Untold Stories


“We are poor, but still richer than you when it comes to stars and time”. Our hostess smiles as she looks up at the thousands upon thousands of stars shining down on us. We are sitting on a carpet rolled out in the sandy courtyard of Mahamuda Lipsir and her three daughters and two grandsons. A good day is coming to an end and we have nothing better to do than studying the sky above us and listening to the sound of the on-going tea-ceremony. One giant lump of sugar in is dissolved in hot tea before the contents is poured from glass to glass to glass and back to the pot to be re heated before it is poured back into the first glass, and the to the second, and the third… The process goes on forever, and the sweet drink isn’t served until all the pouring has created…

View original post 220 more words

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. I feel like I’m there. Thanks

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I clicked over and had a read, beautifully written, and I love the idea of the 3 different teas, I love learning about other cultures, and the sky just sounds magnificent, and yes it does look very different I should imagine in different parts of the world. 🙂

  3. niasunset says:

    after years then (I read all his books about dessert, by St.Exupéry) I read another wonderful pages from dessert how beautiful and exciting,… Thank you dear Otto, love, nia

  4. Michelle Gillies says:

    I love this tea ritual. It is very calming in itself. One can almost feel all the tension and the fast pace of your “other” life washing away as I visualize what you are describing.

  5. A.Barlow says:

    Man, so very true, Hit’s home when I think about all the times I look up wanting to see the stars and almost feel lucky I can spot one or two of them amongst all the light around me.

  6. Truels says:

    I know so well the feeling of being far, far away from everything in my own world – and close to everything in nature and the universe. But today even here you have on-line connection to your own world. The photo shows finely both situations!

  7. orples says:

    The upside to being poor is that you don’t attract friends that aren’t interested in you as a person, and you don’t have to watch out for con-artists trying to take away your hard earned money. Okay, con-artists don’t always go after the rich, but I seriously doubt they waste their time unless there is enough money involved to make it worth their time. Not to mention, some of the finest things in life are free. Nature reminds us of this truth everyday, for those of us who take the time to open our eyes and simply look around.

Leave a Reply

