Bird Catch

Morgenstemning langs elven Li

Along the river of Li in the Guangxi province in China traditional fisheries are still very much alive. On this beautiful river that flows through a gorgeous scenery of limestone rocks and lush hillsides cormorants are used for catching the fish. This is a tradition that has been passed down through generations over hundreds of years. For more pictures go to Øystein & Otto’s Blog.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photography, Photojournalism, Travel Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Bird Catch

  1. That is such a soothing image. Nice story as well! Z

  2. rutheh says:

    Peaceful. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Angeline M says:

    The serenity exudes from this photo. The reflections of the rocks, the sun, and the paddler are wonderful.

  4. kenkiz says:

    tres belles atmospheres

  5. David Hall says:

    Wonderful subtle tones with glorious lighting. So peaceful.

  6. Michele LMS says:

    Lovely photo! . . . Brings back happy memories of a boat ride I took with friends along the Li River years ago!

  7. Dramatic, ethereal, and pulsing with nature and human nature–truly a photograph that captures a lifestyle and its precious resources.

  8. @Otto, indeed beautiful scenery and light.Fantastic sun reflection

  9. restlessjo says:

    What a stunning capture! It glows. I’m off to look for some more. 🙂

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    How lovely those fisheries along the river you speak of. What a life, so ground roots and real. Great pictures.

  11. I could stare at this image for hours. So peaceful. I am off to the other site to see the rest.

  12. That is beautiful. Like time froze in such a wonderful place. It’s inspiring to know that despite of the modernization, sights and places like these are still preserved. Something the rest of the world can learn from. Protecting nature, keeping traditions and culture intact, valuing our roots are very important to make sure something this priceless can be enjoyed by generations to come.

  13. mbfitzmahan says:

    Great contrast of the light and the shadow. Since I am primarily a Black and White photographer, I love that you captured those shades of light in color. This is the country that must have inspired those wonderful Chinese paintings that I love.

    On another note. Do you find it difficult to put a title on your photos? I find this one of the harder things I do. It feels like I am limiting the image. Would it be better to number my photos? Did Cartier-Bresson put titles on his photos?

  14. Une lumière exceptionnelle, c’est magique comme cliché, bravo Otto 😉

  15. arcaneimages says:

    Gorgeous shot, you are so lucky to have been there!

  16. george says:

    An exquisite shot of wonderful location – even if it is running downhill a bit! Thank you Otto for your recent comments and encouragement, it really is appreciated.

    And I must add that I hope you’ll forgive me if I don’t get to comment on all your posts, life’s a little frantic at the moment, I’m so short of time, and will be for the next three weeks, then hopefully back to normal.

    • munchow says:

      Don’t worry if you don’t always have time to comment my post. I think I am equally guilty as charged. We do this for fun and when we have some time. Enjoy the day!

  17. LensScaper says:

    Stunning image, Otto.

  18. likeitiz says:

    This is a beautiful photo, Otto. I’m almost tempted now to write a story about it.

  19. KarenAnn says:

    Peaceful and serene….

  20. For some reason, when I look at this photo, it reminds me of winter. Maybe the colors or what looks like imagery frozen in motion. Beautiful.

  21. seabluelee says:

    The scenery, the fisherman and boat – this image looks timeless until one notices the faint traces of power lines in the sky. I find that contrast between the old and new fascinating.

  22. A magic mood in this one, Otto! Now to see to rest…

  23. Reggie says:

    I love the dream-like quality of this picture, Otto… invites one to take a slow, deep breath…

Leave a Reply

