Summer at Lake Balaton









Earlier this summer I went to Lake Balaton in Hungary, to do a travel story from this lovely and beautiful region. The rest of the summer was so busy that first now I have been able to edit and photoshop the pictures I took back then. As I am heading for the Burning Man in Nevada soon now, I thought it would be a good time to post some of the pictures I took around Lake Balaton. From fresh water to dust, so to speak.

Lake Balaton is the biggest lake in Central Europe and because it’s so shallow (only 12 meters at the deepest) the water in the summer time gets really warm. We are talking about temperatures around 30 °C (or around 85 degrees Fahrenheit). Very nice indeed! In addition the lake is full of minerals and supposedly very healthy for body and soul. If that isn’t enough, around the lake there are many thermal springs, so a lot of visitors to the region come for the spa and treatments that goes with it.

As I mentioned I am on my way to Burning Man now, which means I won’t be able to stay much in contact with the blog sphere the next week or so. But I’ll be back hopefully with some fun pictures from this special event.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Personal Work, Photography, Photojournalism, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Summer at Lake Balaton

  1. Sunshine says:

    The thermal springs sounds heavenly…as your beautiful images at Lake Balaton. Hehe, don’t get too burnt at Burning Man…sorry, had to throw that in for fun. 😉 See ya!

  2. Michelle Gillies says:

    This looks like a wonderful place for summer fun. I think your photos have captured it perfectly. It also sounds very therapeutic. I think I would enjoy that a lot. Have fun at Burning Man and take care of yourself.
    M

  3. Victoria says:

    Beautiful images.
    Love the colours and feeling of summer which they portray.

  4. What a beautiful lake and images that capture its spirit! Otto, I am inspired to be better every time I stop by your world, so I nominated you for an award here:

    http://insearchofperfect.com/2012/08/19/how-stella-got-her-groove-back/

    Thank you,
    Yulia

    • munchow says:

      It’s always great to learn that someone has been inspired by my work. Thank you. And thank you so much for the nomination. I will get back to it as soon as I have some more time available.

  5. the images are, of course, stunning, and it sounds like a very special and magical region. thanks for sharing these peaceful photos; the soup looks quite delicious and inviting! Z

  6. souldipper says:

    As you usually manage, you found some key factors that contribute to the soul of the area. I remember, as a young girl, when many Hungarians were given an open door to Canada. Before long, our mineral or hot springs would be full of Hungarians. This gives me a clue as to why. What a contrast to Burning Man! 😀

    • munchow says:

      Oh, yes, this was quite a contrast. But as it happens to be, we were able to find a hot spring on our way out from Burning Man, a hot spring that only locals know about. Needless to say it was a fantastic feeling to soak into the hot water after a week of dust and dry heat.

  7. How I would like to be by that lake! Wonderful shots of your trip. Safe travels to Nevada!

  8. artblablablablog says:

    These are yummy photos! Be prepared to be very warm, have a safe trip!

  9. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Bon voyage my friend and accompany you luck and inspiration … it’s always good to hear from you …

  10. Chillbrook says:

    Beautiful pictures Otto. The Burning Man eh? Wow! I will very much look forward to your pictures. Have a safe journey and enjoy! 🙂

  11. Exceptional images, Otto [as always]. Very colorful and pleasant, can’t help but smile! Enjoy your journey and have a safe trip home.
    🙂

  12. fotonita says:

    Et nydelig utvalg av bilder Otto! Balaton… hørt om den, men aldri vært der. Ser ut som et sted en kan nyte gode dager.
    Burning Man… vet ikke hva du skal ut på ; ) Men GOD TUR skal du ha! ; )

    Jeg er tilbake i Kina! Nå venter en ukes fototur i Yunnan provisen! Gleder meg til det! : )

    • munchow says:

      Burning Man er en spesiell opplevelse. En festival med over 60.000 deltakere midt i en ørken i Nevada. Jeg vil komme tilbake med bilder derfra. Jeg håper du har (eller hadde) en fin tur til Kina.

  13. likeitiz says:

    What a wonderful place this lake is! Perhaps, one day…..

  14. A nice ‘leaving gift’….Oh1 for some warm water to bath in. But looking forward to joining you (on the blog) in Nevada. Have a great trip

  15. niasunset says:

    WOW! Photographs fascinated me, they are all so beautiful. Thank you dear Otto, have a nice trip and enjoyable days, love, nia

  16. Rayni says:

    Beautiful.

  17. cocomino says:

    How beautiful and your skill is amazing. Looking forward to seeing more photos. 🙂

  18. Nostalgic lake photos-even though I’ve never been to this particular lake-just gorgeous. Can’t wait to see the Burning Man work!

  19. Very good pictures of a splendid place! The colour of the water is so special! And it seems me beside spa and thermal springs the food seems to be interesting! Waiting for some pictures and report from the Burning Man (that must be a strong experience, I’m a little envious!) wish you an interesting stay there.
    robert

  20. mcolmo says:

    This sounds so great, to be able to get into a warm lake during the Summer and getting refreshed and invigorated with all sorts of minerals! Good for you! Also, I love olives. That jar up there got me drooling for a while. 😀

  21. janechese says:

    after taking so many close-ups I really find the wide angle shot of the distant view of a few people in the lake /ocean beautiful. but love the canning jars too.

  22. Wonderful to see as I’m half Hungarian and have never been there….thanks!

  23. Ali says:

    It looks great! And the weather sounds fantastic! Waiting patiently for summer!!

  24. Gorgeous photos, and I like the way you framed them for the post. You’ll have some “warmer” temps in Nevada! Whew! I look forward to the photos from Burning Man! Such a mystique associated with this event! Debra

  25. Beautiful photos! They say “summer” in any language. I’m guessing we’ll have interesting photos to see after your trip to Burning Man. Fun, and something for the rest of us to look forward to 🙂

  26. milkayphoto says:

    Wonderful snapshots of your trip! Food, water, sun, play….yep, sounds like summer to me!

  27. starlaschat says:

    Loved all the images just Beautiful I’m still smiling. Sounds like a wonderful place I like that the lake is so warm. Now that’s my kind of swimming nice warm water. Flathead lake is nice, but a little cold most of the time at least for my tastes.
    Burning Man can’t wait to see the photos! :+) I hope you have a wonderful time.

  28. Wonderful shots of your trip and a really informative blog.The jars of pickles remind me of my time in Postdam, many thanks.

  29. restlessjo says:

    Each so different but with a great feel to them.

  30. What a stunning place and stunning images. Just beautiful.

  31. Arindam says:

    Beautiful photographs! Waiting for few more pictures from your trip! 🙂

  32. Reggie says:

    You take such beautiful images, Otto. Hope you have a wonderful trip.

  33. Kate Kresse says:

    Otto—as always, your eye for composition and color are so perfect! please keep inspiring us! i am giving you the sunshine award! http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/ive-got-sunshine-award/

  34. Wonderful images Otto. Have fun in Burning Man!

  35. Wonderful scenery and pics. I suppose you had a good time at Lake Balaton, sir.

    Best of luck with your project. Regards to your dear ones… 🙂

  36. LensScaper says:

    A very well chosen set of images that tell a story of a great time had by all.

  37. A beautiful series of content rich images, Otto. I love how where you’ve had the opportunity, due to the subject matter at hand, you’ve given some of these scenes quite a minimalistic look, and for me, this extends to the soup shot. Very interesting information about the lake, too. All the best with your current trip.

  38. sonali says:

    The lake looks fabulous. Great photography. I liked the first picture the most. Spa at the beautiful lake must be really amazing! Perfect place. 🙂

  39. Louis says:

    A fine selection. I particularly like the first – an excellent example of minimalism.

  40. janina says:

    A Wonderful Summer…bright, colourful, imaginative. Wish I’d been there! Liked.

  41. Hutch says:

    Looks like a great place to hang out! Great images…

  42. dearrosie says:

    Lovely. But of course your pictures are always lovely.
    * The lake is huge!
    * how did you frame the pictures in the post like that?
    * is that a bowl of tomato soup with a fish floating in it?
    * love the photo of the bottles of canned vegetables

    • munchow says:

      I made the frames in Photoshop before posting them. The soup is a traditional goulash, and yes it’s a piece of fish that’s floating in it. Thanks for the nice comment.

  43. Thanks for sharing this region, Otto.

  44. A truly beautiful post, Otto (favourite shot’s the one of the jars :))

  45. Lake Balataon is a perfect Summer escape and what Summer is all about. Pure happiness and adventure with friends and family. Thanks.

  46. eof737 says:

    Serene… beautiful.

  47. Preciosas tomas de ese bello viaje, ¡me alegro que lo hayas disfrutado!, besos

Leave a Reply

