In Between

Nygårdshøyden etter en kraftig snøfall
Just before the weekend I returned from quite an adventurous trip to Malawi together with my friend and colleague Øystein. As some of you have already followed us along the various explorations on our common blog Øystein og Otto’s Blog – A Skewed Glimpse of the World I won’t say much about the trip itself here. We went to Malawi to do a couple of stories as well as to prepare for a workshop we are going to give in this beautiful but also very poor country in late April. Our trip was in every sense of the word very successful but even more importantly for Øystein and me; we had a great time together and just enjoyed the travel and exploration in itself.

It was quite a shock to get back to Bergen, Norway. It was freezing cold – and on Saturday I even went skiing up in the mountains close by. Quite a change from the steaming and hot Malawi. From sub-tropical rain forest to alpine winter. In light of this change I thought it would be appropriate to post a winter picture of Bergen from earlier this season when the snow was piling up all over the city. Admittedly right now the snow has pretty much gone, but the temperature is still below freezing. While posting this I am again on my way, this time to Seattle and hopefully a feeling of a bit of spring. Maybe. In other words I am only shortly dropping by before heading out again.

On a different note; I have long wanted to update you on the process of the Best Photo Blogs. As some of you know, I invited all you readers to submit your favourite photo blog for an informal competition. By the end of the deadline I received more than 400 suggestions, which of course was nothing less than fantastic. But it has taken time to go through them all and categorize them. I am still working through all the suggestions, so the silence the last month isn’t because I have abandoned the whole thing, but just me needing more time to examine and categorize the blogs. Soon – or more likely in a couple of weeks – I will get back with the result of the process.

While at it I also want to say that I will soon be back with another round of Picture Critique. I haven’t forgotten about this possibility to receive critique on pictures you would like to get feedback on. I’ll soon announce another round, so stay in tune.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography, Travel Photography, Work In Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to In Between

  1. It is strange to see Bergen with all that snow. And contrary to you we still have got at a lot of it, and will be getting more. Impressed by the Malawi project and work! Kjempefint bilde!

  2. Sunshine says:

    ♥ really, Otto. you need to stay busier. ha ha. you can laugh now. 🙂
    (that is way too much snow!!)

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Quite a shock to the system I’d imagine. I’ve enjoyed following you Malawi adventures Otto. Thanks for the update on the ‘best photo blogs’ project.

  4. niasunset says:

    Welcome home dear Otto, you did a great job in Malawi, it was amazing. And now in snowy days you are… You are travelling between climate changes… Thank you, have a nice day, love, nia

    • munchow says:

      Yes, I have had quite a climate changes lately, and it still continues, now from spring in Seattle to the end of the rainy season in Bolivia… Thanks Nia.

  5. I really like this photo. It tells so many stories. With all your travels, it’s good to see that you take time to shoot home too. Happy traveling!

  6. janechese says:

    I like the people in between the houses to visualize the process of a transition in what you are doing. Oh, what a rude awakening going from one climatic extreme to another.Glad to see you enjoying the journey as am I as I follow your blogs.

  7. artblablablablog says:

    ha! used to live in Seattle. This time of year, not to be negative, but the suicide hotlines are busy, the culmination of so many damp, cold, grey, rainy days. Have fun Otto, BYOSun. I do love Seattle!

    • munchow says:

      Well, coming from Bergen where it rains twice as much as in Seattle (and that is a fact – I have checked the statistics), Seattle seems to be a sunny city for me. Thanks, Christina!

  8. likeitiz says:

    Welcome back. Wow, looks like you’ve been dumped on where you are lately. I’m sure you’re imagining the warm weather in Malawi instead!

  9. Much to look forward to. Enjoy Seattle!

  10. Welcome Home 🙂 Looking forward to the next photo critique.

  11. I really enjoyed the Malawi posts. It sounds like you have a very busy spring planned. Enjoy Seattle and stay safe.

  12. winsomebella says:

    You must have a lot of mileage in your frequent flier account :-). Always enjoy your work and the creativity you spark 🙂

  13. Arindam says:

    I too liked this picture! Happy travelling!! 🙂

  14. PC PHOTO says:

    The freezing cold part of your return home is perfectly captured. Hoping the reception inside your home was much warmer 🙂

  15. There’s nothing like being welcomed home by Mother Nature! Still I bet it good to be back.

  16. hello, sir Otto… take care in your travels, sir, and hope to hear from you when you’ve settled in Seattle, lol. 😉 warm regards and hope your business there will proceed well… 🙂

  17. I simply love the “pop” of colour coming through the stark white snow scene!

  18. The Hook says:

    That picture chills me to the bone! I love it, though!

  19. That is some respectable snowfall. Nice.

  20. I would love to visit that little street…but not live there! Love the green houses. Safe travels!

  21. ladyfi says:

    Lots of snow here too in Sweden. What a charming town Bergen is!

  22. Leovi says:

    Nice photo, an impressive snow.

  23. Beautiful Bergen.
    Cold.. but beautiful

  24. SHE says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and saying hi! So nice to meet you. I need to browse around to find out more about you and your blog. Sounds like you do a good bit of traveling around the world. Very pretty street shown above, even if it is piled with snow!

  25. This photo caught my eye and thanks for visiting my blog. I wish I had known aabout you before your photo project. I will keep my eye on your blog and your travels sound fascinating! The snow reminds me how the desert where I live has been over 95 degrees and how much I love it! Never been to Norway but I love your shot!

  26. Melusine says:

    Virkelig stor forandring fra ett land til ett annet! Høres ut som du har hatt en eventyrlig reise 🙂

  27. Really like your photos and your logo. Glad I happened upon your blog. ~ Ayanna Nahmias

  28. lisa says:

    This is quite an undertaking (Best Photo Blogs), but I’ll bet it’s been a wonderful experience.
    Wishing you a great weekend!

  29. You shouldn’t find any snow in Seattle, Otto, although it won’t be steamy either. With luck it won’t be RAINING.

  30. Alpine Winter looks amazing. Beautiful capture of the place and nature’s blessings. That is indeed a huge contrast from the greens and hot weather of the tropics.

  31. Robin says:

    Wow! That is a lot of snow. It’s very beautiful (as long as I don’t have to shovel it…lol!). I think the Best Photo Blogs is a huge project, and with all the traveling as well, I hope you find time for yourself in between. 🙂

    • munchow says:

      Yes, I am a little over my head with the Best Photo Blog, but I will just have to use time to get through it all. Thanks for the encouragement, Robin.

  32. dearrosie says:

    Wonderful photo Otto. Wow all that snow on a city street!
    I also enjoyed your posts from Africa. So many brilliant photos.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the Best Photo Blog project – more than 400 photos? That’s an enormous task.

  33. Why are so many American towns and cities so fragile-seeming – some seem almost ready to blow away, or even fall down – while European towns and cities are solid, substantial and always more beautiful?

    Thank-you for your great blog!

Leave a Reply

