Where the Ice Flows

Munchow_1585-526_E

Munchow_1585-519_E

Exit Glacier er en brearm til den store isbreen Hardings Icefield

Munchow_1585-506_E

Exit Glacier er en brearm til den store isbreen Hardings Icefield

På vei innover mot en brearm til Portage Glacier

Munchow_1585-520_E

Munchow_1585-540_E

About a week ago I got back from a quick trip to Alaska. First time visit for me. We were there for a wedding, but of course we took the opportunity to roam around a little and discover what Alaska had to offer – an abundance of nature and wildlife, and some really nice small-towns spread among fjords, white caped mountains and gigantic glaciers and ice fields. Unnecessary to say I took a lot of photos. Although we got to see all kinds of wildlife, ranging from humpback whales, orcas and sea lions to sea otters, moose, eagles and all kinds of other birds, it was more than anything the vast fields of ice digging their way through mountain ranges and throwing themselves into the fjords or lakes, that impressed me. Coming close to a glacier brings forth a sense of prehistoric era, of gargantuan, almost threatening organisms and of coldness, slow-moving danger and respect. The photos shown here are taken around the Kenai Peninsula and processed in Photoshop to create some of the feeling the glacier struck with me. This will not be my last time visiting Alaska.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to Where the Ice Flows

  1. seekraz says:

    I like the processing, Otto…..have never been to Alaska, but it would be a dream to be there.

  2. What an amazing glacier. Otto.

    I would love to visit Alaska and the National Parks there. The best I can do is look at this type of glacial formation on my Alaskan and Himalayan dvd documentaries (of which I have quite a number).

    I like the editing effect you gave your images – make them look like photos or film from the early 20th century explorers.

  3. karmami says:

    Sounds like a beautiful and interesting place should go there some day

  4. My brother was in Alaska not long ago and was impressed. He said the colors were amazing as I can see here.

  5. Jackie says:

    Wonderful captures! I really like what you did with processing. I visited Alaska years and years ago and would like to return one day.

  6. drawandshoot says:

    These are beautiful, Otto. Such majesty.

  7. Bashar A. says:

    Nice photos… now I want to go 🙂

  8. Kari Anne says:

    Amazing photos. The feelings you have for the place shine through 🙂

  9. Love your choice of colors and effects. It added to the already beautiful landscape.

  10. David Hall says:

    Interesting processing, certainly a step away from your usual output Otto. Reminds me of hand coloured prints of yesteryear. Great series.

  11. niasunset says:

    WOW! They are amazing. Thank you dear Otto, Love, nia

  12. Fantastiske bilder og landskap! Liker godt etterbehandlingen du har gitt bildene.

  13. Your interpretation via processing reminds me of archival photographs by earlier explorers. You’ve given the scenery a past-meets-present ambience. Truly, capturing the confluence of environmental issues with the wild. As usual your skills and talents show. How fortunate you are to have had this experience.

    • munchow says:

      I am glad you see my processing as a reminder of earlier explorers. That’s the feeling I wanted to convey. Thanks for the wonderful feedback, Sally.

  14. cocomino says:

    What a beautiful world. Thanks for sharing.

  15. I always think that Alaska has beauty beyond description. But your photos capture it and describe it wonderfully.

  16. Very beautiful. I like what you did in PhotoShop. Let’s hope the glaciers stick around so you can keep photographing them.

  17. You have captured “The Flow” perfectly with your photos and processing. Everyone I know who has ever been there is totally overwhelmed by the beauty and majesty of the ice. Most, like you, say they will go again.

  18. These are fantastic Otto. I love the post processing treatment.

  19. Yvonne says:

    Wow, awesome photos!!

  20. Just fantastic! Great shots.

  21. Anne-Lene says:

    Nydelige bilder, Otto!

  22. Pingback: Where the Ice Flows | Blue Hour Photo Workshops

  23. J.A. Vas says:

    your amazing photos of ice look paradoxically as warm as the summer in Berlin: hot! for, to me, some of them resemble deserts. great effect! 🙂

  24. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a beautiful series of images, Otto!

  25. You are a very creative soul…gorgeous.

  26. Patti Kuche says:

    These gorgeous shots have such a timeless sense of discovery and awe about them, beautiful!

  27. Marvelous Otto. I appreciate the processing. It really does allow one to see and feel the ice in a way that an ordinary photo may not.

  28. Lisaman says:

    Glaciers are amazing.. stunning way of showing it in these photos!!!

  29. Tieryas says:

    Incredlbe photos!

  30. How wonderful for you to see Alaska in person. Thanks for sharing the beauty.

  31. aquariosa says:

    Great photos and processing! And thank you for drop by to mine.

  32. You’ve really brought out the textures marvellously here, Otto!

  33. Arindam says:

    These photos are beautiful. Can I ask you, what do you use to process these photos. Great stuff, Otto!!

    • munchow says:

      The processing is a little bit elaborate. I first processed the pictures regularly in Lightroom and Photoshop. Then I made a mask for each photograph as a mapping for the filter Lens Blur to make a resemblance of having used a tilt-and-shift lens. I continued with adding different pictures of rusty metal plates to each photo, desaturated them, set the blending mode to vivid light or pen light or some of the other blending modes in that category (depending on each photo) and lowered the opacity to around 40 percent. Finally I used the Bi-Color Filter in Color Efex Pro and again lowered the opacity of the layer to around 40 percent to offset the colours in the photographs.

  34. So beautiful! I love your processing of them. My husband lived in Alaska for a year or two before we were married, and we’ve always said we’d visit. Still haven’t!

  35. Stunning images Otto that really convey the enormity and beauty of the glacier and the processing in photoshop has really added a terrific finish to already intersiting images. One gets the feeling of the coolness of the ice as well as the fact that they can be very dirty due to the scree debris. Thanks for sharing these and have a great weekend. James

  36. Morgan says:

    Breathtaking….I can almost feel the chill ( feels wonderful, too!!) Thanks for sharing this portion of the world with us 🙂

  37. Luiza says:

    …Alaska… I’m a little jealous..
    Beautiful captures!

  38. The Hook says:

    What beautiful desolation.

  39. Beautiful photos. I’m sure a lot of people would like to be visiting there right now since we all seem to be in a heat wave.

    • munchow says:

      You are probably right about that, although I do enjoy this the warm summer. Then again I am not down south. Thanks for the comment.

  40. Nun bin ich wieder zu Hause. Hatte viel Glück bei allen. Bin noch von der Schaufel gesprungen! Weiteres, später. LG. Wolfgang

  41. dalo2013 says:

    Great shots and with great processing. While I think the shot themselves are terrific, it is the processing that makes me stare at each one a little longer as I gather in the mood you generated. Very good, like Edmund Hillary should be walking down one of those glaciers.

  42. munchow says:

    Thank you for a wonderful comment.

  43. Gertie says:

    Underbart att se dina bilder från Alaska, tusen tack för dem!
    Jag längtar!
    På väg dit…åker till Anchorage 14 augusti och hem från Seattle en månad senare…däremellan väntar sköna vyer, strapatsrika utflykter, kryssning från Whittier till Vancouver och mycket, mycket mer:)
    See You!

    • munchow says:

      Takk for vakre ord, Gertie. Jeg ønsker deg en fantastisk tur til Alaska senere i år. Høres ut some en veldig spennende tur!

  44. Roland Theys says:

    Great composition and good photo!

  45. hello, sir Otto… that must have been an overwhelming experience. ice, ice, ice, haha. wonderful picture series… 🙂

  46. mirrorgirl says:

    Really amazing! Looks like the glaciers in Norway:)

    • munchow says:

      They do look like glaciers in Norway except these might even be more grandiose – and we hardly have any glaciers calving in the sea, which is quite a spectacular scenery. Thank for commenting, Nina.

  47. Sunshine says:

    The master photographer…as always, inspiring and bringing wonderful places I would love to visit. Grateful for cyberspace travel…are there polar bears? Saw a documentary about the rapid loss of ice space for these beautiful animals and their problems coping. Hope they can keep up with environmental changes.

  48. These pictures are very beautiful. I was just scrolling down but they got me stopping… Mountains can be so haunting in some way. I recently even wrote a post about how much I love them :). The effect you put on the pics make them even more nostalgic to me. I’m really glad I saw these!

  49. Fergiemoto says:

    Stunning images and very effective processing to give them a vintage look. I have been to Alaska and was in awe of those spectacular glaciers.
    The processing gives me a nostalgic feeling similar to what I experience when I look at old postcards I have from Yellowstone.

  50. Phil Vaughn says:

    Alaska has always been on my list of “must-see” places. Your photos make that desire even stronger. Very nice processing, too! It reminds me of old slides (which, to me, is a good thing).

  51. likeitiz says:

    Great photos, Otto. Is it just the time of the year or does the ice seem thin? Still beautiful though. Have never been there. I should probably put it in my list of places to see

  52. KarenAnn says:

    I love the way you have interpreted what you saw in Alaska…the processed images are wonderfully done! My fave is the next to the last image.

  53. Very fine series; thanks for sharing. Overwhelming creatures, those glaciers.

  54. Thank you for liking “The Witching Post.” These photos of Alaska are wonderful. The shapes and textures of the ice and the landforms are interesting to look at. I like how the vintage look of the photos taps into the “prehistoric” quality of the glaciers.

Leave a Reply

