anyone who does 🙂

    • You don’t have to roughing it or leave home. Our passions are so different and diverse that they will always take us in different directions. As long as you do pursue the dreams, that is really what matters.

  35. ninagrandiose says:

    I never had to stop and think or ask. Travel and creation were inextricably wound into my being and still are. This is my luck or my demise. The things most people aspire to have never held much attraction for me. Though this makes me unconventional and often at odds with society, it is my path. Now I embrace it, celebrate it and live a unique and amazing life. But now I see that it is not for every one. Your post hit home for me.

    • Often when you pursue your dreams or passions your will be unconventional, because they don’t follow the mainstream. You are attitude is one to follow: Embrace, celebrate and live – what more can one ask for?!

  36. A great post, Otto. Nothing in the world can match the thrill and joy of following your passion.

  37. Louis says:

    An excellent post Otto. Ken Robinson is a passionate advocate of the need for individuals to identify and develop their potential, whatever form that might take. I recommend his lecture for TED on the following video link http://www.ted.com/talks/ken_robinson_says_schools_kill_creativity?language=en. It is highly entertaining as well as making several points relevant to your article.

  38. Eliza Waters says:

    Now this is the voice of clear passion! Great post and advice, Otto, I will look for this book.

  39. Zambian Lady says:

    Your post is right on point. We usually like finding reasons why someone is doing better than us in a given area. For you, you have luck on your side or so your friend claimed which is not correct. We also like enjoying something without putting in any effort and that does not work out. I believe that luck/opportunity/aptitude play only a very tiny amount as these would be nought without effort.

    Continue enjoying travelling and I will enjoy them through your posts 🙂

  40. Andrew says:

    It seems clear to me that only a real passion could sustain you through the hardships that you must face during these rough travels, Otto. And then there’s the satisfaction that you must feel when an assignment is successfully completed.

    I, myself, cannot imagine a life without a passion for certain things — principally photography, in my case, too, even though I can’t claim to have really suffered hardships for it, the way you do.

    All the best for your future undertakings…

  41. monica amberger says:

    Hej Otto, tänkvärt inlägg som verkligen berör mig på många plan. Har följt dina/era inlägg från ert senaste uppdrag och som vanligt fascineras jag över den genuinitet, engagemang och respekt du förmedlar i allt du tar dig an.
    Drömmar och visioner förändras givetvis under livets gång och jag är innerligt tacksam för de stunder jag finner flow i mitt skapande på min nivå med min kamera.
    Bästa Hälsningar
    Monica

    • Drømmer og visjoner er forskjellig fra person til person – og endres i løpet av et liv, som du peker på. Det ser ut til at du har funnet din vei – når jeg ser på bildene dine, og da er det også lettere å finne flytsonen når en skaper. Takk for de vakre ordene, Monica.

  42. Dalo 2013 says:

    Great post Otto ~ you saw what you wanted and have steadily walked that path, learning and growing while creating something tremendous, and that is taking the noble way to live. Not just waiting for something to be put in front of you, but going out and seeking and finding that something that passion ~ hard to define, but you’ve done it. Nothing quite like see a life lived beautifully.

  43. Whenever we do travel, my wife and consider our living quarters– whether it be on a cruise ship or hotel– as merely a place to sleep What’s beyond those doors is what was more important for us to experience (though even the ship cabins and hotel rooms be a part of it.) I tell people– put some money aside– even in a special account– just for a dream getaway. In this manner we satisfied our lifelong wish of seeing the ancient ruins (along with the modern life) in both Rome and Athens and their adjoining landmarks. Life is too short to not take some time away from our everyday work lives. Nice post. Peace.

  44. Teri says:

    A beautiful photo, it’s like a painting.
    Your journey is selfless, honourable. Our lives are a reflection of who we really are so better make sure we tell ourselves our truth.

  45. Teri says:

    Great example given in the above writing, thank you.

  46. natuurfreak says:

    Great and interesting post. and amazing PhotoThanks for visiting my blog.

  47. Pingback: Passion, Purpose and an Ah-Ha Moment – Part 1 Passion | HHC Blog

  48. Reaffirmation of great life forms… The voice penetrating in a blurred way into my sleepiness, but precisely in the measure that words escape me, they seem to gain wider, deeper significance quite unrelated to their outward meaning. Breath of the desert caught in a human voice tenderly fading in the dry air, without limits or echoes.

  49. I ve given up my dreams while ago because my loved ones needed me near them. Now i feel i need to listen to myself and find my way but without hurting them or leave them. It is very difficult because i came from a conservative background. But i think i am learning to develop as a person without being scared of who I can be . 🙂

    • What you say at the end here is very important in being able to finding your own way. And, yes, there is a fine balance between being available for our loves and self-development. But if we don’t take of our own needs, we won’t be of much help to our love one, I believe.

      • lighthouse75 says:

        “If we don’t take of our own needs, we won’t be of much help to our loved one.” Otto, truer words have never been spoken. In whatever context we find ourselves. being in a situation where you are only giving and never receiving is UNHEALTHY.

  50. Absolutely thought provoking and inspiring! “How do I pursue my dream?” That’s what I’ve been asking myself for quite sometime now. It’s like I know what I should do but then I find myself asking the “what-if’s” and “but’s” but I’m working on building that courage to completely silence the noise so I can focus on my goals.

    Thanks so much for this inspiring post! It gives me hope and makes me realize even more how important it is for me to pursue my dreams. 🙂

    • Go after your dreams with a hammer – to paraphrase Jack London. Yes, those “what-if’s” and “but’s” do get in the way, and we should try not to listen to them. – And I know it’s difficult.

Leave a Reply

