Rural Farming

The Danish photographer Anita Corpas has captured some strong photographs of rural farm life in Eastern Bolivia that shows not only the hardship of farm life but also the farmers’ zest for life. The pictures were taken during the photo workshop «On the Tracks of Che Guevara» in April this year. For more pictures of Anita, look up the presentation of her Bolivian work on Blue Hour Photo Workshops.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography, Photojournalism, Travel Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Rural Farming

  1. Angeline M says:

    The coloring, or lack there of, has a sort of soft feeling to it, in spite of the rugged scene. Wow!

  2. Thanks for the link to her site Otto, those are some great shots.

    Love your blog, it’s very inspiring in terms of how you examine the human condition.

  3. Thanks for introducing us to her and her photos!

  4. The tones are so strong that a push-and-pull (figuratively and literally) tempt us to stay engaged.

  5. A very good one, she saw the moment..

  6. janechese says:

    Can’t get over the strong graphics here-love black and white and this particular composition..

  7. Patti Kuche says:

    What a wonderful photo – that cow is seriously relaxed in spite of the farmer’s efforts. Love the face of the observer cow!

  8. It’s amazing how one picture can capture both the hardship and joys of a group of people. I’d been to a lot of rural areas in the Philippines and despite of life’s challenges, you can see genuine happiness that you don’t see for some that are materially blessed. It’s true that “simple life is a happier life.”

  9. Sony Fugaban says:

    That picture resonates the life we have back in my hometown. I’m lucky and happy that up to now, there’s not much of a change in the way farmers to things there. Seeing thing the way it were 25 years ago makes me really connected to the good old days when I help my family plow the fields. I hope it will stay way forever.

  10. Sony Fugaban says:

    That picture resonates the life we have back in my hometown. I’m lucky and happy that up to now, there’s not much of a change in the way farmers do things there. Seeing things the way it were 25 years ago makes me really connected to the good old days when I still help my family plow the fields. I hope it will stay way forever.

  11. niasunset says:

    wonderful moment was captured,amazing. Thank you dear Otto, love, nia

  12. In my post today I’ve nominated you for the Shine On! Award. You deserve it.

  13. mbfitzmahan says:

    Thank you for the link to your book on Bolivia. Wonderful.

  14. The Hook says:

    A beautiful snapshot of a life most of us could never imagine, much less live.
    Thank you, for sharing.

  15. I don’t like to see the guy pulling the poor cow’s tail! I hate to see people being mean to animals. There is always a better way.

  16. Roland Theys says:

    Vert good bw Otto!

  17. Phillip says:

    What a strong image! I just sat and watched it for a while.

  18. Hehe, seems like that cow isn’t co-operating.

  19. Carrie says:

    Reminds me of the other day trying to get a pet donkey across a bridge then giving that up and trying to get it across the creek. Needless to say I ended up hiking my skirt up and crossing the creek several time to get it to cross. This time of the year a skirt is a must around my place as the mosquitoes are so bad and yet pants are too hot. Also I seem to always find myself in situations where I have to cross the creek, so a skirt at this time of the summer is perfect. The image certainly captured the frustration in the farmer.

  20. Sunshine says:

    The work may be hard but it seems from the photographer’s view, these people truly find value, sense of peace and richness in their livihood & life. Great share.

Leave a Reply

