The Cuban Experience

To eldre herrer slapper av på gatene i gamlebyen

De trange gatene i den gamle bydelen

Cuba is calling again! It’s time for a new photo workshop in this warm, lush and picturesque Caribbean island. My good friend and colleague Sven Creutzmann – and myself – are inviting photographers from all over the world to another astounding experience in Cuba. During eight days we will take you through a few of the most scenic and charming areas of one of the most special places you can imagine.

If you have never set foot on Cuba, you will be amazed about this country that is so different than anything else on Earth. No doubt for better and worse. But the fact remains that for a photographer Cuba is nothing less than an earthly paradise – whatever else one may think about this paradox of a nation. First of all it is the warm, passionate and welcoming people of Cuba. But it is so much more than that. It’s also the colours, the startling light, the cultural diversity, the striking decay that is imminent everywhere, the colonial heritage, the African influence, the strange mixture of the country’s religions, the contradiction between a society stuck in the 50’s and trying to catch up with a contemporary way of living; and the country’s energy and sensuality.

The photo workshop will take place from October 26th to November 2nd 2014. We start out with a couple of days exploring Havana, the bustling capital, and then head south to Trinidad, maybe one of the most beautiful towns on the Caribbean island where we will touch base for the rest of the time. Here Sven and I will give lectures, guidance and of course picture critique every day, but most importantly you will be out photographing this spellbinding scenery, society and its people.

Do you feel the call of Cuba? If you are interested in more information about this workshop please look up on the web site Come along to Cuba of Blue Hour Photo Workshop. See you in Cuba!?

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Tour, Photo Workshop, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to The Cuban Experience

  1. A wonderful project! Best of luck – it will be great…

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    I love Cuba! I just went for the first time a few months ago and am still writing about it. Would love to go there someday just for photography. Sounds amazing!

    • Then you know! And, yes, I have noticed you have posted about Cuba lately. 🙂

      • thirdeyemom says:

        I will await your posts with anxious anticipation! All my photos were taken on the go! I still managed 1400 of them but they were all very rushed! 🙂 Where are you going in Cuba? Have you been to Baracosa?

        • I have visited to quite a few places since I have been travelling to Cuba most every year for 20 years. And, yes, I have been to Baracoa – if that’s what you mean. It’s beautiful place!

          • thirdeyemom says:

            Wow, you’ve been to Cuba that much! That is amazing. You are so lucky you have the freedom to go there. We have to either sneak there or go on a very expensive cultural tour like I did. But I loved it. 🙂

  3. Dalo 2013 says:

    What a perfect opportunity to shoot…would love to join up with you all, just not the best timing. Sigh…I will be dreaming of Cuba all tonight, probably all week 🙂

  4. I love your photographs. The look and feel of a different world. Wish I could attend the workshop.

  5. lauramacky says:

    Sounds exciting!

  6. themofman says:

    My wife and I have been thinking about going to Cuba either this year or next year. The latter more likely. I’m not interested in the tourist resorts. I’m interested in the cultural aspects.

    • There are plenty of options to discover real Cuban culture – which you will only find outside of the tourists resorts. I am sure your wife and you will have a magnificent trip when you go.

  7. Paula says:

    Can’t think of a better place for some colourful street photography 🙂

  8. thesmittenimage says:

    Oh that sounds just wonderful. I know of so many people (fellow Canadians) who have vacationed in Cuba – all of them absolutely loved it there. I would love to see it through my camera lens. Maybe one day.

  9. Patrizia M. says:

    Sarebbe fantastico poter partecipare, ma per me è impossibile purtroppo 😦
    Buona fortuna, sarà sicuramente una splendida esperienza !!
    Ciao, Patrizia

  10. As much as I would love to participate, unfortunately for Americans there is so much “red-tape” and I have researched but this workshop does not fall into any of the allowable categories 😦
    I shall be there in spirit..

  11. treesshrubs says:

    Sounds fantastic…..maybe one day : ))

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    It sounds so exciting. Maybe one day further in to the future I will be able to join you on such a wonderful trip.

  13. Melimelo says:

    Best of luck with the workshop!

  14. It is still on my bucket list to do one of these workshops with you, Otto. I look forward to seeing the results right here when yo return.

  15. Patti Kuche says:

    One of these days Otto! All best for another exciting Cuban experience!

  16. lumar1298 says:

    I was born there and was back twenty years ago… Would live to see the pictures. Sad there’s so much decay…

  17. Sounds like a wonderful opportunity.

  18. Hope that your workshop fills up quickly.

  19. lesouffleurdemots says:

    Beautiful picture! I Like this face of Cuba! ( Bad english, sorry) 😉

  20. Chillbrook says:

    If I have a good summer Otto, it would be a dream come true to join you. Never say never.. 🙂

  21. Dina says:

    I hope to be able to attend a workshop with you one fine day, Otto. That’d be a special treat! 🙂
    Wishing you all the best for your coming WS in Cuba,
    Dina

  22. Andrew says:

    Love the two images you’ve used to start off this post, Otto. Thanks for the link to Sven’s site, too. All the best with the workshops.

  23. Geoff says:

    Have a great time at your workshops Otto … I’ve always wanted to visit Cuba too and I look forward to your reports 🙂

  24. twoscamps says:

    How I wish I could attend your workshop! I look forward to seeing more of your portraits…. it is a fascinating place. Happy travels. Maureen

  25. Phillip says:

    For a photographer who usually doesn’t photograph a lot of street scenes, I really like that first image. Great job Otto.

  26. I think I enjoy your trips to Cuba most of all, Otto. I love the photos you share of that interesting country, but in addition, I love the way you speak of the people. I can always feel the warmth of the people by the way you speak of them as friends. I hope you have a good group of fellow photographers who take advantage of this marvelous opportunity.

  27. 29 months until I retire and can participate in such activities. Hope you plan to go back in a few years.

    • Yes, there will be more workshops, although I obviously don’t have scheduled anything this far into the future yet. It will be a delight to have you attend, Deborah.

  28. Joanne says:

    I wish – sounds wonderful…

  29. Tish Farrell says:

    What a glorious project, and how lovely of you to arrange it in such a place.

  30. Pingback: A Family of Farmers | In Flow

Leave a Reply

