Three Wishes

The story of Sasha and Roma is heartbreaking. Two boys living on the streets of St. Petersburg. Sniffing glue the only comfort in their young life. This is a story Øystein brought back from a visit to Russia some years ago. Read the whole story on Øystein’s & Otto’s Blog

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photography, Photojournalism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Three Wishes

  1. 1cruzdelsur says:

    A sad chronicle of real life.
    Anytime you have closeness to reality and it is important to show the world what is happening in faraway places.
    Carlos

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Read it and commented…. breaks my heart.

  3. fgassette says:

    A sad state of affairs. No words to utter just prayers.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Even without the text, this is a haunting picture…

  5. passporttorainbows says:

    It’s troubling that half away around the world the same things happen. I see this everyday and try my best to be optimistic but it’s really just heart breaking. My well wishes go to these kids.

  6. passporttorainbows says:

    Reblogged this on passport to rainbows and commented:
    I refrain from posting depressing messages and pictures on my blog thinking this was originally my happiness haven but I just really had to post this one. It reminds me of why I love humanitarian and why I do what I do. If I can help kids like these, foster them off the streets and into a more promising future then I will have exceeded my own expectations.

  7. elizz says:

    here in manila, a lot of street children is also sniffing ‘rugby’ which is a kind of glue, even if the authorities round them up and take them to shelters they would still escape and go back living in the streets.. there they learn to pickpocket or do crimes.. i’ve watched a documentary about them and it’s almost always the same drama, the parents are alcoholics, abusive or just doesn’t care at all due to extreme poverty.. the children who are referred to as ‘rugby boys/girls’ said that they sniff rugby to forget or to comfort their hunger.. sad story..

  8. ynonymous says:

    if families cannot provide, it is the responsibility of the state to intervene, and the intervention should not only apply to the children but to the parents as well.

  9. PC PHOTO says:

    You have given these lads a voice their lives are so harsh this is heartbreaking.

  10. janechese says:

    I have met sniffers and there was so much brain damage they couldn’t finish a sentence. Really tough to see.

  11. niasunset says:

    so touching…

  12. What a commentary on humanity–your brief description says so much and the image is full of sorrow that children should never have to experience.

  13. Bindu says:

    Thanks for sharing the story. We should just be grateful that we had parents to take good care of us and that we are taking care of our own. Thousands of youngsters must be out there on the streets struggling. This is really touching.

  14. likeitiz says:

    I can’t help but hope that by your small intervention, you gave these boys a life-raft. I hope they took the raft and made it.

  15. Even though these kind of cases are depressing, this is an admirable undertaking of yours, Otto, in bringing them to wider attention.

  16. The expression on those lost little faces. I have no words.

  17. from three wishes to three e’s.. what a contrast. i hope that the lads have reached a point in their lives where they can embrace those three e’s in positive ways.

  18. There is no way I can read it because I would the rest of the way to pieces. It’s all just getting to be too much. It was good of you to post it though. Maybe someone, somewhere will see and can help. There are far too many extremely wealthy people in the world to let this happen. It makes me sick.

Leave a Reply

