Everyday Life

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

© Jill Johannessen

Jill Johannessen sees and captures the small off-moments in everyday life. It’s not glamorous, it’s not glossy, it’s not action-filled, it’s not breathtaking. Yet, her pictures manage to captivate the viewer with a soft-spoken visual language. She crawls under the skin, of both the viewer and her subject. She gets to you with her skewed vision of those small off-moments of daily life as they unfold in front of her camera. It might just be the look of a person, it might be a strange-looking situation, it might be odd colours, which bring the viewer into the situation – or a combination of all above. Jill has that rare quality as a photographer to engage with her subject and still be able to capture moments of spontaneity as if the person being photographed feels totally comfortable with her. During the workshop in Villajoyosa, Spain, earlier this spring she went about the small village, quietly searching out those captivating soft-spoken moments. For more of Jill’s photos look up her blog/site 3C.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Workshop, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Everyday Life

  1. Dina says:

    I’m sure Jill must be absolutely thrilled to see her great photos on this place and read your kind and so true words. Lovely photos!

    “Photo is a small voice, at best, but sometimes – just sometimes – one photograph or a group of them can lure our senses into awareness. Much depends upon the viewer; in some, photographs can summon enough emotion to be a catalyst to thought.” W. Eugene Smith

    Ha en god helg, Otto!

  2. suej says:

    Great, gentle images!

  3. soonie2 says:

    Such a true talent to take little moments of everyday life and turn them into works of art like this! Captivating indeed!

  4. Patrizia M. says:

    Bellissime queste foto, non è da tutti saper cogliere attimi di vita così magnificamente!!
    Complimenti a Jill Johannessen!
    Un grande saluto a te caro Otto!
    Ciao, Pat

  5. Wow! I am truly thankful for your comments! And thanks Otto for hitting the nail on the head! I really enjoyed your workshop and will surely participate again some time in the future. I learned a lot, especially the importance of space and to stay in the situation!

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a wonderful eye she has.
    I really love these little snippets of life, and she does them beautifully.
    Thank you for sharing Otto, and have a wonderful weekend!

  7. These are such appealing photos and I wasn’t sure I understood why but your explanation had me nodding my head in agreement – really well said!

  8. YellowCable says:

    Her works are definitely visual language. Oddly, I like how she treat the colors in these pictures and at the same time engage the view into the pictures.

  9. sheketechad says:

    ‘…captivating soft-spoken moments…’ IS life. She has a great eye. Thanks for introducing her and the subtlety she employs.

  10. Jill has this ability to see the moment and hit the shutter button just at the right time. One can see that in the last two photographs.

  11. giselzitrone says:

    Schöne Bilder wünsche ein gutes Wochenende lieber Gruß Gislinde

  12. Great people shots! Otto, I have a new camera and, inspired by you, I have started to take photos of people….they were formerly not welcome in my snaps!

  13. Dalia Daud says:

    oh i love her work! really capture that moment, especially the last 2 pictures! perfect expression! great job Jill and Otto!

  14. The small moments of street life say volumes about the human condition.

  15. Monica says:

    Du forklarer det så godt i innledningen,- det spesielle med Jill og hennes evne til å fange øyeblikket… spesielt de to siste ble jeg sittende å se lenge på… samtidig som jeg tenkte at det var jo akkurat i denne sjanger jeg hadde så lyst å prøve meg på under kurset ditt… jeg kom jo aldri så langt den gang, og nå på egen hånd, har visst motet mitt sviktet igjen…
    Fine dager til deg, der du måtte være:)

    • Takk for fine ord – på vegne av Jill. Dette med å begynne å fotografere mennesker er alltid vanskelig i begynnelsen. Men begyn med folk du kjenner, eller begyn å fotografe på en gatefest – for eksempel. Det virker mer “legitimt”. Ønsker deg alt det best, Monica.

    • Jill says:

      Tusen takk Monica for fine ord! Det er bare til å hive seg ut i det. Og som Otto er inne på, det er lettere når man finner en anledning, som gatefest, konsert e.l. Jeg syntes faktisk det er lettere når jeg er ute å reiser, enn i min egen hjemby!

      • Monica says:

        Ja, det er et verdifullt tips,- jeg har såvidt begynt å prøve ut dette i familiesammenkomster, om ikke annet…. og jeg har forsåvidt kjent på at det er lettere når jeg er på reise, som du sier. Det som fascinerer meg er bilder som dine, hvor du er så tett på… blir liksom en egen magi…. vel, jeg får ihvertfall ikke skrinlegge tanken;) Takk for inspirasjonen:)

  16. Leya says:

    Fina bilder och fin stämning . Man mår gott av dem!

  17. Another great series. I keep coming back to the 4th one, I do really like the composition of this one.

  18. Jill says:

    Thanks a bunch Mark for your nice comment!

  19. Paula says:

    That’s real skill! These photos are awesome. I wonder what her experience would have been if she had attempted to do the same in a big city…

    • Jill says:

      Thank you Paula for your kind comment! After the workshop in Villajoyjosa I spend a couple of days in Barcelona. I had a lot of fun taking pictures of people there as well, but I went with a friend so I didn’t have the same amount of time to stay in a situation (but I still did some). I also recently took pictures in Lisbon and Seville, but then I had even less time before I had to run after the others that I travelled with. So my lesson is that I need to make sure that I have some time on my own to just follow my own instinct and stay in the situation. However, you are welcome to check out other street photos on my newly published websiste and there are som pic there from Barcelona: http://www.jilljohannessen.com/street-photography.html

      I hope to go to New York and make sure that I have the time needed some time in the future!

    • I think she would have done just fine. Thank you for the comment, Paula.

  20. My Heartsong says:

    I like these! She has captured those moments with great expressions on people’s faces. Nicely done.

  21. Dalo 2013 says:

    This series is what I think is so special about photography ~ capturing pieces of everyday life that holds emotions and feelings. The last shot is perhaps the epitome of such a style.

  22. Millie Ho says:

    Amazing series from Jill! Thank you for sharing, Otto. The ability to engage with the subject and make them feel comfortable is a quality to strive for.

  23. Nandini says:

    Wonderful moments captured forever. Simple things are the best.

  24. I like the photo of the kid which makes me wonder what kind of trouble is he thinking up? 🙂

  25. In Jill’s photos each moment becomes a special moment! Great!
    robert

  26. Elaine- says:

    the last two are my fave, really sorta eggleston, i love them, i like ‘everyday’ boring photography, it’s my passion 🙂

  27. Jill says:

    Thanks to Robert and Elaine and all of you who have given me such nice feedback. I got inspired to finally come around a write my own experience with the workshop on my blog, which I just published. You are welcome to check it out: http://www.jilljohannessen.com/blog

  28. What a joy! The last is priceless. I say there is extraordinary in the ordinary.

  29. Andrew says:

    Yes, these are so nicely captured, Otto. I’ll check out Jill’s site.

  30. Bhiseing able to tell a story with our picture that is probably a skill many of us would like to have! Many thanks for your important indications so that we can improve this art. Best regards

Leave a Reply

