The Expressive Flâneur

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

Dalia Daud has a unique and very personal photographic voice. She sees and captures the world with the eyes of a contemplative and conscious seeker. For her the world holds no mystery, she sees through the human disguises and pretences. And then captures their vulnerability with tenderness and sensibility. When she was for shooting her personal photo project about isolation for my eWorkshop Dalia attended last spring, she would find her subject everywhere. On a train, on the streets, at home, in a shopping mall, from above or from below. Her approach is with a curious and open mind, walking and observing, both with detachment and with passion – as strange as that may sound. She is a flâneur – a connoisseur of the street, capturing the world around her with sharpness and tuned in to the drama unrolling on the streets she is strolling. Always with a great sense of light and composition. Needless to say; her camera is her mobile phone which makes it possible for her to move around as a fly on the wall. If you want to see more of her pictures look up her blog Dalia Daud Photography.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Workshop, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to The Expressive Flâneur

  1. Patrizia M. says:

    Complimenti a Dalia per il suo stile fotografico, molto bello e interessante.
    Un caro saluto a te Otto.
    Ciao, Patrizia

  2. I really like her photography.. So many interesting shapes and tones.. I also follow her blog as she always surprises with a good photo!

  3. Dalo 2013 says:

    These B&W images are wonderful ~ such sharp contrast to go along with the subject. Beautiful.

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    Really wonderful images, and I love them in black and white.
    Thank you for sharing, Otto.

  5. soonie2 says:

    Fascinating and inspiring. The people in these images are such strong subjects yet take up a small bit of space. Love the high contrast, line, light and shadow.

  6. YellowCable says:

    I love how she used the space together with B&W in these pictures. They are powerful!

  7. Reggie says:

    Oh wow… her images are incredible. I hopped on over to her blog, browsing and browsing… very compelling, particularly the monochrome light-and-dark images.

  8. suej says:

    Dalia’s use of light and shade is marvellous, I admired her work during the course. Good to see it again 🙂

  9. Dalia Daud says:

    Wow…thank you so much for a great post Otto (admittedly I had to googled up what ‘Flaneur’ means 😉 ) . And I have to say that quite sums up my photographic style.
    When u say ” both with detachment and with passion ” yes..as strange as it sounds, it rings very true
    I have to say thank you again Otto for everything, it was a great learning experience 🙂
    Do you mind if I reblog this post? Thank you

    Regards
    Dalia

  10. paula graham says:

    Great stuff and am now, thanks to your post, a follower of Dalia

  11. Lynda says:

    I follow her blog and have always admired how she captures beautiful patterns and light in everyday situations. Love the composition on these.

  12. sheketechad says:

    Very deft touch and a fantastic eye involved in these works. I moseyed over to her site as well – so much more there too! Another great intro Otto, thank you.

  13. Chillbrook says:

    These are very interesting images Otto, and I couldn’t agree with you more. All these images are so well seen and printed!

  14. Millie Ho says:

    Excellent photos, Otto. Dalia is definitely a gifted photographer.

    Her work reminds me of the quotation from The Little Prince:

    “Perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to take away.”

  15. Louis says:

    Excellent images beautifully described and analused, really identifying the essence of Dalia’s work.

  16. Such amazing photos, and from her phone? I’m really awed! I think this photographic artist definitely drives it home that the eye and “open mind” is more important than the equipment. I love your description of Dalia’s work and how she approaches her subjects with detachment and passion. I can see that in her work. It’s beautiful and very compelling. I am certainly underutilizing my iPhone! 🙂

    • You are so right, Debra. Camera or equipment is never what limits a creative mind. Thanks for the feedback, I am glad you like Dalia’s work,

    • Dalia Daud says:

      Thank you Debra.
      Using a camera phone actually helps me alot! i shoot almost on a daily basis, of course not everything comes out great, but I see it as a ground to improve my skills and as my camera phone is not as fast as any of the dslr that i’ve used before, i need to react faster, and be more aware of everything thats happening around me, that definitely improves my observation skills.
      I definitely recommend it 🙂

  17. Each monochrome is strong in its own character and subject. Each also has an abstract quality that pulls me into the narrative.

  18. Dalia Daud says:

    Reblogged this on Dalia Daud Photography and commented:
    This is part of my personal project on Solitude for an eworkshop that I attend back in February for 8 weeks.
    What attract me the most about the workshop is that it focuses on your voice as a photographer/artist rather than the technicality of using a camera.
    Otto is such a great teacher, his experiences certainly what draws me, and to have feedback from one such as him is priceless. I wholly recommend the eworkshop to whomever interested

  19. Nelson says:

    Indeed she does have a special way to find very interesting subject

  20. restlessjo says:

    Love the second one, Otto. That one speaks to me. The others- I can’t imagine ‘seeing’ them as photos. It’s fascinating what strikes people as good subject matter. 🙂

  21. What a gorgeous use of contrast, light and dark. Lends itself well to the subject matter of isolation.

  22. Dalo 2013 says:

    Such great and mesmerizing contrast…the 2nd and 3rd shots would look beautiful hung in room. A very different type of photography style than mine, which makes it even more attractive to me. Very creative series of photos.

Leave a Reply

