A Childhood up in Smoke

Øystein and I continue our stories from Malawi – and hope you are yet not tired of the country. This time we look at tobacco, or more correct how the tobacco industry is using child labour in its production. Of course not officially, but the result is nevertheless all the same.

Read the whole story and see the rest of the photos on Øystein & Otto’s Blog.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Photojournalism, Work In Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Childhood up in Smoke

  1. eof737 says:

    I never tire of reading stories about/from the Continent. Since I’m now here not there, I can live vicariously through your journey, pictures and stories. For a short moment, I am transported back to my father’s village and the memories of the innocent years we spent there, soaking up all we could learn for keepsakes. I’ve enjoyed your series. 🙂
    Thank you!
    Eliz

  2. likeitiz says:

    Ll the more reason to boycott, decry, vilify tobacco

  3. joshi daniel says:

    that is a hard life story!

  4. PC PHOTO says:

    It is heartbreaking to see the toll taken on by these children.

  5. Phillip says:

    This is so sad. Children should be allowed to be children.

  6. Otto your photos lend a rich gravity to the text. Heartbreaking.

  7. Very interesting object, well done @Otto 🙂

  8. dearrosie says:

    I’m so horrified and ashamed and angry…. and I can’t excuse myself by saying “you can’t blame me because I don’t – and have never – smoke”.

Leave a Reply

