Post a Picture and Get Feedback


Today I have just added a new feature to this blog. It’s the page called Picture Critique. My idea is to open up for any of you who have pictures you want to have some feedback on. This could be pictures you are unsure about, pictures that are different from your usual style or just pictures that you what know how to do better. Go to the page and post the picture and I will soon give my honest view and perception of your picture in what I attempt to be constructive and meaningful critique.

One of the greatest values from participating in photographic workshops is the possibility to have feedback on pictures you take. I know from the many workshops I teach that this is what the students appreciate most of. So here is a chance to get feed back on your pictures without having to participate in an expensive workshop.

Go here to read more or post a picture. I hope to see your picture soon.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Post a Picture and Get Feedback

  1. Gracie says:

    What an incredible idea and a generous proposition, Otto. This will be a tremendous help for people like me who are looking to improve their craft.

  2. Patti Kuche says:

    Otto, Gracie took the words out of my mouth! You are so kind and than you for such a wonderful opportunity!

  3. Sunshine says:

    An overused word but I cannot think of a better one for your generous workshop:
    AWESOME!!
    Thanks!

  4. niasunset says:

    You are so nice. Thank you dear Otto, love, nia

  5. I agree with all of the above! You are too kind, and I am sure you will soon be asking yourself, ‘What was I thinking?’when there’s a queue of images that could stretch all the way ’round the world!

    Thanks so much!
    Lisa/z

    • munchow says:

      Only time will tell if this was a stupid idea. But I have thought about the possibility of been run over by a huge amount of pictures. For the time being I am only looking forward to see pictures – and if necessary I’ll make some limitations in the future.

  6. victoriaaphotography says:

    What a wonderful idea, Otto.
    You are truly a generous soul to give your time and experience in this way.
    Thanks so much for this offer.

    • munchow says:

      Thank you Victoria. I know from my workshops that I’ll gain just as much from this as those who participate. That’s really the fun part for me.

  7. I think this is a great idea. Keep an eye out for my image. I have one in mind.

  8. Inge says:

    Ah! This is very good, Otto! It’s very kind of you! This is what I need to improve my skill although I’m only amateur!
    Thank you very much for having created that page!

  9. Interesting, Otto. Good idea! 🙂

  10. Angeline M says:

    This is such a wonderful thing for us beginning photographers! You’ll be seeing something from me soon. Thank you for this great opportunity.

    • munchow says:

      I know I will learn a lot from this experience myself. That’s what thing I have experience from the workshops I teach. I learn more than I give.

  11. Renee says:

    What a cool idea… A virtual workshop! Love it! Renee

  12. fotonita says:

    For et sjenerøst menneske du er! Jeg sier hjertelig takk for dette gode tilbudet! 😊

  13. You are so generous with your time and knowledge. These creative products that all of us are putting out there are helping to heal the world. You have become a guide in the creation of our gifts to the world. Oh my! That is quite a mouthful, but I believe it. Thank you, Otto.

  14. What a resumé you have–photographer, blogger and teacher! What a great idea. I’m sure you will have many students.

  15. Michelle Gillies says:

    This is a wonderful idea, Otto. I hope to have something “critique” worthy for you to look at soon.

  16. TheBlackTwig says:

    So kind for you to do this. It will be of great help. Keep sharing. 🙂

  17. Your generosity is a welcome trait. I will be perusing my archives to send you an image.

    • munchow says:

      I look forward to seeing you image. 🙂

      • I have a photograph to send you, but I use iPhoto for editing and do not have a HTML link when it’s in the program. Is it all right to send it to you by e-mail? Again your generosity is commendable.

        • munchow says:

          If you post the picture on your blog you get a URL. But go ahead and email me the picture. But please downsize it to 500 pixels on the long edge.

          • I decided to post the image tomorrow or the next day on my blog. It’s a geranium petal that was taken with my iPhone 4s. It’s a close up and has an abstract quality as well as a tinge of impressionism. Now that you began this journey where you’ve opened your ability to “see” for others, I wish that we could find a way to have an open critique class online. Still, it’s lovely that you are taking your time to share your way of seeing and your photographic expertise.

  18. What a wonderful idea! Although I’m an illustrator I’d like to do this as well. I have to chose one carefully…

    • munchow says:

      I’ll do my best to give constructive critique with all kinds of pictures, although I am most familiar with photography when it comes to talk about it.

  19. Great idea. It’s always appreciated in the blogging community when bloggers take their time to help out other bloggers like you do here.

  20. Chillbrook says:

    A very, very generous offer Otto.

  21. Hi again Otto. Time to take you up on your most generous offer. This image just posted on my blog, was a lucky capture but the lighting, not so good.
    http://www.elenacaravela.wordpress.com
    I’ve Photoshopped it a bit to dodge some light in, and played with the curves but lost the blue overcast hue in the back round. I didn’t want to blow it out in Photoshop, so I chose to leave the image pretty much alone. How could I have set my SLR properly to avoid the lighting problem in the first place? Anything else you can suggest would help me very much as well.
    THANK YOU!

  22. I love this idea. It’s very generous of you to offer too!

  23. Great idea Otto. It is very nice of you to offer!

  24. LensScaper says:

    A generous and very helpful idea, Otto.

  25. I will definitely check this out. Your work, your perfections of life, people and places inspires me. How you captured the moment and celebrate it forever through your lens is just amazing. Beautiful picture by the way. It shows that beauty and peace in the most simple of things. Have a great weekend.

  26. A great idea, 0tto. I’ve read through your critiques there so far, and they certainly are insightful.

  27. starlaschat says:

    What a wonderful idea! I will be thinking about a photo. Thank You for this generous offer for a second opinion. :+)

  28. PC PHOTO says:

    What a generous offer you have made.

  29. joshi daniel says:

    that is an interesting scene 🙂

  30. starlaschat says:

    I’m still looking for a photo. I’m not sure which one to pick. I was thinking of a photo with a person in it because that is what I would like to learn more about, but I guess I don’t have very many photo’s with people in them. So I will keep looking I may have to settle for a landscape. I know I have a few of those. :+)

  31. Bindu says:

    Thanks for that wonderful offer. Someday I hope to get a feedback on one my pics too.

  32. kuldeep71 says:

    Thank you Sir Otto,
    Making full use of the opportunity you extended I have posted my link of Photos. Eagerly looking forward to your critical analysis and advise for improvements.

  33. Pingback: Free Chat Thursday « Starla's Chat

  34. eof737 says:

    Very generous… I had no idea. 🙂

  35. Muchísimas gracias por tomarte este trabajo, realmente lo encuentro muy útil, besos Otto

  36. What a fabulous idea, Otto! Can’t wait to see what others post…

Leave a Reply

