Photo Workshop in amazing Cuba

En godt vedlikeholdt amerikaner med sin stolte eier foran fortet El Morro

De trange og pitoreske smugene gjennom gamlebyen

I hjemmet til en gutt og hans hund

Livet går sin langsomme gang i den gamle bydelen

Cuba is a place all photographers fall in love with. I did it myself from the very first time I visit the Caribbean island in 1991. Now, here is a chance to discover this colourful country and its people guided by two photographers who both have vast experience teaching photo workshops and know Cuba in and out. I and my colleague – and friend – Sven Creutzmann, who made Cuba his home since more than 20 years ago, have the pleasure to invite anyone who would love to see and photograph Cuban daily life and experience the country’s rich culture and decaying beauty for an eight days photo workshop in October. We will spend time in the pulsating capital, Havana, and then head out to the beautiful colonial city, Trinidad on the southern shore of the island. The workshop goes from October 7th till October 14th 2013. I can promise you this will be an amazing experience, combining photography with one of the most photogenic places in the world. For more information please have a look at the web site of Blue Hour Photo Workshops.

If Cuba or the time doesn’t fit with your plans, maybe a photo workshop in Bolivia is the thing? I would just like to remind you of this photo workshop which I have mentioned in a previous post, and is also taught by Sven and me. It runs from October 21st to 28th 2013. For more information about this workshop, please have a look here.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photo Tour, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Photo Workshop in amazing Cuba

  1. artblablablablog says:

    so tempting! the photos above are so beautiful, my favorite is the boy with the dog, the texture on the wall in that is very interesting and adds a lot to the feeling of the shot, like a nice, well worn pair of jeans, the warm and fuzzy puppy and the nice expression on his face.

  2. Oh…What a great thing to do…I am not a photographer and yet so interested Otto!! The pictures in the post are amazing!! Good luck with the workshop!!

    • munchow says:

      You don’t need to be a photographer to enjoy our workshops. We have had many no-professionals who often benefits the most. Thanks for the good-luck-wishes.

  3. janechese says:

    Wow-check out that car. The light is amazing in these shots.Alas, i cannot travel at this time.

  4. Sunshine says:

    your Cuba images are beautiful…like flashback to another time zone. all the best on your workshops…♥

  5. niasunset says:

    So beautiful these photographs, Good Luck with the workshop, seems it would be great. Thanks and Love, nia

  6. hello, sir Otto… love the series, like the last one best. so much atmosphere over there and you’re sharing them with us. thanks. 🙂 ~ San

  7. cocomino says:

    They inspired me a lot How beautifull

  8. likeitiz says:

    The scenes come alive in your photos. Great pics! I’ve heard of these cars. Years of having their doors closed forced people to repair ad preserve. Unlike us and the rest of the world who have been spoiled and programmed by car makers to throw away our cars after a few short years.

    • munchow says:

      You are quite right, all a Cuban needs to fix his car is some chewing gum and a bit of wire… ;-). It’s actually quite amazing how they keep some of those cars alive (and other commodities, too, for that matter)

  9. elizz says:

    hi otto, love the first photo.. gorgeous car and the owner (perhaps) is standing proud 🙂

  10. Some day, Otto, I will join you for this. It is like a dream.

  11. lensandpensbysally says:

    I would be honored to join your photographic journey. Someday, someday…

  12. One of these days Otto! I would love to participate.

  13. Fabulous photos Otto! Your workshops are on the top of my wish list!

  14. Roland Theys says:

    A wonderful photo! bravo!

  15. Luiza says:

    Cool. I´m sure, there was soooo many nice old cars….

    • munchow says:

      As a matter of fact they are slowly disappearing. When I started visiting Cuba it was only old American cars or Ladas. Nowadays is all modern cars. Or a lot more at least.

  16. LensScaper says:

    I love that first shot – they don’t make cars like that any more – sadly

    • munchow says:

      No, you are right, they don’t make cars like that any more, but on the other hand those cars from the 50’s swallow more gas in a day, than your modern car does in a year…

  17. sonali says:

    The workshop is so inviting! Cuba is such a unique place in the world. Thank you for sharing the marvelous pictures.

  18. dearrosie says:

    I’ve always been impressed with your photos of Cuba and these are all WOWees. The guy posing by his car is the best. People don’t pose unless they trust the photographer. You’re darn good Otto!

    Unfortunately I can’t make the workshop this time. Hopefully next time…

    • munchow says:

      Thanks for the lovely feedback, Rosanne. Hopefully I may see you another time in another workshop – or somewhere else for that matter.

  19. I am sure there are many people trying to figure out if they can possibly make the commitment to join you. What an opportunity. I have enjoyed your previous photos and accompanying stories from Cuba. You have spoken of many of the people as family to you, and that translates so beautifully. I’ll be eager to follow your journey.

    • munchow says:

      Thank you for the kind words and being interested in following my journeys, Debra. And, yes, some of the people in Cuba are like family to me.

  20. RuneE says:

    I can well understand the fascination for Cuba – your pictures alone explains that. I have seen other peoples photo from Cuba too (though usually no match for yours) and I would have loved to experience the country. However, my health (and Rikshospitalet) forbids me the more exotic destinations.

    • munchow says:

      Cuba is indeed a very special place and most people I know who have visited the country, fall in love with it. I am sorry you won’t be able to experience Cuba, but I am glad you can enjoy the pictures at least.

  21. The Hook says:

    Amazing shots!
    Good luck, my friend.

  22. Oh, what a dream it would be to attend either of those workshops! Love those photos from Cuba. Alas, it’s just not in my budget. I look forward to the photos you share with us of them, though!

    • munchow says:

      Yes, unfortunately taking a photo workshop in Cuba (or most other places for that matter, too) is a bit expensive. I wish it was possible to make them more inexpensive. But thank you for coming along via cyber space at least.

  23. CherryPie says:

    It looks like a wonderful place to visit.

  24. Bashar A. says:

    Love the portrait of the kids with the dog.

  25. Patti Kuche says:

    Yet another wonderful photo workshop opportunity, please don’t stop asking Otto. I am hoping to one day say yes! And Cuba has been at the top of my list for so long . . . your photos are stunning!

  26. Great shots! Would love to attend one of these photo workshop someday. Cuba is definitely on my Bucket List

  27. sherri says:

    exceptional images. absolutely love their cars. it’s unmistakably cuba.

  28. Melanee says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and liking my post. Your photos are amazing. I will be following along to gain more inspiration from your incredible work.

  29. magiceye says:

    These are beautiful captures!!

  30. restlessjo says:

    I can only think that it would be amazing to work with you, even for a non-photographer like myself, Otto. All fabulous shots in their different ways. The gentleman cuddling the small child is the one to stay with me.

  31. joshi daniel says:

    some lively environmental portraits 🙂

  32. rohanmoorthy says:

    Great stuff Munchow. Looks really good! 🙂

  33. Pingback: Dancing with Waves | Münchow's Creative Photo Blog

  34. Reblogged this on ringingtruenet and commented:
    So close, yet so far . . .

  35. Wonderful shots and composition. Glad I stumbled across your photoblog in the WordPress reader today!

  36. Fergiemoto says:

    Wonderful photos!

  37. What an opportunity! probably filled up. I’m interested. I haven’t taken many photos lately. I’m a painter.

Leave a Reply

