Memories of Summer

Pat og Jenny på vei opp langs Big Quilcene River til Marmot Pass

Blomsterprakt i høyfjellet

Pat på vei opp mot Buckhorn Mountain på 2130 meter

Jenny på toppen av ryggen som løper fra  Marmot Pass til Mount Constance

Pat og Jenny på vei ned langs Big Quilcene River fra Marmot Pass

Summer time is a wonderful time. Full of life and amiability. Often summer implies travels or visiting new locations – or just enjoying the good old places where one feels at home. A time to relax and a time to gain new strength for the winter to come. Summer time is also a time to collect memories. When I recall my own past, many of my most vivid memories originates from one of those lovely summers.

As I am posting this I am off to first The Netherlands and then Paris along with two of my kids. This will be our summer vacation together. I haven’t been to Paris in a very, very long time. It’s exactly 30 years to be precise. About time I would say. I expect this trip will add to my memories as well as my boys’. May indeed the trip become a loving memory for them to remember in the future. Before that, though, let’s enjoy the experience itself.

I will leave you with some memories from only a couple of weeks ago, when I spent a handful of days in the Buckhorn Wilderness in the Olympic Mountains in the state of Washington, USA. We had a great couple of days staying overnight right under Marmot Pass and hiking up to mountains such as Buchhorn Mountain at 6988 feet or 2130 meters above sea level.

Have a great summer all my blogger friends!

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to Memories of Summer

  1. have a great time Otto! hello to the kids too! 🙂

  2. Gunta says:

    How great you got to visit my neighboring state. It sounds as though you had a lovely time. Wishing you well on your coming travels with the boys! May you weave many sweet memories.

  3. Fabio says:

    Have safe trips and enjoy everything! Take care, Otto!

  4. alesiablogs says:

    Love Seattle! It is my home . We are so blessed with such natural beauty. No make up needed!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Enjoy your holiday – what a wonderful destination – Paris. 🙂

  6. LensScaper says:

    A beautiful area for walking Otto. I will be in Switzerland shortly – very similar scenery and terrain although not quite so much forest. Have a superb holiday in Paris with your boys.

  7. What a beautiful place – makes you feel good to be alive. Enjoy Paris – my favourite city, where I lived for 3 years. Don’t miss the divine St Chapelle and the Rodin Museum. I look forward to seeing your photos.

  8. Vicki says:

    Hope you have a very enjoyable (and memorable) holiday.
    The hiking looks like it was a wonderful experience with great scenery too.

  9. themofman says:

    The same to you, Otto.

  10. My hubby and I are leaving for Paris, London, and Edinburgh on August 1st. We have never been before, so I am excited beyond belief. Have a wonderful vacation Otto, and if you could arrange for some warm weather and sunshine in Paris while you are there, that would be great :).

  11. Wishing you the happiest of trips with many memories and photos!

  12. suej says:

    Have a great summer, fun holidays Otto! 🙂 your first image brought back nostalgic memories of holidays in Austria when I was a kid, hiking in forested mountains just like that!

  13. Have a great time and I hope you create many memories! My Hubby and I are headed there the first two weeks of September and it will be our first time there! I’m so very excited!

  14. Enjoy your summer vacation Otto. Yes, vacations create wonderful memories to share with your family. My kids grew up with a drawer full of family snap shots. The children loved to go through those pictures over and over again 🙂

    • That is really true, isn’t it! At the moment we don’t necessarily think much of the photos we take, but later on the become real treasures. Enjoy your summer, too, Carla.

  15. Next time you come to the Northwest, Otto, you must come to my home, Portland…just a wee bit south of Seattle. Photo and outdoor activities too many to mention. I know the best coffee shop…my treat. R.

  16. Mary says:

    Have a wonderful time. I look forward to all your great photos.

  17. Leya says:

    Have a great and wonderful time with your youngsters. They are only ours for a short time.

  18. What a great trip with your sons for the summer vacation. If they are anything like my sons they will complain about the walking but will be amazed by the vacation sights. It is my hope to get them both to Italy in the next 5 years or so. I look forward to your photos documenting your summer fun.

    • We have been in big cities on holiday before and have enjoyed it together. So I think Paris will be a great experience for my boys. Thanks for the well wishing, Nikki. Have a great summer.

      • Enjoy your adventure with your sons, they will remember this time forever. Take lots of pictures and I look forward to seeing them upon your return. Happy Trails. 🙂

  19. Looks beautiful. I had to go back in memory too when you mentioned the last time you were in Paris. It’s been about that long for me. I guess I’ll see here if there’s any change in the city.

  20. seabluelee says:

    Have a wonderful trip with your boys! I’ll be looking forward to seeing the photos you bring back.

  21. For sure it will be a great experience for you all! Enjoy it|
    robert

  22. Dalo 2013 says:

    Beautiful photos Otto, in a very beautiful part of the world. A great start to your summer, and it sounds like you have another wonderful adventure ahead of you with your family. Cheers and safe travels!

  23. drawandshoot says:

    Your traveling sounds wonderful, Otto. Enjoy your holidays with your family.
    Your mountain scenes are idyllic.

  24. The photos feel extra travely with the frame. Will try that. Did u create the frames yourself in photoshop?

  25. My Heartsong says:

    I like the presentation which accents the flavour of the memories shown here.All the best to you and your boys.

  26. Lisa Gordon says:

    Have a safe and wonderful trip, Otto.
    May you make many wonderful memories.

  27. YellowCable says:

    Have a good trip and a lot of fun memories to come back with!

  28. Have a great time with your children and those are great summer hiking photos in this blog post!

  29. Oh my goodness! Spectacular images. You have so captured both the essence of the Olympic Mountains! The first and last photos are exquisite. Thanks for sharing, and enjoy Paris.

  30. Millie Ho says:

    Godspeed, Otto! Come back with photographs and stories galore!

  31. Joanne says:

    Otto – wishing you safe travels, stunning captures and wonderful memories! 🙂

  32. happy summer holidays to you and family, otto.

  33. Patrizia M. says:

    Buone vacanze con i tuoi figli caro Otto e grazie per queste belle foto che ci hai lasciato!!
    Un caro saluto, Patrizia

  34. Chillbrook says:

    So good to see you having such a wonderful summer Otto. Enjoy the remainder!

  35. soonie2 says:

    Wonderful images and beautiful memories. Have a great trip with your kids…can’t wait to see the memories you capture this summer!

  36. ~meredith says:

    How wonderful for you! Beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing and have a great time. Meredith

  37. ninagrandiose says:

    I hope that you’ll be able to leave us all behind…Bon Voyage!

  38. fotonita says:

    Herlige bilder!
    God tur til Nederland og Paris! : )

  39. surprisebjg says:

    How lovely I want to be there right now!

  40. RuneE says:

    You seem to have enjoyed summer very much before, and the plans for this looks like a dream to me. Enjoy yourselves and have a nice summer!

  41. Otto, lovely captures that evoke the magic of a summer get-away. Wishing you safe and wonderful travels to La Ville-Lumière! 🙂

  42. Phillip says:

    Beautiful images Otto. I just loved mountains.

  43. Monica Amberger says:

    Hej Otto, underbara bilder från er vandring/klättring. Önskar dig fina och minnesvärda dagar tillsammans med barnen.
    Solvarma hälsningar
    Monica

  44. Louis says:

    Enjoy your break. The scenery in the Netherlands and Paris will be very different from the scenes above!

  45. Bindu says:

    Wow! Great places, great pictures. Enjoy the summer!

  46. Particularly love that last shot, Otto. Enjoy your trip back to The Netherlands and to Paris. We expect to hear something about that. 😉

  47. Wonderful images of the mountains! I still say you need to visit Colorado – I’d love to see the images you’d capture here!

  48. PC PHOTO says:

    Wonderful travels for you and family :}

  49. I’m not familiar with this area at all but it certainly looks gorgeous. You can almost smell the fresh air. I hope you enjoy your time with your kids.
    Happy Summer.

  50. rangewriter says:

    Although I hate putting people in my photos of the outdoors because they seem out of place (and often, I’m alone anyway) it sure does put things in scale to have humans in there somewhere. Hope you have a marvelous family vacation.

Leave a Reply

