Back in Seattle

Seattle skyline sett fra Queen Anne-området. Mount Rainier i bakgrunnen

Munchow_1644-021_E

Munchow_1660-044_E

Seattle skyline sett fra Queen Anne-området

Munchow_1644-005_E

I have returned to my second city. I guess that’s fair to say, since I pretty much spend almost half of my time in Seattle. It always feels good to be back. Seattle is a beautiful city, and maybe even more importantly; is a city situated in a gorgeous mountain area, with the mountains only a short drive away. At the same time, the sea literally surrounds this pleasant west coast city. In other words; enough wilderness and scenery of any kind to please an old nature lover. There is one more aspect of Seattle that I maybe appreciate more than anything else. It’s a open-minded city, people are not confined to preconceived ideas of what is right or wrong. Mostly I should add. The quite progressive inhabitants are willing to listen and to discuss, but almost never with prejudice. Well, of course there are always exceptions to any testimonial. Nevertheless Seattle is wonderful, wondrous and welcoming.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

122 Responses to Back in Seattle

  1. I have always wanted to visit Seattle..maybe one day as it sounds like my kind of town!
    Love the processing on your photos.. really nice!

  2. Mary McAvoy says:

    Great photos! Nice work.

  3. YellowCable says:

    Beautiful pictures of the city. I love how you the treatments to the pictures. It just gives a feeling of surreal but not too far out of touch of the reality. The composition and the geometric shapes of the fourth picture is perfect to me.

  4. Angeline M says:

    Living not that far away from Seattle, in Northern California, I cannot believe I’ve never been there. Your photos are making me think I’ve been missing out far too long now.

  5. Happy to hear you’re back in Seattle, and thanks for some great photos and description of the city!!

  6. Marie says:

    Lovely pictures. They make me a bit homesick. I lived in Seattle for 15 years and the top shot is almost exactly what I saw every day from my living room window on Lower Queen Ann Hill. The Ferris wheel is an addition since I moved 8 years ago.

  7. Suzanne says:

    These are wonderful photos Otto. I particularly like the second one with all the curves but all them work together to tell a story of city that looks inspiring.

  8. It’s a beautiful time of year in Seattle, Otto. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else and am looking forward to viewing the city through your eyes. 🙂

  9. … and above all Seattle is a photogenic city … 😉

  10. Rajiv says:

    That is a nice view of Seattle!

  11. Love the pink sky over the mountains and, particularly, the “futuristic” fourth shot. Enjoy your trip.

  12. leecleland says:

    Otto, any city with a mountain looking like that is a winner to me and water all around too! A lovely little introduction to this city with a charm only you seem to be able to produce in a city profile

  13. Belle foto! Nice photos. So, one more place to add to my “to visit list” !
    robert
    PS: is it true is a city where it rains almost daily? I heard this in a movie…

  14. paula graham says:

    Looks a great place and you have enhanced what everyone knows!

  15. Thanks for the sweeping tour–enjoy every moment.

  16. seabluelee says:

    I didn’t realize you spent so much time in Seattle. I’ve only been there once, very briefly. It was years ago and I don’t think I even had a camera with me. I’d love to see more of it one day. I’ve always wanted to see the “underground city.”

  17. ~meredith says:

    What a gorgeous way to greet Seattle. Otto. I love the way you treated these photos–so vivid, sharp against the beautiful pastels of the atmosphere. Welcome back (seahawk)! ~m

  18. lighthouse75 says:

    Gorgeous images, Otto!

  19. Welcome back! Seattle is on my list. Love these shots.

  20. Patrizia M. says:

    Le foto che ci doni, dimostrano che Seattle è veramente bella!!
    Sono stupende!! Ciao, Patrizia

  21. Great photos Otto. I can see why you find it beautiful. It looks like a charming city. Friendly and welcoming residents are great addition to the city. Wishing you a pleasant stay 🙂

  22. Gunta says:

    You show off this gem of the Pacific Northwest so beautifully. I did get a kick out of all the photographers with the smart phones… and you capturing them as a voyeur. 🙂

  23. My Heartsong says:

    These have a nice “feel” to them, composition, point of view, quality of light…lovely tribute to the city.

  24. Lisa Gordon says:

    I’ve been to Seattle a few times, and it really is a wonderful place to be.
    I love these photographs, Otto.
    Thank you for sharing.

  25. lauramacky says:

    Besides SF, Seattle is my second favorite city. You did it beautiful justice in your photos!

  26. mk says:

    I hope the Seattle tourism office gives you a proper commission, Otto. With high recommendations from a world traveler who admires Seattle’s people and architecture and geography and vitality, I have put it on my official bucket list.

  27. Angelia Sims says:

    It is a city on my bucket list. Your description is wonderful and the photos are astounding. What a great second city to live in. 🙂

  28. lesleycarter says:

    Amazing shots! Seattle is on my 2014 list; hopefully I’ll make it there this year. You’ve made me more excited about it. 🙂

  29. Your descriptions make me want to catch the next plane! And your photos second the impulse.

  30. ninagrandiose says:

    For me, these photos have a nostalgic feel that remind me of old hand sketched post cards from the early 1900’s, especially the ones with the ferris wheel. Very evocative.

  31. I can easily imagine you at home in Seattle, Otto. I didn’t realize you spent so much time there, but I like the idea that we are in the same time zone! 🙂 I love the photo with the tourists taking photos of the skyline. It’s such an excellent action shot!

  32. it’s amzing how similar your description of seattle to my personal impressions of this city is. i’ve always thought it must be my selective perception that makes it so special to me but … guess it’s really the nature of this place. was a pleasure to read through your lines!

  33. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful! What were you doing when you lived in Seattle? It is a gorgeous city indeed!

  34. A really lovely city. Stunning shots, Otto. 🙂

  35. themofman says:

    I often wondered about Seattle when I was growing up in Prince George, BC back in the 80’s. I used to watch Seattle TV news, and their zany commercials for the Sea Galley restaurant. I never made it there, and now I’m on the eastern side of Canada. It’s still; neveretheless, on my list of places to visit.

  36. Always wanted to go and must one day! Great photos and loved the photo within the photo you took of the woman with the cellphone.

  37. soonie2 says:

    Wonderful images of what looks and sounds like the perfect place to live. The sea, the mountains and open minded people…what could be better?!

  38. Love your photos. They have a crisp, magical quality to them. I’ve never been to Seattle, but it’s on my bucket list!

  39. Chillbrook says:

    Very nice series of pictures Otto. Seattle is certainly on my list of places to visit!

  40. Glad to see you’re so close now…:-)

  41. Enjoy being back in my hometown and your second-home! It really is a wonderful place in many ways. Glad I will get back (however briefly) for a couple of visits in the coming months. Your shots here manage both to be iconic views and wonderfully personal. So characteristic of your work, Otto! I really admire that ability you have to see both what will be most memorable and powerful in a pictorial moment, and what will reflect your own style and artistry. Marvelous.
    xo,
    Kathryn

  42. Gertie says:

    Härliga vykort från din spännande och kosmopolitiska stad, Otto!
    Var ju där för ett år sedan och kommer gärna tillbaka…men trafiken på 5:an ner mot Kalifornien, ja, den är jag gärna utan:) Då vi bodde i Tacoma blev det alltför lite sett av själva Seattle…så du, tack för titten, jag ser att det finns mycket mer att upptäcka:)
    Ps. Ja du, älgarna var nästan för bra för att vara sant…tala om tur…samt en snäll granne som förvarnade. Ds

    • Kjekt å høre fra deg, Gertie. Og, ja, I-5 kan være litt av en tålmodighetsprøve fra tid til annen. I det hele tatt er biltrafikken i Seattle en av de negative sidene ved byen. Derfor prøver jeg å sykle så mye som mulig. 🙂

  43. Elaine- says:

    beautiful pictures! i have been to Seattle but just passing thru without seeing sights… and the person i was going to visit had an open mind that’s for sure lol…. reminded me of ‘Frasier’ and i thought that you got some nice weather!

  44. Truels says:

    Jeg vidste ikke, at Seattle var så spændende og rar en by. Jeg håber snart at komme til USA igen, måske skulle man lægge vejen forbi deroppe…. – og så videre til Canada (hvor jeg aldrig har været)

  45. restlessjo says:

    That first shot got me, Otto! That panorama is all I could ever hope for of Seattle and I would love to see it in person. The heavy boxes work so well on your delicate colours. Just beautiful! 🙂

  46. Drove past that skyline but not visited. Looks like Hipstamatic app photos. I use it all the time and love it. Beautiful colours and texture in your images.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and I will be keeping up with yours as I go through my photography degree.

  47. These are amazing photos, love it !

  48. Monica says:

    Fantastisk kule bilder fra Seattle, likte det “tighte” utsnittet og de gode komposisjonene, elsker (selvfølgelig) det 4. bildet, men det med menneskene synes jeg også var helt herlig. Etterbehandlingen ga et fantastisk særpreg på serien… ny by å sette på listen;)

  49. I’ve been looking at your portfolio on your website. Superb. I am truly honoured that you ‘liked’ my post ‘A Portrait of South America’. Thank you.
    Alison

  50. Dalo 2013 says:

    Love these shots…all of which are about a 15-30 minute walk from my place in Belltown. The mood of the ‘ferris wheel’ is quite nice, and while I was not a fan when it arrived, it is growing on me (the way you make it work with the stadiums as a backdrop is part of the reason why…great eye). As you know, nothing quite like a summer in Seattle ~ except perhaps as summer moves into fall. So much to see there, and look forward to your future posts… Will you be heading into the mountains much?

  51. Andrew says:

    Such beautifully composed and presented images, Otto — and a nice reminder for me of the couple of days I spent in Seattle, just a few short years ago. I loved the atmosphere, and really hope to go back sometime.

  52. It surprises me to know that you spend so much time in Seattle. Enough to call it your second home. That is impressive. The photos and your comments on the people make it easy to understand why.

  53. Roland Theys says:

    A very good photo!
    Nice day to you

  54. More lovely painterly effects in your photos. Love how you make even highrises look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

