When Winter Was


Last week I posted pictures of warm and sunny Utah landscapes while waiting for the winter to arrive in Norway – which is where I was at the time of writing. I was hoping for snow and soon being able to get on my skis. What then is more appropriate than showing pictures from last winter, which was quite an amazing winter at least in these parts of the world? In Bergen – on the west coast of Norway – we had more snow than in a many, many years. Exactly during this period of time last year, between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, we had so much snow that I could put on my skis right outside my apartment, and go straight up onto the mountains from there. And that is exactly what we did. And had an amazing day. The sun was hanging low over the horizon. The snow coverage was less up on the mountains surrounding Bergen, because of exposure, but nevertheless more than enough for our skis and us. It was an almost serene experience.

Back to this year: I still haven’t had my first day of skiing this season. And now it won’t happen until next year. Because, at the moment of writing now – and when you read this – I am travelling around in Honduras in Central America. Not much snow in sight, I can promise you that! Only sun, warm weather, sandy beaches, mosquitoes and other tropical characteristics. Next year I will be back with pictures from the trip.

So until then: Happy New Year to you all.

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Personal Work, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to When Winter Was

  1. mcolmo says:

    Beautiful photos, as always!
    Over here we also have a “winter” filled with tropical characteristics, although mosquitoes are more common during Summer. I think our display of tropical insects are less visible during our so called “winter” months… 🙂

  2. Enjoy yourself! Looking forward to the tropical picks, but enjoying the winter snow post. Happy New Year.

  3. Happy New Year to you! Spectacular photos!

  4. winsomebella says:

    The light and the composition of these photos are spectacular. Enjoy Honduras…will look forward to seeing your images of that beautiful place.

  5. As I type this, my family is in Vernon, BC, Canada. Just waiting for my daughter to wake up so we can go skiing in Silver Star… I can’t wait after seeing these beautiful photos! Enjoy your trip!!

  6. Amy says:

    wow, beautiful!

  7. What an absolutely stunning landscape! The weather has been strange here in Ontario, Canada this year too. We just got our first major snow today!

  8. Alli Farkas says:

    I used to work with a gal who was married to a guy from Bergen. When I planned a trip to Norway in the mid-90’s she told me I absolutely had to go there. So I did, and loved it–truly beautiful area. I was there in the summer, so now with your photos have an idea about Bergen winter!

  9. John says:

    I love these photos!

  10. Fergiemoto says:

    Wonderful ski photos! The colors from the sunset reflecting on the snow are fabulous!

  11. hellenjc says:

    Wonderful photos…though not good enough to make me want to go skiing !!

  12. Beautiful images, especially the first one. Enjoy your trip around Honduras 🙂

  13. David Hall says:

    Really atmospheric photos. I’m still praying for some of that over here. Brrrr….

  14. Gracie says:

    Happy New Year, Otto!

  15. Touch2Touch says:

    At quick glance, I thought the figures in the first photo were penguins! (Not that I expect penguins in Norway, it’s just that they looked like penguins!)
    After our Hallowe’en blizzard (which destroyed so many trees) we have had no snow at all. Both conditions unusual for here.
    But even though today is sunny and above freezing, the wind is howling and it bites right through a coat — So I think of you enviously in Honduras, and look forward to the lush green images you will be bringing back.

  16. Like a child learns to count 1,2,3 and an adult continues to count in his native language…somehow you know it’s snow weather…you’re a Norwegian at heart and being in Honduras doesn’t confuse you at all. Love these photos of a winterscape.

  17. Karl Chapman says:

    Wishing you a happy and creative new year, Karl

  18. Java Girl says:

    Ahh, the tropics! Did you wear your Santa hat on the beach while sipping a margarita? Some days I miss my winter break beach vacations in Brazil while I was living there. Our Christmas in NJ was without snow and uneventful. Please let us know how you are doing down there in Honduras-a place I’d love to visit someday!

  19. Absolutely stunning images. Love them all.

  20. Beautiful images (as always).
    You’ve captured the wonderful light & sun so perfectly.
    (They reminded me of a skiing holiday in Austria in Jan 1978 – wish I’d had a good camera back then AND the interest in photography).

  21. danitacahill says:

    Beautiful shots! Happy New Year to you,too. Enjoy the trip.

  22. Oh my word. Your pictures are amazing. I am blown away. Your eye for detail is priceless. The sun washing over the horizon with the cross-country skier trekking across the snow — perfect composition. Perfect lighting, composure, emotion… very well done.

    If I could visit just one place in the world, outside of the United States where I live, it would be Norway. Thank you for the peek into that part of the world.

  23. PC PHOTO says:

    Surely no snow in Honduras! Enjoy your time as much as I enjoy these photos!

  24. Angeline M says:

    Thanks for all the photos and words of wisdom this past year. Looking forward to much more.
    Happy New Year!

  25. Absolutely beautiful pictures, as always 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful time in Honduras, and an incredible New Year!

  26. cocomino says:

    How beautiful. Happy New year!

  27. seabluelee says:

    It’s interesting how many people I’ve heard from around the USA and the world who are still waiting for snow this year. Thank goodness for our archives! These images are beautiful. I hope we’ll get to see photos of those sandy Honduran beaches soon!

  28. Beautiful photos! After one minor snow, we are having a warm and sunny December so I haven’t done any skiing yet either. I hope you have a wonderful New Years!

  29. Patti Kuche says:

    My reply comes to you from the Colorado Rockies where it is snowing today, with very high winds, but the snowfall for this season so far is not what it should be. I have always longed to visit your part of Norway and your beautiful photos are inspiring me further! Have fun in the Honduran sun!

  30. souldipper says:

    Honduras! You really do go great strides to get good photos! 🙂 When you get back to Norway, there’ll be a little brown face peeking out of a parka! Enjoy, Otto, and a very happy New Years.

  31. niasunset says:

    Winter season is same in many places… They all say not as before… What should we think about this, I am not sure. But should be because of climate changes… etc.
    These photographs are so nice, should be amazing to be there… and with ski… (Who says this, me?… because I don’t like snow and winter 🙂 ) I just love with my eyes… Have a nice and enjoyable holiday dear Otto. Thank you, Happy New Year, with my love, nia

  32. Roland Theys says:

    Absolutely stunning landscape!
    Happy new year!

  33. dearrosie says:

    All that snow and the beautiful sky. Truly beautiful images Otto 🙂
    I’m surprised to hear that even in Norway there’s no snow yet this year.

  34. Doug Hickok says:

    Congratulations on your nominations. May 2012 be just as inspiring and rewarding!

  35. LensScaper says:

    The snow has been late arriving all over Europe this year. Three great images, especially the light in the first one. Only four weeks before I get on the ski slopes – can’t wait. Honduras will seem strange and the arrival back in Norway stranger too in winter. Hope you enjoyed the break. Happy New Year – Your posts are always inspiring.

  36. Fabulous pictures! Yes, snow is late this here almost everywhere! Wish you a nice and satisfying 2012 Otto, and thank you again for your inspiring blog!
    robert

  37. Happy New Year to you too Otto. Looking forward to your beautiful photographs and your wise words 🙂

  38. Happy New Year, Otto. I can’t wait to see what you can share from Honduras! My goodness but you do experience a variety of spectacular settings–and climates! You must be a very resilient man, and that’s an exceptional quality. It’s always a delight to pop in and see what you have been up to! Debra

  39. Otto,

    Your part of Norway and Athens, Ohio, must be visited by the same jetstream or La Ninos/Ninas. Last winter we had snow the whole month of December when we usually don’t get much accumulation until after the first of the year. THIS December was more like spring, and we didn’t see snow (about an inch) or frigid temps until this week.

    Enjoy the sunshine!

    John

  40. ElizOF says:

    These are stunning shots. 🙂

  41. These are super gorgeous shots Munchow! I love to snow ski too. Unfortunately, I don’t get to see the powder where I live here in Florida. So, I’ll need to make it my New Year’s resolution to plan a ski trip soon. Anyway, thanks for sharing your lovely photos. 🙂

  42. Norway has a peculiar cold that’s different from Siberia, but not very much. Beautiful pictures!

  43. The Hook says:

    I can’t stand snow, but your work warms my heart!

  44. I love your photos!! I had a trip planned last year to visit the Scandanavian countries and was going to the scenic train from Oslo to Bergen and the boat to see the fjords. I had to cancel because my mother was diagnosed with cancer. Hope to get out there soon!

    ~Sherry~

    • munchow says:

      The combined train and boat trip is a beautiful treat – if only weather permits. I am sorry to hear about your mother, I wish her all the best. And when you do get to Bergen, give me a notice.

Leave a Reply

