Finding Your Photographic Voice

Finding Your Voice_Poster

Would you like to improve you photographic skills – become better at capturing pictures which show and tell what you saw for your inner eye when pushing the shutter button? Would your like to develop you personal photographic voice, the distinctive way of conveying how you see the world around you?

I am finally offering this complete new eWorkshop about photography that I have already mentioned a couple of times before on my blog. As you may know I do various photo workshops around the world, the latest now to take place in Spain this May. At the same time I realize that attending such a workshop can be quite an expensive treat. That is why I have developed this new eWorkshop which will not cut as deeply into the wallet.

«Finding Your Photographic Voice» is a workshop which you can do at home. You only need a camera (any will do), and be willing to put in some effort into developing your photographic seeing. The interaction between me and you will by over the internet. Quite uncomplicated in other words. In a more practical sense it will take place over eight weeks. For each week you will receive a little booklet (as a PDF-file) beforehand with inspirations, thoughts, knowledge and ideas for your shooting the next week. Then you will have a week to do the various assignments, of which you will send me an edited selection. Finally you will receive my comments about the photos, included suggestions for improvement – and in which direction I believe you should move you photography. Each week’s booklet consists of 8 to 15 pages of inspiration and ideas, which means that by the end of this eWorkshop you will have a whole book of more than 80 pages about photographic seeing and capturing.

This is not a workshop about technique, but about the visual language, how to develop your vision, what you should look for in orders to create catching pictures. As I write in the preface of the first booklet: This distinctive voice that is the focus of the workshop isn’t something «solely based on technical competence although many photographers put all their energy into technical mastery. It isn’t something that is only related to how we use our media, but it’s a combination of how we see the world, how we interpret it and how we express this view through our chosen, artistic media.»

«Finding Your Photographic Voice» is for all levels. You definitely don’t have to be a photographer as such – only wanting to develop your photography. Since it’s not about technique any level of technical knowledge is good enough. My focus with the workshop is really to develop your photographic voice. Of course what you are able to express and how you do it, will depend on your technical level, but not knowing much will not prevent you from developing your voice and becoming a better photographer.

The topics for the eight weeks are:
• Seeing as a photographer. The basics of the visual language
• Understanding colours and the interaction of colours
• Graphic elements of the camera and how it interprets the vision
• The passionate voice, the link to making engaging pictures
• The five elements that make up a good photograph
• Doing the work. Thoughts for developing the photographic vision
• Subject and subject matter. How to bring focus to the story of the picture
• Vision driven photography. The road further on

The eWorkshop will be limited to 10 people on a first come first serve basis. It will start on the week of February 24th. I will create a group where all participants can post their photos and where my response and picture critique will be visible for all participants. Since this is a first time for this eWorkshop I will offer it for half the normal price.

The price for eight the eight weeks eWorkshop is US dollars 120,-. This time only.

Does it sound interesting? Sign up by sending me an email or use the same email to ask more about the workshop.

I look forward to seeing you in «Finding Your Photographic Voice».

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Finding Your Photographic Voice

  1. Angeline M says:

    I’ve sent you an e-mail to ask about registration, and being able to participate if ten people haven’t signed up already. I really look forward to this!

  2. thesmittenimage says:

    Sounds like a good idea. At a different time, I might find that it would draw me in. Good luck with this endeavor.

  3. Reggie says:

    What a wonderful idea, and a really generous offer, Otto!

  4. Dalia Daud says:

    Hi

    I’ve dropped an email to you for more information
    Sounds really interesting
    Hopefully the slots are not full yet

  5. fotonita says:

    For et generøst tilbud! Jeg ønsker å delta, har sendt deg en email. Håper det fortsatt er plass!
    Ønsker deg en god dag! : )

  6. suej says:

    Hi Otto, I’ve just sent an e-mail asking you to sign me up in the hope that 10 people have not already signed up!

  7. RuneE says:

    Dette virker interessant – jeg får ta en titt på agendaen 🙂

  8. Jackie says:

    This is a wonderful and generous offer! I’m sure it will be very beneficial to photographers. Best of luck with it. 😀

  9. I’d love to participate, too, Otto! Although, I may have to be away at the March 10 and 17 meetings, because I’ll be travelling. But I can read the text and do my assignments. Perhaps we can work something out? Will you be using Skype?

    • I don’t think being away one week will be a problem. You could either try to catch up the next week – or even wait till after the rest of the workshop is done. All communication will be by writing.

  10. Wishing you all the best on your venture Otto. An excellent opportunity for photographers for sure!

  11. viveka says:

    Otto, fantastic opportunity … and an adventure for you too – a lot of work involved, I’m not able too – not this time … I wish you and your “pupils” Good Luck! I could really need some critical guidance.

  12. Monica says:

    Dette høres veldig interessant ut, Otto,- det er kanskje allerede fullt innen jeg så dette… men sender deg en mail uansett for å sjekke…:)

  13. thirdeyemom says:

    I would love to do this sometime! If you run it again in the spring or summer please let me know as I’d be interested in checking it out.

  14. What an opportunity! I would love to revisit this at a future date. Best of luck to everyone.

  15. The timing could not be better..I’ve spent the better part of today researching different e-workshops.. this sounds perfect.. will register in the morning..
    Lynne

  16. This is a wonderful opportunity for your 10 candidates. It will be interesting to see how it works out. I hope it becomes an annual offering.

  17. Sun says:

    another great idea, Otto. too much on my plate now but definitely look forward to future ones. all the best.

  18. I would love to take this course! Right now even the half price course isn’t in my budget, unfortunately. If I get more real estate business between now and then, I’ll check back to see if a miracle has occurred and there is an opening! I hope you offer the course again!

  19. Otto, I know that each participant will have a memorable experience with you as photographic coach. I’d like to take the course, especially at the introductory price. But I begin a course in Environmental Ethics in two weeks. One cannot do it all. I wish that you would offer this course beginning In May for the introductory price. Certainly the workshop is a way for your readers to experience your teaching skills and your talents.

    • Thank you Sally. You are very, one cannot do it all – although we sometimes try – and learn our lessons. I will offer the workshop again, but I don’t know when at this moment. Most likely it’s not going to be in May, because then I have some of my other workshops running.

  20. WOW Otto ! This is a wonderful opportunity for people to work with you. And a lot of work for you. As has been said, one cannot do it all. Right now I am not able to do the course justice. Have fun. I predict you will have a waiting list for the next time you offer this course 🙂 Have fun. Carla

  21. Inge says:

    It does sound interesting indeed! Hopefully I could join you someday. I wish you and whoever enroll in this eWorkshop best of luck! 🙂

  22. dakub says:

    Hallo Otto, are you already fully booked for the workshop? I would like to register. Let me know if it’s still possible. Greetings, Dominika

    • The workshop was booked within two days. Sorry to not be able to have more space to offer. If you send me your email, though, I will put you on an email listing and let know about the next eWorkshop before I announce it. Thanks for being interested in it.

  23. Pingback: Photography between personal voice and photovoice | street62.com, the lensworker world

  24. Dina says:

    What a great idea, Otto! This is a most generous offer. I see I’m too late for this eWorkshop. I’d like to register for the next one.
    Wishing you all a great time and lots of fun,
    Dina

  25. M says:

    Hej Otto, stort tack för din fina kommentar på min blogg, uppskattas mycket. Fick du något svar från mig ang din e-workshop?
    Hälsningar
    Monica

    • Hei Monica!
      Jeg har dessverre ikke mottatt noen epost fra deg angående min eworkshop. Har nettoppp gått gjennom all innkommende post, men fant ingenting. Kan du ikke sende den igjen?

  26. Otto-this sounds wonderful and I would love to be included on the next go-round-

  27. Carrie says:

    Well I don’t have internet here at my winter desert home. But would be most interested possible another time you do this.

  28. Pingback: Gifted Students | In Flow

  29. Annmarie says:

    It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this web page, i am visiting
    this web site dailly and obtain pleasant data from here
    every day.

Leave a Reply

