Breaking Out


Sometimes in life we all come to a point where everything feels like we have come to a standstill. Life is boring, we have lost inspiration, nothing seems to lift us any more. We have become strangled by our daily life and our daily routines. Nothing challenges us any more. We need to break out. We need to breathe again. And we need to challenge ourselves again. Particularly as creative beings the lack of challenges is sure to evaporate our creativity. We do indeed come to a standstill creatively speaking. If we want to develop our art – be it photography or other artistic expressions, we cannot keep staying in our comfort zone. The result is inevitably stagnation.

For some breaking out means to take a hike in the mountains, for others it means leave everything behind and start a complete new life. Or it can be as simple as starting to photographing something you have never thought of photographing before. There is no one answer to breaking out of the standstill. But the only place to find the answer is in your own heart. And then you need to start challenging yourself.

I have previously written about the Canadian photographer David duChemin. He has written a handful of very inspiring books about photography and his blog Pixelatedimage is one of the most stimulating to follow if your are interested in photography and creativity. He is a very dedicated and imaginative photographer. Anyway, I want to tell what he decided to do when he for about a year ago came to this standstill. He was on his way to a breakdown, as he wrote in his blog. He couldn’t find a balance in his life any more, despite a huge success as a photographer. So he broke out. He sold most of his stuff, bought a Land Rover and outfitted it for a place to live and travel with. He decided to go on a tour – and live the tour – across and around North-America – to start with. As he wrote in his blog, he wanted «to spend a year doing something that scares me, something that simplifies my life, something that forces me to breathe deeply and open my eyes».

In February this year he gave the condo keys back to his landlady and took off with Jessica, the Land Rover. It’s been very exciting to follow his travel around everywhere. But of course big plans never come true as they are planned. Faith has always one or two surprises up the sleeve. For David duChemin the whole project almost came to and end when he broke his legs during a workshop he taught in early summer. He had to leave Jessice behind and start the long way to get back on his feet. Talk about challenges? But David duChemin is seemingly not a guy to give in. Instead he has kept writing his blog and shared gracefully and generously his thoughts about life and creativity. It’s been just as inspiring to read the blog during his rehabilitation. And now he plans to continue the travel with Jessica.

Somewhere in his blog he writes about challenges: «Where challenge is equal to our ability to meet that challenge we are most comfortable. Below that line is where challenge lags behind our ability and there is stagnation and boredom. Above that line is where our ability has to run to keep up with the challenge. It’s scary as hell but it’s what propels us forward». And he refers to Steven Pressfield in The War of Art, who talks about fear being the magnetic needle that points us precisely in the direction in which we most ought to be moving in order to do our best work creatively and personally.

My own way out of stagnation has been much less dramatic than for David duChemin. In 2004 I started to do journalistic projects together with my friend and colleague Øystein Mikalsen. Economically speaking it’s always much harder when two persons need to feed on the same project, but what we have gain in inspiration and experience and great stories isn’t possible to pay for. The collaboration with Øystein has more than anything the last couple of years been a spark for my creative development, and I think visa verse as well. We have travelled around the world together. It started in Malawi where we have returned many times, but then we have also been to Ukraine, USA, Congo and Rwanda. Next up is Angola where we plan to go by the end of the year.

Time to break out?

About Otto von Münchow

Photographer based in Norway
This entry was posted in Challenging Yourself, Creativity, Photographic Reflections, Photography, Travel Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Breaking Out

  1. frizztext says:

    you’ve caught so much happiness! thanks for sharing!

  2. I did not know David duChemin , thanks for the link to his work and his blog. I think each one has his way to go over these creativity blocks which sometimes arrive. Not sure which is my recipe, I’ll think about.
    robert

  3. munchow says:

    I agree with ,Robert. There are numerous ways to get over creative blocks. But I also think it’s always inspiring to listen to what other people do.

  4. lindajeffers says:

    I read everything David duChemin writes. I have all his hardbound books. I wish I could take off for a year with my camera and gear.
    I found your blog after you commented on my blog. I’m so glad to have found you and your site.
    Linda

  5. niasunset says:

    Wonderful photograph! And nicely written too. Thank you, and also thanks for introducing David duChemin too, I haven’t known him before. How exciting photography! With my love, nia

  6. answerseeker says:

    Loved reading your post! It sums up the feeling I have been trying to explain for years, that I must keep moving. Often from project to project, which is a bit of a standing joke in my circle, trying to satisfy my yearning. I believe you understand this feeling which brings me comfort. I will be looking into your photographer David duChemin and will surely be back to read you again.

  7. lindajeffers says:

    Come with your partner to California, stay with my husband and me. Explore Joshua Tree National Park!!!

  8. There is lots of joy in this photo.
    Very nice,
    Isadora

  9. Maggie L R says:

    This is so relavent for me now, I am at a point where I have time to take up something new, something challenging. I am in the middle of working through the reasons for my procrastination. It is good to see others working through the same struggles, thanks for the link. I am glad I found your blog (through your visit to mine) You have wise words and great photos.

    • munchow says:

      Good luck with challenging yourself. Procrastination is often the flip side of creativity. We find so many reasons for not pursuing or executing our initial ideas, often because we don’t trust ourselves. Creating means work, and there is always somewhere in us something that doesn’t want to do the work because it means stepping into the unknown.

  10. MOL says:

    Great photos! inspiritn!

  11. Breaking out, getting out there, breathing and living creativity is the secret to keep that inspiration and passion burning. It doesn’t land on our feet. We search for it, conquer odds and challenges to reach it. Its a constant expression of what we feel, think and hope for. An amazing post full of wisdom that we can all reflect upon. Have a great weekend.

  12. The Hook says:

    Better to break out and risk failure than languish in obscurity, right?

  13. “There is no one answer to breaking out of the standstill. But the only place to find the answer is in your own heart. And then you need to start challenging yourself.” – This is very wise. Standstill is a place as much as it a condition. And there are ways of getting out… Cheers to the one who has broken out! 😉

  14. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Well said, Otto. I felt like that earlier this year – remember Daniel and me went to Thailand? I had a bank loan, and had it increased just for us to break out. Don’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

