Faces of a Street

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

For his personal photo project during the eWorkshop earlier this year Christopher O’Keefe chose to go onto the street with his camera. He did a classical street photo essay. His intent was to make photographs along Elm Street – the main street – in downtown Manchester, New Hampshire, USA to try to convey a sense of place. In so doing Christopher challenged his own inhibition of approaching people on the street – which anyone who has photographed on the street know is a very testing challenge. He did very well. Christopher has captured life as it unfolds on a couple of blocks on downtown Elm Street. His images show the many facets of the street life. Whether he captures a parade, a kid playing on the street or customers relaxing inside a café, Christopher does so with honesty and sincerity. He photographs people on or along Elm Street as the classical observing photographer; he lets the action unfold without interrupting and captures its essence at its revealing moment. For more of his photo from the street project have a look at Christopher’s blog.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Workshop, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Faces of a Street

  1. Very nice, indeed! Even better that these pictures were taken in New Hampshire… 🙂 Well done!

  2. Dina says:

    Very inspiring to see the work of your workshop participants! Christopher is presenting his street with a lot of atmosphere and nice stories, we like it! 🙂

  3. suej says:

    Some nice street portraits here…gives a good sense of place.

  4. Great serie, very inspiring!

  5. YellowCable says:

    Great works by Christopher! I really like the picture of the young girl jump up and she looks facing down. It keeps me look at for a little while.

  6. Nice sense of the place – the photo of the soldiers in old costume is wonderfully bizarre.

  7. Dashing, all of these!

  8. I loved watching his story unfold.. Chris takes wonderful photos that pull the viewer into the scene..Well done Chris!!

  9. Very nice photographs by Christopher. I agree with you Otto — the sense of place has been conveyed very effectively in all the photographs.

  10. James Kern says:

    so my question is – since he was in a public situation did he bet the permission of his photographic subjects to post their images on the internet – this is not a trick question but something I have been wondering about. if you shoot in a public place, where there is “no reasonable expectation of privacy” do you need permission to post the shots?

    • Only Chris can answer what he did. My approach is generally that I don’t need to ask permission in a public place. I often go so close, though, that it would be impolite not to, simply because there is no way the people I am photographing will be unaware of my presence. On the other hand if I do take pictures candidly on the street, I don’t ever ask permission.

    • Hello: I did both depending on the situation. In the cigar shop, I entered, asked if I could make photos and ended up having a nice conversation with the men seated in the barber chair smoking cigars. The bicycle riders and the girl jumping were candids. In the US, if you are in a public street, my understanding is that it is fair game to have your image made without your permission as long as it is not used to sell something. Here is a link to an online article on the topic http://www.photocoachpro.com/home/-photograph-strangers-without-permission. Cheers – Chris

  11. themofman says:

    Christopher, one of the ways I overcame most (not all) of my fear of photographing strangers in public was concentrating mostly on conveying not just the story of the community but my personal heartfelt love for that community.

    Nice work!

  12. Lisa Gordon says:

    Very nicely done, Christopher!
    I especially like the last one.

    Thank you for sharing these here, Otto!

  13. Millie Ho says:

    These are fabulous photos taken by Christopher. He captures stories with each picture—well done!

    Over the years, Otto, your posts have inspired me to invest more time in developing my photography. Here are some pictures taken during my travels: http://millieho.net/2014/07/23/a-years-worth-of-travel-photography/

  14. Good job Christopher!

  15. Oh, I did so enjoy that! Well done, Christopher. Particularly loved the shot with the Castro’s sign in it. Are those barber’s chairs?

  16. This is a wonderful “story” of the street. Christopher did very well in capturing his subjects. I hope he continues with this type of thing.

  17. Dalo 2013 says:

    A great slice of Americana…I could come back to these shots often and feel as if I am reveling in a story of a small and brilliant township ~ backbone of the USA.

  18. I want to thank everyone for their feedback and ideas. As a new photographer, it is very encouraging to hear that others enjoy these photographs and to have exchanges about the challenges of street photography. A special thank you to Otto for his patient teaching, insightful feedback and the kind words he wrote above. Cheers – Christopher

  19. rangewriter says:

    I enjoyed watching Christopher’s progress as he struggled with difficult lighting and sometimes unpredictable people. His photo essay comes together really nicely.

  20. One of my best friends lives in Manchester, so I sent her a link to this post of Christopher’s vibrant photos.

Leave a Reply

