Come along to Cuba

Munchow_1197-125

Munchow_1197-149

Munchow_1197-135

The photographic workshop I am teaching in October this year, still has space left for anyone who is interested in joining an intense and very rewarding workshop. Over the eight days the workshop takes place we will focus on the creative process of photography. You will get a chance to work on your own project with feedback from two very experienced world-photographers who knows Cuba in and out. My colleague – and friend – Sven Creutzmann will take you through the amazing cultural landscape of Cuba, this fascinating and contradictory Caribbean country. If you follow this blog, you know me – at least to some extent, but Sven is a rewarding-winning photographer working for magazines like GEO, Stern, Spiegel, New York Times Magazine and is a member of Corbis Image. Come along on this extraordinary workshop and discover a country full of colours, sensuality and strong cultural roots. The workshops starts out in Havana with its blend of decay, revolution and intense living, then heads out to the picturesque Trinidad, one of the most scenic, colonial cities in Cuba. The workshop takes place between October 7th and 14th 2013.

FOR MORE INFO

Another bit of exciting news – at least for me: In addition to this workshop in Cuba I will soon launch a whole new eWorkshop. This will be a workshop you can take at home, going over eight weeks where I will put you on the track of finding your photographic voice. You will receive a little PDF-booklet every week with information, ideas and thoughts on the week’s theme as well as photographic assignments. I will the review the pictures and give you feedback on your work. This is really going to help you find a direction in your photography. Stay in tune. I will soon be back with more concrete information.

Finding Your Voice_2

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Tour, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Come along to Cuba

  1. Phillip says:

    Wonderful series of shots Otto. I love places like this. They often times appear as if time has stood still.

  2. Photos close to home says:

    Looking forward to more information about your e-workshop. Really enjoy your work.

  3. That sounds like an amazing workshop! The Eworkshop will be an equally–amazing opportunity! Wow, you recharged your batteries and have very full and rewarding chapters in your future!

  4. wow, how i would love to be there! being Cuban and having to leave, it’s hard to come back for me. I left at the age of 1 year old but gave up my citizenship! It’s been one of my DREAMS to go back and photograph!!!

    • munchow says:

      I can certainly understand that going back to Cuba is a dream for you. Might be somewhat difficult, though, wouldn’t it? Thank for stopping my, Lazaro!

  5. niasunset says:

    How exciting, I really wished to join this workshop, especially with you, maybe one day in the future, Good Luck. Thanks and Love, nia

  6. Så spennende med både Cuba og eworkshop! Ser frem til mer info om den siste – tror det kan være noe for meg! ; )

  7. Viveka says:

    Beautiful photos and this about your workshop very exciting stuff. Never been to Cuba, but I have a couple of friends that been there and they all just love it. Sweden is a bit too fare away from Cuba, but I will follow your adventure.

    • munchow says:

      As you say a little further down, we are almost neighbours, so Cuba would be more or less equally far away for both of us… But, yes, it is far away. Most people visiting Cuba, though, like you friends, end up being in love with the country. Thanks for the comment, Viveka!

  8. Viveka says:

    Norway is fare from Cuba too … just read that your lives in Norway. Exciting with a next door neighbor. I and your eWrokshop could be something for me.

  9. David Hall says:

    Agree with Phillip, a wonderful series of shots and I too love places like this. Old crumbling plaster and the colour that only seems to be available in places like this. Waiting for more Otto. 🙂

  10. KBellSays says:

    I feel so drawn to this place. Like every second is a photo-op. I have deffo added this on to my bucket list. Massive HASHTAG WUNDERLUST!

  11. Sunshine says:

    I am sure this will be, as always, a very rewarding and memorable time for anyone who joins you and Sven. All the best and will look forward to your updates.

  12. Sounds like a dream and a perfect opportunity. Wish I could.

  13. lensandpensbysally says:

    Your art always inspires. While the workshop is enticing, October is not possible. I would like to learn more about the eWorkshop, which may be the way to learn more from you.

    • munchow says:

      Well, likewise I find your blog very inspiring. New workshops will come around in the years to come. As for the eWorkshop, more info will be posted in a couple of weeks, as I have mentioned in a couple of comments already. Thank you for the comment, Sally!

  14. Great photos and workshop offerings!

  15. Beautiful images Otto. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your eWorkshops.

  16. jotaemebede says:

    I´d love to be there… It seems a great oportunity to learn and know a awesome country!
    Enjoy!

    Jota.

  17. Sandra says:

    I wish.
    I’ve taught History of Cuba and The Cuban Revolution, but to go there to photograph would be supreme!
    Needless to say, a teacher cannot afford such luxuries 🙂 Have a great time!

  18. Unfortunately I don’t have the money to go and I’ll have to stay at my boring job…

  19. Colette says:

    j’adore ! très belles photos ! bravo

  20. Lisa Gordon says:

    These are wonderful images, Otto.
    I especially love the first one.
    Sure wish I could be at that workshop.

  21. Candace says:

    Such interesting and beautiful photos you make.

  22. I’ve always thought Cuba would be an interesting place to go. Thanks for sharing it with your beautiful photos. Good luck with your workshops!

  23. Lisaman says:

    One day I’ll make it to a photographic workshop and I definitely want to get to Cuba!

  24. dalo2013 says:

    Beautiful series of shots, and Cuba will be a destination I must visit someday…would be a great place to meet up.

  25. Dina says:

    Sounds very interesteing, I wish you luck and lots of fun. The first image is my favourite, a real eyecatcher. It has all it takes to make a winner.

  26. I always enjoy your posts and photos after you’ve returned from Cuba. I will look forward to some exciting vicarious travel. And congratulations on your new venture. I can only imagine it will be very popular. I am also sure a lot of work, but isn’t it exciting what can be accomplished on-line!

  27. RuneE says:

    Cuba må være fscinerende, men er uaktuell for meg av mange årsaker. E-workshops høres derimot mer aktuelt ut!

    • munchow says:

      Cuba er veldig fascinerende, men jeg skjønner godt at det finnes mange grunner til ikke å reise dit. Jeg vil komme tilbake med mer info om eWorkshopen. Takk for kommentaren, Rune!

  28. Jessica says:

    Lovely! If I could afford the trip down there for the workshop, I would! I love your work!

  29. Tina Schell says:

    Wonderful images Otto! Cuba comes to life on the screen!

  30. The Hook says:

    I need to go. Now!

  31. Beautiful pictures! Would be cool to take part at your online workshops, although my experience in photography does not actually exist… Are these only for people, who can already call them photographers or for complete beginners as well? Greets from Poland 🙂

    • munchow says:

      My workshops are for photographers of all levels. I have had complete beginnings as well as long time professionals in my workshops. I put emphasize on the creative process and making picture, so it doesn’t matter what technical level you are at. Thanks for your interest and for your comment, Agnieszka!

  32. That is an exciting news! The eWorkshop is a brilliant idea to develop one’s photography skills. Beautiful images of Cuba. A piece of a rich, treasure of the past and its culture with each picture.

  33. RobynG says:

    Beautiful images!

  34. The photos are outstanding, Otto. Someday I will join you.

  35. Luiza says:

    Nice nice nice. Would like to go there, only to see the old cars♥

  36. Great series. Always wanted to photograph there!

  37. Patrizia M. says:

    Fantastica serie di scatto, molto belli!!

  38. Judy says:

    I love the textures and colors of these images. A photo visit to Cuba sounds so wonderful!! I enjoy the time locked feel of places like this. Years ago for me it was the Phillipines but I was more interested in underwater photography then and only wish I’d spent more time on the people and the life! Later I visited Egypt and there also enjoyed being at the portal of another time. Good luck with your journey; it will be wonderful!!

    • munchow says:

      Thank you for the nice words, Judy! Yes, Cuba is going to be great, it’s a fantastic place for any photographer. I have never been to neither the Phillipenes nor Egypt, they both look like very amazing places.

  39. MARIE says:

    Very good pix ! interresting work…

  40. Phil Vaughn says:

    Simply beautiful photos, Otto. When you and your students bring more like these back home after the workshop, you will have some lovely treasures and wonderful memories to be sure.

  41. joshi daniel says:

    the first picture is so cool 🙂

  42. Beautiful photos Otto-Cuba seems like such a fascinating place for photographers-such contrasts to be seen-and I look forward to hearing more about your e-course!

  43. lucylingphotography says:

    I have just spent last hour reading and looking at the photos on your blog ! Wow !! I am now following and looking forward to reading more from you in the future
    Best wishes
    Lucy

Leave a Reply

