One for the Blog Community

Awards are a way of saying we appreciate each others blogs. I like the encouragement and well-intentioned thought behind nominating blogs. That’s the positive side of giving and creating attention to blogs we follow or find interesting and well edited. At the same time, being one who has received a few awards, I am somewhat ambient to showcasing these nominations I have received. It’s like patting myself on the shoulders. Some bloggers decide to say no – for this or other reasons, and I have to admit I have been considering this myself over the last year or so. Still, I have fallen down on a different decision based on the fact that one of the beauties of blogging is how I have been able come in contact with so many inspiring persons and their ideas. The exchange of thoughts and ideas makes the blog-sphere such a lively and heartening community. And by accepting awards and then re-nominating bloggers I can maybe create some attention to all those wonderful blogs they create. Nominating other bloggers is one way to pay back to this wonderful community.

It’s about a year since I last nominated a couple of bloggers and since then I have received a handful of new nominations myself. Most of the awards I have already been nominated for in the past, so I will just give the persons who nominated me an appreciated thank you – and hopefully by referring to their blogs also create some attention back to them. Remember these are bloggers who have already received awards and thus absolutely worthwhile checking up.

First out is Carla Saunders who nominated me for the One Lovely Blog more than a year ago. Carla’s Blog is full of travel impressions, beautiful photos and her lovely drawings and paintings.

Yulia has nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Her blog In Search of Perfect is full of travels from around the world. Maria Thunholm has also nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Her blog Paris en Photographies showcases telling and poetic photos, mostly black and white; and mostly from Paris. Finally also Michele has nominated me for the same award. Her blog Musing on Arab Culture tells in words and pictures how it is to live in the Arabian Peninsula through a Western woman’s eyes.

Elizz has nominated me for the Beautiful Blogger Award. In her blog My Sweetpainteddreams Elizz blogs about everything that interests her, about her cats and dogs, about photography and about moments of life.

Melody has nominated me for the Versatile Bloggers Award. Her Donkey Wisperer Farm Blog talks about donkeys, life on a farm and bring religious thoughts.

Mark Goodwin has nominated me for the Blog of the Year 2012 Award. His blog Mark Goodwin Photography showcase mostly nature and wildlife photography. Great photos by the way, but unfortunately he has not been very active on his blog lately.

Sally W. Donatello has nominated me for the Sunshine Award. Her blog Lens and Pens by Sally is a cornucopia of beautiful photos, in particular pictures taken with a cell phone. Among other things she has created the Phoneography Challenge. Finally Mary O. Conner has nominated me for the same award. Her blog Life is Full of Sweet Spots is an exploration of joy, of art and of words.

I want to thank all these great people for their nominations. I feel very honoured to be considered. These are all awards I have previously been nominated for. So instead of nominating new blogs, I will just ask you to please look up their blogs, they are all excellent blogs.

I will wrap up this round with for me a complete new award. Hotel Babble-on has nominated me to the Super Sweet Blogging Award. Thank you! The official rules of award acceptance:

1 – Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.

2 – Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back.

3 – Answer the “Super Sweet” questions.

4 – Nominate a “Baker’s Dozen” (award 13 blogs), link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs. It’s ok if you don’t have 13 blogs to nominate, just share the love!

5 – Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere.

Super Sweet Questions:
Cookies or Cake?
I am not big on either, but a gooey cake I certainly can handle!

Chocolate or Vanilla?
Chocolate no doubt!

What is your favourite sweet treat?
Ice cream – particularly from Häagen-Dazs. My new favourite: Bourbon pecan praline…

When do you crave sweet things the most?
When I am hungry.

If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?
Mr. Ice Cream.

And my Baker’s Dozen:
cruzdelsur
A heartical view
andelieya 安德洌雅 (official)
Austin Vivid Photography
BeeCee
Beth Poe: Project 365
Buntscheck
Candid Impressions
dairyofapoet
China Sojourns Photography
David Oaks – Images. An Occasional Diary
El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo
Gracie Binoya Photography

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to One for the Blog Community

  1. Inge says:

    You deserved all those nominations, Mr. Ice Cream! 😀
    Congrats to you, Otto. 🙂

  2. Angeline M says:

    Congratulations on all the awards and how you’ve chosen to respond. Thanks for the links to a whole group of blogs to explore.
    Bourbon Pecan Praline Haagen Dazs sounds pretty darn good, thanks for the intro to that too!

  3. Lisa Gordon says:

    A very big and truly well-deserved congratulations to you, Otto!!

  4. I think you have done this very well. I became an award free site and respect the time involved in posting them. Congrats and blessings. Belinda

  5. fgassette says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Phillip says:

    Congratulations Otto!

  7. Congratulations Otto!
    Thank you for mentioning my blog. I am always pleased and always pleasantly surprised when I see a comment from you on one of my posts. You have so many followers and you have time for me! I do agree with you, the exchange of ideas between the blogging community, worldwide, is a good thing. Plus, it’s fun.
    Haagen Dazs Rum Raison 🙂

  8. niasunset says:

    Congratulations dear Otto, and Thank you for all these introductions of blogs… have a nice weekend, love, nia

  9. Michele LMS says:

    Most kind of you to mention my blog in your post, Otto! I look forward to future posts from “In Flow.” The sensitivity and “human factor” you lend to your photographs is heartwarming and insightful!

  10. Congratulations and well deserved. Your gracious spirit, humanity, talent and generosity shines through your photos and your words, therefore the thoughtful and kind recognition.

  11. Otto, congrats on your well deserved awards. I’ve had a few but over time as I update my blog theme I don’t replace them. I certainly agree with some of the rules, best being “do display with thanks where the award came from”

    Thanks for your recent visit! : )

  12. The Hook says:

    Congratulations on being recognized and awarded for your brilliance and ability to recognize and highlight what others never notice at all.

  13. Well deserved, every one, Otto. I look forward to checking out some of the blogs you have pointed out.

  14. Otto, you are one of the people whose path I crossed during my own blogging journey. I am grateful to have found you. You have a keen ability to see the world through discerning eyes, yet you also exhibit a sincerity and truth within your own photographs and words. You have a willingness to give and share with others through education and example. These awards are a way for those of us who have gotten to know you to thank you for being you.

  15. I admire your tribute to others along this journey…peace to you.

  16. Dear Otto, your kindness, active participation and communication, your informative and thought-provoking posts, and your professionalism are a real asset to the WP community!

  17. likeitiz says:

    Another bunch of awards! So fitting for a wonderful blog. Way to go, Otto!

  18. PC PHOTO says:

    Thanks for sharing your nominations with us it will be fun to visit their sites and get inspiration.

  19. Francina says:

    Congratulations, Otto, I will check out your recommendations.
    groetjes, Francina .

  20. You deserve all of those awards! Mr. Ice Cream, huh?

  21. Congratulations! An award that inspires and motivates people.

  22. Congrats Otto and the nominees

  23. djmrakiey says:

    Your humility and kindness shines ♥ Congratulations !

  24. Sun says:

    ♥congratulations, Mr. Ice Cream – your work inspires many and so, you are honored. wonderful. 🙂

  25. munchow says:

    Thank you everybody for the generous and wonderful feedback. I am blushing all the way down to my toes. May you all have a wonderful weekend!

  26. dalo2013 says:

    Congratulations Otto, very well deserved award…I enjoy and take away something special & memorable from both your words and photos. Appreciate your nomination, like you say the amount of sharing and meeting so many inspiring people in the WordPress community is incredible ~ the exchange of ideas and thoughts. Thank you, take care!

  27. YellowCable says:

    I know I am reading this late. Your thoughts about awards are a nail in the head for me. I do receive just few but I am still partial about it. Your write up gives me a different perspective on this. You always have very good thoughts and a late congratulations.

Leave a Reply

