Do You Want to Come along to Bolivia?







I am delighted to announce another photo workshop that I will be teaching together with my colleague and friend Sven Creutzmann later this year. This time the tour goes to Bolivia where we will follow in the footsteps of Che Guevara. We will be tracking his last days before he was shot dead by the Bolivian army in 1967. It’s an eight days workshop from October 23rd to 30th.

It’s the third time we invite to this photo workshop and it will take participants to the eastern part of Bolivia. This is a lush and green and extremely beautiful part of Bolivia. The tour will start in the lowlands, in the second city of Bolivia and the capital of the eastern region, Santa Cruz, and from there continue up into the mountains until we finally reach the little village of La Higuera, where Ernesto «Che» Guevara was captured and shortly kept imprisoned before finally being shot. On the way we will spend time in Vallegrande, another village in the mountains, where Che Guevara was presented to the world to prove that he was really dead. The mountain area of La Higuera and Vallegrande is breathtaking and very typical for the eastern part of Bolivia. It’s not part of the Andes, but is a lower mountain range, with altitudes up to 3000-4000 meters above sea level.

The tour is not only focusing on the tracks of Che Guevara, though. Participants will visit such amazing places like “The White City” Sucre and will be able to photograph in Samaipata and at the famous indigenous market in Tarabuco.

The photo workshop «On the Tracks of Che Guevara» is aimed at photographers of all levels, beginners to advanced professionals. It’s for whoever loves photography. As a participant you will improve your photographic skills, you will learn to better use your camera and improve your understanding of light. Each student will be pushed to create pictures that show colour, passion, light and movement. Participants will receive one-on-one editing and hands-on instruction to develop their strengths and try to overcome weaknesses.

Doesn’t this sound exciting? If you have time, money and a possibility to join I would be thrilled. But if not, I still hope you will want to follow the trip on this blog, when times come to leave for Bolivia. For more information about the workshop, please have a look here: www.bluehourphotoworkshops.com/workshops.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Creativity, Photo Tour, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Do You Want to Come along to Bolivia?

  1. Looks like an awesome trip. Pity I can’t come.

  2. Love these photos!! I’m planning a trip to Africa in about 5 weeks…not sure I should splurge on another big one this year.

  3. If only I had the money……. I’ll bet you are an awesome teacher!

  4. ceceliafutch says:

    Sounds like a fascinating trip! I’ll be following this blog and living vicariously through you and the others. BTW, love the photos, especially the portraits! 🙂

  5. fgassette says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! Your photos are excellant. The new tour sounds wonderful. I will be looking forward to seeing the photographs from the trip. I wish I could go along as a beginner. Wishing you much success and good times.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Great images….best tour/workshop guide you could have

  7. What an opportunity! Alas, my life is divided into semesters and I will be teaching.

  8. Yes! Quite exciting. On my wish list….. I’ll pass along this post to friends who might be able to make it a reality. Lucky them:).

  9. cocomino says:

    How impresive. I would like to explore there.

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Wonderful photos and simply more evidence that the world has so much to offer!

  11. Michelle Gillies says:

    I look forward to being able to follow along on the blog. It seems this would be an amazing opportunity for anyone that can find a way to join you.

  12. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Sounds like it is going to be a lot of fun. 😀
    I love the photos, so very different, what an exciting place it must be. 🙂

  13. the photos are lovely, and inspiring – I will look foward to seeing more because unfortunately Bolivia is not in the cards this year!

  14. niasunset says:

    I can die for this amazing workshop…. But it is not possible for me, at least for now… It sounds exactly so exciting… and I am sure it would be one of the unforgetable experiences in my life… Thank you dear Otto, I will keep following and watching you all on this blog that you posted for us.

    Che Guevara you never died…

    Have a nice day dear Otto,
    with my love, nia

  15. niasunset says:

    The Blue Hour Photo WorkShop, blog seems so beautiful…. I loved it so much. I really wished to be with this amazing team. Good Luck for you all…. with my love, nia

  16. danitacahill says:

    What a great workshop that will be. Wish I could make it.

  17. Isabelle says:

    One never knows what might-could-will happen over the next few months; so, why not make a wish 🙂 Thanks for the invitation!

  18. Arindam says:

    Great collection of photographs. I hope you are going to have lots of fun there. And those will be lucky people who will get the chance to learn from a wonderful teacher and a wonderful person like you.

  19. John says:

    I’m sure it’ll be a terrific workshop, almost as terrific as the photos you posted!

  20. Anita Bower says:

    Looks like a wonderful workshop. Great photos. I’m particularly fond of them because I spent my high school years in the Andes of Peru, and these photos bring back good memories.

  21. What a wonderful set of images Otto. I so love your “people” pictures. You bring out the essence and character of the inidividuals you photograph.

  22. laz says:

    This will be a wonderful workshop!!

  23. mcolmo says:

    I really wish I had the time and money to go! Sounds wonderful!

  24. David Hall says:

    Stunning photos once again, wish I could be there.

  25. A.Barlow says:

    That sounds freaking sweet. One day though, lol. When I save up enough to book the trip and bribe my wife 🙂

  26. Sounds like a dreamy trip… love the 2nd & last shots BTW. Looking forward to seeing the pictures.

  27. Emily says:

    It must be a great joy to teach others photography. Teaching others something you’re passionate about is always rewarding. Good for you and have fun!

  28. You make me want to watch “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” for the first time. I have never seen it.

    Che was a murderous thug. I hope they gave the Bolivian soldiers medals for catching him.

    • munchow says:

      I think you view might be a little simplistic. The reality is that back then the Bolivian army was a much bigger threat to the common man and woman in Bolivia, than Che Guevara and his fellows would ever be.

  29. Phillip says:

    What a trip that would be, if only I could afford it! I know that you all will have a great time.

  30. TheStm198 says:

    Amazing pictures !

  31. ¡Ojalá pudiese asistir!, saludos

  32. valzone says:

    Oh Otto, I would love to come, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to. Keep us posted though.
    Thank you for the invitation. Very kind of you.

  33. another great initiative – and more fascinating pictures

  34. PC PHOTO says:

    Superb images to whet the appetite for a travel workshop!

  35. Anne says:

    Ohoiiiii, ja jøss har jeg vært på spennende reise, men når man med ett får en venn som deg, ja da resier man en regntung ettermiddag med kaffekoppen ved sin siden også, hælle dussan for noen spennende resier du har vært på, kost meg SVÆRT og lenge med bildene dine må vite.

    Klem fra Anne

  36. likeitiz says:

    So tempting, Otto.

  37. truels says:

    The answer to that question is “Yes!” – But not all wishes can come true! And as you know, I have no possibility for more travels this year. But it sounds so exciting!
    And your photos (from a previous trip?!) are amazing and very beautiful.

  38. Mona says:

    Your images are incredible. Each one is a work of art.

  39. Wish I COULD join you. These photos are exceptional! I have to tell you – the man in the second photo looks so much like my third ex-husband! LOL!

  40. fotonita says:

    Takk for hyggelig kommentar på bloggen min!

    Jeg nyter bildene her inne… En blogg helt etter min smak!
    Skulle gjerne ha vært med på tur til Bolivia! Men jeg bor i Kina, blir her fram til 2014. Kanskje melder jeg meg på en workshop hos deg da jeg kommer hjem : ) Jeg er mye på reise her, fotoreiser i Kina er absolutt å anbefale! Jeg har deltatt på et fotokurs her i Shanghai, vi avsluttet med en ukes photo workshop, i Kashgar, Xinjiang provinsen. Det var en fantastisk opplevelse!

    Ønsker deg en riktig god tur til Bolivia! : ) Gleder meg til å se bilder!

  41. F.a l a i n says:

    Beautiful image of this authentic Bolivia

  42. Sounds beyond amazing! However, I will be one of those folks following through your blog and darn happy to be able to do that!
    ~d.

  43. renxkyoko says:

    The photos look amazing.

    We;re going on a Euro tour in June. I hope I can take great photos. I take lousy photos. * sigh *

  44. Sunshine says:

    Will be following your tour from my heart and through your blog. Thanks Otto!

  45. CherryPie says:

    Amazing photos 🙂 that sounds like such a wonderful trip.

  46. icedgurl says:

    trekking your blog!!!

    cheers!
    ..TREK..

  47. dearrosie says:

    A photo workshop to Bolivia sounds like a dream invitation to me, especially when it’s with the photographer who took the above photos… Sadly I can’t do it this time as I’m already going on a pilgrimage of sorts in the spring. But I will definitely do one with you. You can count on that

    PS. When I tried to choose which of the photos was my favorite, I couldn’t. They’re all so fantastic, I have to choose them all.

  48. Patti Kuche says:

    More enticing temptation! Norwegian Fjords and now the mystery of Bolivia . . . but the ultimate temptation is in the potential to improve skills and understanding. Bookmarking and thank you!

  49. Beautiful photos! can`t come to the workshop, but I`ll sure be waiting to see some of your work there!

  50. Angeline M says:

    Will most asuredly be following along on your blog! I know it will be wonderful!

  51. Sounds amazing. What a gift you are giving — sharing your talents on a photo tour like this. I’m certain those who attend will remember the trip always. What do you teach? Composition? Timing?

    The fourth photo in the above series is my favorite. I can hear the beat of the city.

  52. joshi daniel says:

    your travel photographs are really amazing 🙂

  53. mcralf says:

    Wow. Stunning pictures. I like most pic #2, the portrait of the man.

  54. Wonderful series of images from this fascinating country! Well done!

  55. fabrizio says:

    fascinating set for an interesting country full of history, controversial, as some seem to be all over the south america

  56. James Dunn says:

    wow what a brilliant idea! Lovely photographs too, wish you the very best of luck!

  57. nigel says:

    Great shots.. that second portrait is outstanding.

  58. A wonderful collection of images. Sounds like a wonderful workshop

  59. Sony Fugaban says:

    Strong photographs!

  60. HansHB says:

    Herlig bildeserie! Spennende reise med mange flotte fotoopplevelser, – ser det ut som om du har vært med på!
    Ha en flott arbeidsdag!

    (du må være fra området, skjønner jeg på kommentaren inne hos meg)

  61. Birgitta says:

    Fantastiska bilder! Så levande och mäktiga.

  62. winephantom says:

    Looks like a fantastic trip. You must add in Kilkee in Clare, Ireland to any tour about Che. In 1963, while stranded at Shannon airport on route to Moscow, Che and his two travel companions took the day off. His grandmother was from Galway and Ches father Ernesto also used the name Lynch. Che ended up in Kilkee in the Marine hotel bar, ordering Irish Whiskey from young barman and artist Jim Fitzpatrick who later in the sixties created the iconic poster image of Che from the Korda photograph. It’s only in the past few years that ireland is mature enough to start to celebrate Che’s heritage!
    W

  63. Oh yes, I’d love to come to Bolivia, thank you! Beautiful shots!

  64. Luiza Brack says:

    Beautiful reportage and shots!

  65. Yorkes girl says:

    Your photos are great! The trip sounds amazing but I won’t be able to attend. I’ll be following via your blog!

  66. Stasha says:

    These are lovely Otto, absolutely beautiful!

  67. Fergiemoto says:

    Great photos! I look forward to seeing more from your trip!

  68. Oscar says:

    Great shots from bolivia… I like

  69. Sounds like an amazing trip…I’ve done some work in Guatemala–http://www.merylspiegel.com/guatemala/guatemala.htm–and had planned
    to go to Peru and perhaps, Bolivia–but hasn’t happened yet…

  70. I love to see your photos. your all photo’s have a soul; a intact soul.
    Finally experience matters… 😉

  71. siddharthajoshi says:

    Superb, I would love to come! Looks like the trip of the lifetime…

  72. eof737 says:

    Enjoy the trip… I’m sure it will be fun. 🙂

  73. Todd Materazzi Photography says:

    I have been there and yes, what a tour this was/is!! Great culture, people and very photogenic!

Leave a Reply

