Workshops Done

Munchow_1634-051_E

Munchow_1634-003_E

Munchow_1634-037_E

Munchow_1634-069_E

An intense week of teaching a photo workshop in Villajoyosa, Spain, has come to an end. It was intense, but very fulfilling and great fun – I think for everybody. At least for me as the teacher the 10 participants were great to work with; they all put in a lot of energy, were willing to be pushed and taken out of their comfort zone, and came with enthusiasm and a positive spirit. And they all produced some great work during the week we spend together. My workshops aren’t exactly holidays, but the participants were willing to do the work; shooting long hours and sitting up all night editing pictures. Over the workshop they were all able to demonstrate considerable development, of course some more than others – which for me shows their dedication to the photographic process. Over the next half year or so I will present their strong body of work (along with the work by the participants of the eWorkshop I taught just before going to Villajoyosa). Today I present a handful of my own photos I was able to shoot in between teaching the workshop, but I am proud to say these photos don’t even come close to what the participants were able to produce. I look forward to present their work.

On a different note, I have been somewhat absent from the blogosphere over the last couple of weeks. In particular I have not been able to return your visits to my blog. The workshops simple took up most of my time. But I am back and will try to catch up with you over the next couple of weeks. Thanks for your patience.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photo Workshop, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Workshops Done

  1. emeraldwake says:

    Regards Amigo , i am back again ,like i see You are running strong too, Good job Otto , Peace

  2. Wish I was there, maybe next time!

  3. Any idea when you organise a workshop in my area??? 😀

  4. Looking forward to seeing your students’ work.

  5. kenkiz says:

    superbe ce traitement des couleurs

  6. Wonderful photographs. I think you mentioned perhaps the two of the most important aspects to growing as an artist here. Going out of your comfort zone and hard work.

  7. chrisrenney says:

    Fabulous portrait.

  8. Bindu says:

    Beautiful shots that portray various scenes of life. The third one looks interesting…

  9. Nandini says:

    Congratulations, Otto! 🙂
    Someday I’ll too attend one.

  10. Great Photos! Looks like a wonderful city.

  11. I love your photos, the colors are so vivid. I loved looking into the faces of the people of Spain. What a great opportunity for your students even if it is a bit taxing on you. Looking forward to seeing what your students have created.

  12. Gunta says:

    Wonderful people shots, Otto. Not to worry about catching up. I don’t know how you manage all you do!

  13. David Hall says:

    Wonderful series of photos Otto. I particularly like the third one of the group in the square. Love the colours and the strong lighting. Can’t wait to see the photos taken by your students, especially as you say that they are much better than yours. They must be really, really good 🙂

  14. Sounds like it was a success.. I can’t wait to see their work as from your pictures, it looks like a wonderful town..
    Welcome back to WP, Otto!!

  15. I am J says:

    I like the shadows in these photos, particularly the third one. I think these are great and if your students’ photos are better than these, I’d love to see them. It’s always nice whenever you are able to join us in the blogosphere!

  16. YellowCable says:

    I love all three pictures. They are pleasing and even happy feeling. You captured the right moments from the people in the pictures and transferred that into the picture very well. Excellent!

  17. Lisa Gordon says:

    It sounds like it was very successful, Otto.
    I look forward to seeing your students’ work.

  18. bearly says:

    The students surpassing the teacher? Sign me up 🙂

  19. Often these experiences bring such rewards and such hard work. I can imagine that you gave your students much more than they anticipated. Glad that it was worthwhile for you.

  20. Nel says:

    Love the portraits, Otto! 🙂

  21. I’m from Spain, currently living abroad. These photos just brought me back home – can’t wait to see more!

  22. Gertie says:

    Dygnet har bara 24 timmar och man kan aldrig hinna med allt man vill, men du hinner med mer än de flesta:)
    Har läst om dina workshops och jag förstår att du är en mycket duktig och uppskattad lärare…och det bästa av allt är att du själv verkar uppskatta det lika mycket som dina elever…det är stort, starkt och generöst…jag bugar.

    • Takk for vakre ord Gertie. Jeg synes det er fantastisk moro å kjøre workshop – ikke minst fordi man lærer like mye som deltakerne forhåpentligvis gjør. Da er det jo lett å bli litt entusiastisk. Så lenge jeg bare arrangerer workshops av og til, går jeg ikke lei.

  23. icastel says:

    What a lovely set of photographs, Otto 🙂 I wish I had been there. My favorite is the group of ladies standing in the sun. I really like light and shadow play … very nice. My curiosity was piqued by your post and images, so I had to read up a little on this coastal town. It looks like an awesome place to visit!

  24. liking what you are doing, the fundamental thing to get right, all else will follow. congrats and have a good rest!

  25. Chillbrook says:

    Some great images Otto. I was so sorry to miss this workshop and hope to join you in the future!

  26. Dina says:

    Sounds and look (!) like a huge success and a lot of fun! 🙂 I’m sure it’s a great experience of everyone and from the comments, clearly everyone would like to participate. Me included! 🙂

  27. Fabulous four photos! I’m glad it all went well for you. I look forward to seeing some of the work from the participants. That first photo speaks volumes.

  28. Beautiful shots from Spain Otto. And it;s good to have you back on WP 🙂

  29. Dalo 2013 says:

    A great write up, and what you say is so true…”taken out of their comfort zone, and came with enthusiasm and a positive spirit”. It goes well with what I mentioned to you just a little while ago: being put in a position (out of your comfort zone) makes it necessary to think about your photography and how/what you want to shoot…and that will make a person a better photographer. Perhaps even create a situation where the photographer begins to understand their own personal style/attraction. One day, sure hope to catch up with you and shoot 🙂

    The images you have are a great story of the area you were shooting ~ and love the opening shot. Cheers.

    • You are so right, a photographer being forced out of comfort zone pushes his or her way of thinking of how to approach the photographic process – and that will make him or her a better photographer.

  30. Glad to see you back on WP, Otto. I am sure the participants got to learn some amazing things from you. Thanks for sharing these photographs. It was hard to take my gaze away from the third one. Wonderful atmosphere and light in that one!

  31. Thank you for liking “Fluffy Bunny Overload.” I too have been busy over the past few weeks. I enjoyed reading this post and looking at your photos, and I look forward to seeing your students’ work as well. 🙂

  32. Elina says:

    I love these photos Otto, especially the last one is so sweet! Your workshops sound like a lot of work (in a good way) and great fun. I think you are a wonderful teacher/person and put a lot of effort and your heart into what you are doing. I’d love to participate in your workshop one day maybe when my children are a bit bigger. 🙂

  33. Monica says:

    Det gir meg ikke mindre lyst å delta i en workshop i denne vakre byen, etter disse bildene,- regner med at du gir et hint her på siden din hvis du planlegger et nytt kurs i framtiden?! Bortsett fra det henger jeg meg på Gerties ord,- hun sier det så bra!
    God helg til deg:)

    • God helh til deg og Monica. Og, ja, jeg regner med at det blir fler kurs i Villajoyosa, men tidspunkt er ennå ikke fastlangt. Først blir det imidlertid et fotokurs på Cuba til høsten.

  34. Beautiful photos Otto, great light and colors. I specially like the photo with the woman chatting….
    One thing is sure: your student are lucky to have a teacher like you.
    robert

  35. daisy says:

    I highly doubt that your photos “don’t come close” to the ones you will soon share — these are stunning. My favorite is the one of the three people talking — the long shadows speak to me.

  36. I wish I could have been one of the participants! One day…
    I love your photos and can’t wait to see the ones from your students.

  37. Love these Photos. Thank you for sharing them. Judy

  38. rangewriter says:

    Love those portraits. I still can’t seem to aim a camera at any face that doesn’t have lots of fur on it.

Leave a Reply

